We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn to your Saves list
Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   846 King Street, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The fact that this was labeled as a Ramada surprised us. It is more of a 50' s style motel, but it was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the grounds and the retro atmosphere. We were fortunate to get a room because inadvertently we had chosen the weekend they did the reenactment of the war of 1812 to visit Ganaoque. It was an exceptionally hot weekend, so the pool was a real plus. I would stay there again, but not during tourist events when the prices are inflated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, Manager at Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will stay with us again when you visit Gananoque.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    41
    5
    12
See reviews for
47
58
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

An older motel but clean with larger rooms, bar refrigerator, good parking and has room if you are trailering a boat. The restaurant is in need of an update. However, a full breakfast is included in your room price- very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, Manager at Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Ramada Provincial Inn.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A quiet relief after spending hectic time in Niagra Falls and Toronto. Reasonably priced. I would call the (no choice) breakfast adequate, considering it was free. $3.75 for a "large glass of OJ (about 10 ounces). The room was clean but the sink stopper didn't work. The staff was excellent. I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, Manager at Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again when visiting Gananoque and the 1000 Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I booked the motel from Expedia by phone. The agent told me clearly the motel offered free breakfast for ALL guests in the same room. When we got there, we were told the bf only for 2 guests and no substitute for the scramble egg, or $1 will be added!? My guess was the cook was too lazy to work.
So I had to pay for my two children's bf and the motel blamed Expedia for the mistake. Isn't that a scam of what?
And the room smelled like somebody's old dusty basement. Absolutely disgusting. Old TV, noisy ac, uncomfortable bed, old bathroom, etc. If you forget your shampoo and want to wash your hair everyday, you are out of luck. They only supply the shampoo ONCE! And I found blood on the inroom tissue box,euh!
Warning: DO NOT BOOK THIS MOTEL. EVEN FOR FREE.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, Manager at Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
I'm sorry that your stay with us was not to your liking.

Regarding what Expedia told you, we have no control over what third party booking agencies tell customers over the phone. We have always given 2 free hot breakfasts per room and we offer a discounted breakfast coupons for additional room guests, who are staying in the same room. Our customers have commented on how nice it is to have a freshly cooked breakfast included in the room price, instead of a prepacked muffin and a cup of juice offered at other properties( or no breakfast at all). Also our cook is not lazy, we have 77 rooms on the property and many group functions which food is prepared for.

Regarding the guest room: all of our rooms have cedar wood ceilings, which some guests confuse as a "musty smell" when in fact it is the cedar that they smell.

Every bed on the property was replaced recently with Serta top brand mattresses and being a seasonal property ( we close the end of October and reopen mid April). The mattresses are in top shape.

I would also like to mention that we provide more than adequate amenities in our rooms and if there were not enough in your room our front desk staff would have been more than happy to provide you with what you needed.

We have recently placed an order for 32" flat screen televisions.

Ramada properties are all independently owned and operated.

This is a family run business with a personal local flavor. Our main building is decorated with antiques and memorabilia from the 1000 islands area. Many of our customers love our unique property, and our huge 85' heated outdoor pool.

It's unfortunate that this type of lodging is not to your liking and you were unhappy with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My two-year-old daughter nearly swallowed a blue amphetamine capsule and an unlabelled white pill that were on the floor by the night stand and one of the beds. Luckily, she showed it to my husband and said "I eat that ?" before swallowing it.

They obviously didn't vacuum the room properly and the pills were pretty visible - my daughter (who of course notices everything on the floor) found those tablets as soon as we arrived in the room while we were bringing the luggage in from the car into the room.

It's too bad because although the bathroom was very dated, the room was otherwise reasonable and the breakfast was fine and being able to drive up to the room was convenient: we were driving through on our way to Lake Placid and were planning on stopping on the way back but I wouldn't ever stay here again and could not recommend it. The room was not properly cleaned or else someone used the room to get high in between customers (we stayed in room 514 on August 10th).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, Manager at Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
As management we were upset that we were not notified of this situation.
We would have liked the opportunity to correct the situation while the guest was on the property.
For all we know it could have been a candy such as a tic- tac.
We have reviewed our vacuum procedures with all housekeeping staff and we can assure you that we adhere to strict key control and no one has access to any room other than housekeeping and management.
If we had been made aware of the situation at the time we certainly would have been attentive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We booked the hotel on the road from Toronto to Montreal based on Tripadvisor reviews. I have to admit that at first i was disappointed that the room seemed outdated. But as soon as we closed the door and looked around we realized that the room was cozy and spotless with a kind of cottage charm with the wood ceiling and well maintained (if outdated) furniture. The set up with one level and parking right outside the door was so convenient. The bed (king sized) was very comfy and the room super quiet. We got breakfast coupons for a hot sit-down breakfast in the throw-back restaurant. The whole place is dated but it's not shabby, just takes you back to another era. The staff were laid back and friendly. It was a delightful, comfortable experience and we will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Motel was good and clean, llovely big rooms, and had lots of parking. Reception staff were nice. Great price which included breakfast. The only down side of this was wifi was very, very slow. Also lst Internet connection a few times.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank You very much for your positive comment !
We are working to ensure that our WIFI performance will be better. We have recently deployed a 50MB connection for the guests to share.

If you return to the 1000 Islands, come and stay with us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn

Address: 846 King Street, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Provincial Hotel Gananoque
Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn Ontario, Canada
Gananoque Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.