We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous for breakfast, lunch and dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Socialist Pig

The Socialist Pig
21 King Street East, Gananoque, Ontario K7G1E8, Canada
6134638800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous for breakfast, lunch and dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We loved our breakfast so much we went back for dinner. Both meals were excellent and the staff very attentive and nice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    34
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best coffee and Chai Tea in Ontario”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The drink selection outdoes Starbucks by a mile; the quirky room is colourful and fun. The staff are very friendly and the homemade baked goodies from local bakers are extremely yummy. And now, they have a great lunch and dinner menu too! Hurrah!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Place to Eat in Gan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Last weekend we were in Gananoque, Ontario finishing up a week in the Thousand Islands. It was Sunday night and we needed to get our boat ready to leave Monday morning but wanted to eat! It was nearly 8:00 pm when we walked in the door of the cafe next door to the coffee house. Really closing time...but the owner said.. No problem, happy to serve you! That was the first of many excellent experiences we had that evening. We ordered four different entrees and each one was delicious. The mushroom ravioli, the warm vegetable salad, the Old Pig (a yummy pot pie with of all things Mac and cheese!) and the Lake perch. Oh yes, and I almost forgot the Rosemary bread with honey butter. Each dish was unique, the perch and the Pig served on wooded planks, and so good we wanted more! They have a smoker in premise and smoke their own meats. Check out the lunch menu which includes many of the standard smoked "pig" foods many are fond of. Wish we lived closer so that we could visit more often.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best in town?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Went on a morning wake up latte search. Probably the best in town... No real competition it send. Decoration is very nice; main bar is cutely made out of books (or appears to be). "Relaxed pace" would be a good description; not a "charge in and then out with the morning jolt" Place, but on vacation that is fine!
Quality to price ratio OK.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Hipster Café”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great coffee and a definite Hipster decor. The person behind the counter took the order on an ipad and rang it up for cash in an old antique cash register. The counter was the highlight for me, built out of books, should've gotten a picture... too cool.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Socialist Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Socialist Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Socialist Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.