We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful atmosphere and amazing, gourmet breakfasts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast
415 Stone Street South, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful atmosphere and amazing, gourmet breakfasts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted a romantic weekend getaway. We stayed 2 nights at Turtle Island - it was just what we hoped for. The whole house was tastefully decorated. Our room was clean, private, and comfortable. We had booked a kayak trip for the Saturday. Ted and Chris were very accomodating, serving breakfast in perfect time for us to get to the waterfront (which was an easy walk away). Breakfast was made to order and out of this world (from omelets to fresh fruit stuffed french toast - yummy and beautifully presented!) Turtle Island is conveniently located just off the main drag and close to the water. Check out the quaint, second level porch with a glass of wine in the evening before you go to bed. Debbie, Ottawa

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I loved staying at the Turtle Island B&B. I have never felt so WELCOMED before .. the room was lovely, nicely decorated and very comfortable. You can't beat the location for staying in Gananoque. It was a wonderful stay. Ted and Chris win for their hospitality and killer breakfast. Wow. I was touched, surprised and delighted to have gluten free out of this world raspberry pancake souffle ... little did I know that as soon as they learned that I was trying to go gluten free and had a love of pancakes, they totally made it happen. Traveling can be hard to stay on the "diet" and regime ... and I have to say I felt both Ted and Chris honored that part for me and treated me to some very nice breakfasts. They were also very helpful in pointing out things to do and getting around. I wished I lived closer, I would make it my "get away weekend" spot for sure. I do hope I come back to the 1000 island soon. This is a very special place, it has a lot of heart, creativity, community support and beauty.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed 2 nights at this B&B. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Ted had lots of ideas of what to see and do in the area. The breakfasts were awesome, we wanted to stay another day just to taste their next creation!

Thanks Ted and Chris!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

A lovely, well-located B&B with very hospitable and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed one night at Turtle Island. Extremely gracious hosts, excellent (made to order) breakfast, quiet comfortable rooms, great location, access to the internet. We took the one hour boat tour of the Islands. Wish we had allowed for enough time for the 2.5 hour tour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed two nights at Turtle Island. Ted and Chris were great hosts. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Probably the best stay of our entire trip. Be sure to try the Naughty Otter Lager!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed for one night and would definitely go back. The room was tastefully decorated and the bed very comfortable. Ted and Chris were extremely welcoming and it certainly felt like a home away from home. Breakfast was also great. I had the raspberry pancakes baked in the oven with a side of bacon.This was preceded by a parfait glass filled with yogurt and fruit. Good coffee and choice of juices as well. Landscaping is being completed with an addition of a turtle pond in the front garden.

Room Tip: Two rooms have an ensuite bathroom and one doesn't (a few short steps down the hall-at a reduced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast

Address: 415 Stone Street South, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Year Round. Charming 1884 red brick Victorian home ideally located near the waterfront, playhouse and local attractions. The Bed and Breakfast is cozy, intimate and relaxing with only 3 guest rooms. The guest rooms and living room/dining room are separate from the owner's living quarters to allow for guest privacy. Delicious hot breakfast made from locally-sourced ingredients. Air conditioned rooms. Parking included (on site). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Island Bed And Breakfast Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.