We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gananoque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
415 Stone Street South, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Montreal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place for a weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for a night earlier this year. We had the place to ourselves since it was a thursday night. We were welcomed by Ted. He made sure that I was able to use the wifi. We had a bedroom with the attached bathroom. There is no TV or phone in the room but there is a big TV in the living room downstairs. On the top floor there are 3 bedrooms and a cozy living room with an aquarium, tons of books and a large balcony off that room where you can sit out if the weather is good. There is a large dining room and living room on the ground floor. The dining room has a small fridge that is stocked with juice and water. The breakfast in the morning was made by Ted. We had a nice yogurt with fruit and granola and eggs of our choice with bacon, toast, coffee, juice, etc. Very well done. We shall be back.

Room Tip: There are 3 bedrooms, 2 have an attached bathroom and the middle bedroom does not have the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Ted and Chris were as hospitable and helpful as the day is long. Our room was fine, and the location is outstanding--close to the boat tour departure area and not far from King Street. (Direct access to the tour boat area was temporarily impeded by construction on the Water Street bridge while we were there.) Breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed here for a few days with my family (husband, 2 children, and the in-laws). All happy campers in my party. The property was beautiful and really clean. The rooms were gorgeously decorated and very spacious. Perfect location and easy to find, just a short walk to the center of town and to the water with is stunning. The breakfast was absolutely spectacular and made to order, everything was so fresh! Above and beyond what you typically get at an bed and breakfast. I am kicking myself for not asking for the recipes! Chris and Ted were very friendly, made us feel right at home and were very helpful with suggestions of ideas for things to do, see, and near-by events that are going on. I would definitely stay hear again and would definitely recommend this place for your next vacation! Very relaxing! Great for families! Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I and my two grade school friends and their husbands, occupied all 3 bedrooms in this B&B. It was perfect for relaxing and re-connecting. We knew Ted was available if we needed anything but he was never intrusive.

The whole house was comfortable. The artworks was stunning and the bedrooms were great. Two of them had en-suites and one had a bathroom off the hallway. Since it was just our group, I didn't mind using that bathroom.

Breakfast was good and we never left the table feeling hungry.

i would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: the bedroom without en-suite has to go down a couple of steps and then up a few steps. if you are c...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this B & B. Ted was very hospitable, friendly and professional. I loved the artwork throughout the house. Breakfast was delicious! It included a yogurt parfait with fresh fruit and buttermilk pancakes with bananas, strawberries, blueberries and a tasty butter-maple syrup sauce. Yum! Great stopover location. Within walking distance of waterfront and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed at. The decor was simple and elegant with wonderful artwork but not so personal that you felt you were staying in someones house. The rooms were nice with en-suite bathrooms in most. The breakfast was cooked to order and absolutely outstanding and beautifully presented. The location is perfect-right near the waterfront. The owner was totally hospitable and very professional. And a great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara on the Lake
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Lovely B&B in great location. Walking distance to restaurants and the waterfront. The room was comfortable and the breakfast the next morning was outstanding with fruit, muffins and a hot main dish. Great stopping off place on a trip to Ottawa or Montreal. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast

Address: 415 Stone Street South, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Year Round. Charming 1884 red brick Victorian home ideally located near the waterfront, playhouse and local attractions. The Bed and Breakfast is cozy, intimate and relaxing with only 3 guest rooms. The guest rooms and living room/dining room are separate from the owner's living quarters to allow for guest privacy. Delicious hot breakfast made from locally-sourced ingredients. Air conditioned rooms. Parking included (on site). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turtle Island Bed And Breakfast Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.