We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful get away for seniors groups” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial Resort to your Saves list
Colonial Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   780 King Street West, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2H5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Beeton, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful get away for seniors groups”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our seniors group have been taking an annual trip to the resort for the past five years. We always have a terrific time every year as we go someplace a little different each year for our short day trips.. The price is right.. All the staff are wonderful, always helpfull. The resort is kept clean and tidy. The food is home cooked and good. The entertainment is top notch. There is something for everybody. The ones that go like the idea that there is more than one thing to do, and you do not have to go on the day trips if you prefer to go elsewhere, or just enjoy the inside and outdoor pools, hot tub or sauna, and well as massages and the walking trails at the resort itself..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    23
    22
    12
See reviews for
21
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our seniors group travel to Colonial Resort every year in June for 5 days. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is an outdoor pool and indoor pool, hot tub, sauna . You can book massages or book to get your hair done at the front desk. The rooms are comfortable and clean and include a small fridge, a coffee machine and a hair dryer. There is nightly entertainment. When you come on a group trip there is also an excursion every day, or a trip to the casino. The food is good and the dining rooms are kept in great shape. There is a dart board, computer, shuffleboard , checkers and other games available for the guests. It is an easy walk into Gananoque. I love going there, I find it a really relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

While on a bus trip to Ottowa we stayed at Colonial Resort for 3 nights. The facility was lovely for the price. It was exceptionally clean and cared for. The entertainment the first night was informative and the second night was really good. The third night was really disappointing. Had the entertainer stuck to the music and not tried to be funny, it might have been better. Our only complaint was the food. It was never hot. That includes both breakfast and dinner. We had three breakfasts and two dinners so it's not that we just had one bad day. The breakfast meats were cold and undercooked. The French Toast and pancakes were tough. All the food comes out at once so I'm sure it's kept warm in a microwave which toughens any bread. The wait staff and office staff and housekeeping were outstanding in friendliness and willingness to please. With a major revamp in the kitchen it could become a five star resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Ok, For the money we all know that this is not the Ritz. We stopped on the way back from Kingston bacause it had a pool and the weather wwas hot. To our surpise it had a spa and an opening for my wife to get a massage.

The rooms were average. The hot water was a bit of an issue for showers. However, for the price it is wahat you would expect.

The pool was clean and enjoyable, the breakfast was a buffet and included with the room. They had a cute tranquility room and an indoor pool as well. My wife's massage was great!

Over all, it is to be recommended for the cost. We had just spent a fortune at the Waring House and this was the perfect last day of our trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar. We took the king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Very old rooms. Bed is so hard, you cant sleep whole night on it, you need to stretch half way the night. Realy need to change the matrasses.
Friendly staff.
The mentioned WiFi in every room, its NOT true. No connection in your room, and poor WiFi quality in the main building.
Breakfast is fine.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came here to go on the 1000 Island Bost cruise and ended up at this old motel because all other Corporate Chain hotels here and in Kingston had been fully booked as a result of it being a long- weekend. I am sitting in the room as we write this and we do agree with all the others on the negativity of this place. It is very old, moldy, and sketcy. Cant believe we r in Canada with places like this that they call "resorts" which is by all means no where near near that. The thing that got us through the night was the fact that we r only here for the night. We payed 130.00 for this grungy motel. This place is ok for a quick sleep but we too contmplated on sleeping in the suv instrad. I hope we didnt catch any bed bugs. This place is not for people under the age of 50 or kids. Spend ur $$$ elsewhere. This is a 2.5 star in Toronto.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Hotel is just out Gananoque, on an highway. It's like a motel and the position is not very good.
Outside pool is little and very near the street, not very clean. The indoor pool... terrible.
Staff is kindly and available.
Rooms are not very clean, but big, and furnishing is old or not nice.
Breakfast is really poor and not very good.
Expensive for what they offer, very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Colonial Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Resort

Address: 780 King Street West, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Colonial Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Gananoque
Colonial Resort Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.