We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Squire Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Squire Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Country Squire Resort & Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   715 King Street East, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Rome, NY
1 review
“Decent place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Best Western (at least this one) has found the sweet spot for a good balance between quality and price. Basically, if you wanna save money staying in Gananoque, but get a decent room, then stay here tonight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Desk at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments regards your stay at the Best Western Country Squire Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    114
    98
    44
    29
See reviews for
144
147
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean and not far from 401. The walls were quite thin and could hear the conversations of everyone passing by the room. Not to mention the two dozen kids who decided to party in the hallway the night we were there.
Not sure if the heat system was broken but we froze all night and at 9am the room was a sauna - not very comfortable temperature wise either way!
Needless to say I didn't get the most restful nights sleep.
The restaurant "Cousins " had good food and lots of options but service was incredibly slow our server was very pleasant though .
The free hot breakfast wasn't great but at least it was free . . Not very many options .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Office Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a reasonably priced motel within driving distance of Kingston. The room was dated and needed some minor repairs but was very clean. We didn't realize that the motel is pet friendly when we made our reservation, which was the cause of our discomfort with the room. The carpet had a wet dog odor, which is probably not unusual in a pet friendly property. We should have asked to be released from our reservation upon arrival, but we decided to tough it out. On the positive side, the breakfast food, help, and the facility was exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was a great experience to stay overthere. Kids enjoyed alot in swimming pool and spa service was awesome. All staff is very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed breakfast buffet. Rooms were soo clean. Allover it was a great journey overthere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The room we stayed in was a standard motel room but it was very clean, modernized, and within walking distance to restaurants, Tim's, grocery stores, and casino. (you will receive a ten dollar voucher for the casino when you register). This will be a great weekend getaway in the warmer seasons when the outdoor pool, the patios, and waterfront can be enjoyed. Beautiful indoor pool and hot tub. Their complimentary breakfast was outstanding, homemade waffles, eggs, sausages, fruit, yogurt, many different types of breads and muffins. I am looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We traveled on a Dealfind coupon for two nights with breakfast for $99.00 Sounds like a great deal. However this is for the "outside" rooms that are substandard for the Best Western brand name. The inner courtyard facing outside pool rooms are OK and can pass as Best Western, but these require upgrade charge of $20.00, so in reality there is no deal with "dealfind" offer.
The staff is courteous , but the facility overall looks tired in the rainy fall weekend. If Manager reads this review - please ask your staff to mop the floors in the eating area properly. Sticky floor, paper plates, plastic cups ... all this indicate struggle to keep up sinking ship afloat.
Gateway resort is meant to offer comfort and escape from everyday route, this one unfortunately reminds guest of economic crises that wipes out independent operators in the hospitality industry from the face of the earth. This one looked as a good candidate for such a disaster.

Room Tip: Forget about "outside" rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at best western gananoque mon to friday in september. The reservation process was easy and hotel was very nice. We enjoy our stay staff was nice and very help full. In morning we had hot breakfast. I like the indoor pool and bed and pillow are very comfortable and you can get a realy good sleep here. You grt exceptional treatment by the professionl management and staff here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Squire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Address: 715 King Street East, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Country Squire Resort & Spa Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Squire Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.