We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howe Island B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gananoque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howe Island B&B
Save
You added Howe Island B&B to your Saves list
1976B Howe Island Drive, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2V6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Deal
Ranked #2 of 14 Gananoque B&B and Inns
bordeaux
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wish we had stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the Winery, and I only wish we could have stayed longer. A look at the photos posted by other commentators say all there is to say about the location. Wonderful views in a super quiet, soothing environment.
Our hosts Wendy & Dave were extremely kind and genuine with us, welcoming us like members of the family. Although we had already returned to France, they took the time to send a missing SD card from a Nintendo DS that my daughter had left behind. Nice and considerate.
Wendy and Dave also made no issue of our late arrival, at around 10:00pm. A nice gesture, not so common with B&B owners.
However I would advise arriving before dusk, even if we experienced no problem finding the B&B since we had the exact address. Then you can always leave the island later to have dinner on the continent. Rooms were very comfortable and quite, although a glass door in one of our rooms let too much light in in the morning.
Breakfast was abundant, refined, healthy and ultra tasty ( blueberry filled muffins were sooo good!)
Also , there is a very nice beach on the Saint Lawrence river just a few minutes drive from the Island off the main ferry. Speaking of ferries, we found operators on both of them a bit rude.
All told, Howe island winery is a great place, run by great people; and I can only recommend for at least two or three nights there to really make the most of the place and its surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
We wish you'd been able to stay longer as well, enjoyed your family and company very much! Thanx for your kind review, I may have a little chat with the ferry operators. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I unfortunally didn't get to go, I had the room booked to go for the weekend. And I had an emergency overtime shift at work. So I canceled my booking and without a question said no problem. I offered to pay for the weekend because of how short notice my cancellation was and they wouldn't let me!

I am 100% going to make a point if going to their b&b best customer service I have ever had!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It is not our practice to profit from others' misfortunes. Your cancellation was genuine ... life goes on regardless! Looking foreward to meeting in the Summer! cHOWE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We found this B&B on trip advisor and thought it looked interesting. We were traveling from Toronto back to Boston and wanted a unique B&B in the Kingston area. While it's not exactly easy to get to Howe Island (you have to take a small ferry from the mainland), it's a pretty little island. We'd recommend trying to arrive during daylight hours (which we didn't) since it's not easy to find the place at night. However, once you're there, the house is comfortable and clean and the owners - David and Wendy - are very friendly. We stayed in the main house and spent an enjoyable evening chatting with Wendy. Breakfast was very good and the scenery was quite lovely.

Room Tip: The separate lodge is probably more private than the gardenview and vineyardview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. cHOWE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I came for a two night getaway last summer (yes, I'm a little slow to write this) along with our friend and were very comfortably ensconced in the two bedroom "Lawton Lodge". The weather over the weekend was overcast, and perfect for just lazing around the property. We found ourselves spending relaxing hours swinging in the hammock, reading, chatting and unwinding as only can be done in the perfect place in good company with each other and our funny and interesting host.

The location, while a little off the beaten track, is beautiful. A great location right on the river, with an expansive lawn and lovely gardens with many little spots to sit and enjoy the view.

Of course, the breakfast was outstanding and as vegetarians, we were well accommodated. Perfect fluffy omelette. The BEST blueberry pancakes we've ever had. Beautiful, fresh fruits. Wow. Really, really good. Really.

Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We believe it's the "off the beaten track" and our famous "perfect hammock" which helps our guests to "Discover Howe to relax!" cHOWE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Howe Island WInery and B & B in October 2012. Our hosts, Wendy and David Jones were warm, engaging, friendly, helpful and patient. They gave us information on local attractions, discount coupons, directions and fed us magnificent breakfasts, including freshly ground coffee. Being an expat Aussie, my husband felt an immediate camraderie with our hosts (who spent 32 years living in Australia). How many places can you actually get vegemite!
We have no hesitation to recommend unconditionally this B & B and its' great hosts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thanks for your kind review. We know howe precious those Aussies are about their VEGEMITE! Hope to see you again soon! cHOWE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a great time at Howe Island in early September! We found Howe Island on Trip Advisor after trying to book a hotel in Kingston and everything in the city was booked. It ended up being a good thing, as Howe Island Winery B&B was very welcoming and relaxing. It's a lovely drive (take the scenic route along the 1000 Island Parkway) and close to Gananoque where we went for dinner. In the morning, Wendy and David served us breakfast, which was delicious! They are interesting, friendly people. The property is also very beautiful - right on the river (we ate breakfast looking out on it). The only downside? We were there about 12 hours. Wish we had had more time to spend at this place! Thanks again Wendy and David :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
We appreciate your kind review! cHOWE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My fiance and I only stayed overnight, but we wish we'd stayed longer! David and Wendy were wonderful hosts, with an awesome breakfast as fare. It was like you were talking with family. The room we stayed in was Leyton's Lodge (with the ingenious toilet). Very comfortable and airey.

Anyone looking for a quiet place with a magnificent view in the summer or even for a wedding, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Howe Island Resort

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoweIslandWinery, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thanks for your kind review and good luck for your return DownUnder! cHOWE! ( go The Blues! )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howe Island B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Island B&B

Address: 1976B Howe Island Drive, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 1000 Islands B&B on 250ft of absolute St Lawrence River shoreline, our Howe Island home has origins dating back to the early 1800's. We're located conveniently between Kingston & Gananoque. Come and relax on our deck or riverside hammock and watch the bird life and the river slip past. You'll love our enclosed sunroom overlooking the river and gardens and the cosy lounge. Howe Island Winery and B&B is very much 'an escape'! Gardenview and Vineyardview rooms are Air Conditioned, totally private and accommodate two couples or mature family. Lawton Lodge is a self contained cabin with screened porch and can accommodate two couples or a small family. Experience our unique river cinema ' HOWELYWOOD ' on the deck (weather permitting). And yes, you can even cruise up to our private boat dock! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howe Island B&B Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howe Island B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.