We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast
415 Stone Street South, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Gananoque B&B and Inns
rehovot
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

we have stayed 3 nights ( four adults and two children) during early August. Ted and Chris were excellent hosts (Ted has gone out of his way to obtain a fishing rod for my grean son) their breakfast main course has varied every morning ( excellent pancakes)

The location of the Inn was close to all the amenities in the town. If we ever come to this part of Canada we will certainly stay at the Turtle Island Inn

Room Tip: try to gett a room with a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in mid August 2012. The hosts were very nice and provided good info of the Gananoque area, where to eat and what to do. The breakfasts were delicious and made to order. We had a room with a separate bathroom down the hall. While this was not ideal, it worked just fine. The other two available rooms do have contained bathrooms. Room/B&B were very clean. The price was certainly right and we would return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We has the nicest stay on our way to Montreal. The B & B is tasteful, clean and quiet because it is a smaller inn. Breakfast both days of our stay was made to order, fresh and healthy. We asked about area attractions and received some good suggestions. The playhouse was a nice treat, we had two enjoyable dinners within walking distance. We highly recommend Turtle Island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Never really relishing spontaneous holidays, we embarked on one this year. We brought our bikes in tow with the intention of cycling in the area and seeing a show at the Playhouse.

We were welcomed by Chris into his lovely B&B. Our room was comfortable, however the bathroom needs some upgrading. The breakfast was out of this world! Freshly brewed coffee, fruit and yogurt parfait, fruit infused puff pancakes with bacon. Really very yummy.

Managed to get a 60k bike ride in, have lunch at a great spot along the Waterfront Trail AND return (after checkout time) to a much appreciated shower. Thank so much to both Ted and Chris for accommodating us and being such wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted a romantic weekend getaway. We stayed 2 nights at Turtle Island - it was just what we hoped for. The whole house was tastefully decorated. Our room was clean, private, and comfortable. We had booked a kayak trip for the Saturday. Ted and Chris were very accomodating, serving breakfast in perfect time for us to get to the waterfront (which was an easy walk away). Breakfast was made to order and out of this world (from omelets to fresh fruit stuffed french toast - yummy and beautifully presented!) Turtle Island is conveniently located just off the main drag and close to the water. Check out the quaint, second level porch with a glass of wine in the evening before you go to bed. Debbie, Ottawa

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I loved staying at the Turtle Island B&B. I have never felt so WELCOMED before .. the room was lovely, nicely decorated and very comfortable. You can't beat the location for staying in Gananoque. It was a wonderful stay. Ted and Chris win for their hospitality and killer breakfast. Wow. I was touched, surprised and delighted to have gluten free out of this world raspberry pancake souffle ... little did I know that as soon as they learned that I was trying to go gluten free and had a love of pancakes, they totally made it happen. Traveling can be hard to stay on the "diet" and regime ... and I have to say I felt both Ted and Chris honored that part for me and treated me to some very nice breakfasts. They were also very helpful in pointing out things to do and getting around. I wished I lived closer, I would make it my "get away weekend" spot for sure. I do hope I come back to the 1000 island soon. This is a very special place, it has a lot of heart, creativity, community support and beauty.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed 2 nights at this B&B. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Ted had lots of ideas of what to see and do in the area. The breakfasts were awesome, we wanted to stay another day just to taste their next creation!

Thanks Ted and Chris!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast

Address: 415 Stone Street South, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Year Round. Charming 1884 red brick Victorian home ideally located near the waterfront, playhouse and local attractions. The Bed and Breakfast is cozy, intimate and relaxing with only 3 guest rooms. The guest rooms and living room/dining room are separate from the owner's living quarters to allow for guest privacy. Delicious hot breakfast made from locally-sourced ingredients. Air conditioned rooms. Parking included (on site). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Island Bed And Breakfast Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.