We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Resort

Save Saved
You added Colonial Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   780 King Street West, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2H5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 hotels in Gananoque
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“warm and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently returned from our 10 or 11 trip to the resort. The staff was and always is fantastic. The recent menu change was very well received by the entire group and the entertainment was first class. Over the 20 years we have been visiting the resort the owners have always gone the extra mile for my group. We look forward to a return trip in the future

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    21
    19
    11
See reviews for
18
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walkerton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our Seniors group just returned from our third get-away @ the Colonial Resort & plan to go next year again because of the satisfaction with our stay. The resort is calming as we walk to our rooms amid gently falling leaves, no traffic noise, quiet & private. The rooms are always clean & comfortable, equipped with the essential necessities & featuring two beds. The staff have always been the best anywhere, serving nutritious meals, quickly to our large group. Day plans are fun, sightseeing by bus to the highlights of the area. There are activities to be had for any age group & occasionally have a chance to interact with another visiting group such as in the evening entertainment. We always have a relaxing, interesting & worthwhile few days & would recommend this lovely spot as we always fill the bus with eager folks. It's relaxation @ it's best!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover,ON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A friend and I went on a trip to the Colonial Resort with 50 seniors 3 times in the last 4 years to everyones liking and "get away" from home for 5 days.Most poeple leave our area as strangers and come back as friends,the friendly atmosphere at the resort sure helps to achieve this.A quiet place with clean well equipped rooms,very good meals in a nice diningroom,good entertainment every evening and so many more things to do :pool-whirlpool-sauna-outdoor and indoor games-cardplaying area-internet-the beautiful serenity room and so much more-never a dull moment.The daily outings are very enjoyable-always to a different place with a friendly tourguide.The staff at the resort are the most helpful in any situation and very well organized,there is even a store with rare items not to be had every where else-just amazing.
Among 50 seniors not one single complaint speaks for itself,everyone liked it and many are planning to come along again next year,it's an "excellent"place for seniors to be.
Thank you -Jean and Michelle and all your staff for a good time had by all-a big "Thank you"also to our bus driver Peter for the excellent driving to the resort and home.
see you next year !!!
Irmgard K.,Hanover.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our seniors group have been taking an annual trip to the resort for the past five years. We always have a terrific time every year as we go someplace a little different each year for our short day trips.. The price is right.. All the staff are wonderful, always helpfull. The resort is kept clean and tidy. The food is home cooked and good. The entertainment is top notch. There is something for everybody. The ones that go like the idea that there is more than one thing to do, and you do not have to go on the day trips if you prefer to go elsewhere, or just enjoy the inside and outdoor pools, hot tub or sauna, and well as massages and the walking trails at the resort itself..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our seniors group travel to Colonial Resort every year in June for 5 days. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is an outdoor pool and indoor pool, hot tub, sauna . You can book massages or book to get your hair done at the front desk. The rooms are comfortable and clean and include a small fridge, a coffee machine and a hair dryer. There is nightly entertainment. When you come on a group trip there is also an excursion every day, or a trip to the casino. The food is good and the dining rooms are kept in great shape. There is a dart board, computer, shuffleboard , checkers and other games available for the guests. It is an easy walk into Gananoque. I love going there, I find it a really relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

While on a bus trip to Ottowa we stayed at Colonial Resort for 3 nights. The facility was lovely for the price. It was exceptionally clean and cared for. The entertainment the first night was informative and the second night was really good. The third night was really disappointing. Had the entertainer stuck to the music and not tried to be funny, it might have been better. Our only complaint was the food. It was never hot. That includes both breakfast and dinner. We had three breakfasts and two dinners so it's not that we just had one bad day. The breakfast meats were cold and undercooked. The French Toast and pancakes were tough. All the food comes out at once so I'm sure it's kept warm in a microwave which toughens any bread. The wait staff and office staff and housekeeping were outstanding in friendliness and willingness to please. With a major revamp in the kitchen it could become a five star resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Ok, For the money we all know that this is not the Ritz. We stopped on the way back from Kingston bacause it had a pool and the weather wwas hot. To our surpise it had a spa and an opening for my wife to get a massage.

The rooms were average. The hot water was a bit of an issue for showers. However, for the price it is wahat you would expect.

The pool was clean and enjoyable, the breakfast was a buffet and included with the room. They had a cute tranquility room and an indoor pool as well. My wife's massage was great!

Over all, it is to be recommended for the cost. We had just spent a fortune at the Waring House and this was the perfect last day of our trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar. We took the king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Resort

Address: 780 King Street West, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Colonial Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Gananoque
Colonial Resort Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.