We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place to stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Gananoque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Gananoque to your Saves list
Travelodge Gananoque
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   785 King St. E., Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn 1000 Islands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a good place to stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The room was in bad need of an upgrade. There was mold around the rear patio door. The continental breakfast was a trip to the small office to pick up a coffee & muffin or toast on a tray & carry it back to the room. I don't usually comment on negative stays, but feel that the travelling public should be aware so they can go elseware.

Art & Dorothy J

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    20
    13
    10
See reviews for
26
32
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was a 'drop in' at the Comfort Inn in Gananoque. I asked when I checked in if there was Wifi access I was told yes. But the person seemed unsure. I had problems getting into the internet-so I went back to the office several times . Eventually I was told that I could use Holiday Inn's info and access thru that. That seemed to work for awhile. But before I had time to do what i had to do/wanted to do- i could not access the system yet again. Another trip to the office and was told that I could go to the Holiday Inn which was directly in front of my room. The front desk person said that the Holiday Inn had a nice seating area and so on and so forth. I told her that I was not interested in going to the Holiday Inn. I just wish that she had been honest when I first arrived and asked about Wifi. That would have been preferable to what happened. I had said initially that I needed Wifi in order to book my trip which was unbooked and that I was going to be in two locations after Gananoque.
Also, the toilet ran constantly and I had to jiggle the handle. Finally, the jiggling did not work and I had to take the back off. THe 'whatever' had become disconnected.
When I checked out today-I complained about the internet situation and the person on duty said that their website does not state that they have Wifi. But I said that I was a drop in and didn't know that. I wished that I had been more sceptical of the initial front desk person's story about internet.
I will be contacting Comfort Inn.
p.s. When I first got there -she assigned me to a more isolated room. I thought that there maybe construction workers living in that stretch due to hibachis etc. So I asked for another room. I got a larher room with a bed anf couch! lso, a nice touch was a deck on the back of the rooms-it was one long deck without any breaks-but was a good place to sit and enjoy the sun.

Room Tip: It's right off the 1000 Island parkway-but make sure that this is where you want to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Nc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The room was spacious and clean but it really needs to be updated. Everything is worn out. The bed was comfortable and it would be a beautiful place if updated. There was a very small place for breakfast but we were sent to the Best Western located directly behind the Comfort Inn for breakfast. It was great with a buffet and hot food. I don't know how long they have been doing this but it was great. The air conditioner in our room sounded like a plane taking off. I asked the manager about it and she said they sounded like that in every room, there was nothing wrong with it and the one she had at home sounded the same way. All I can say is that she needs to get it replaced. There was an old car sitting in front of the place that had been there so long there were spider webs around the tires. I asked one of the cleaning ladies how long it had been there and she said for at least 15 yrs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This Comfort Inn does not live up to its standards. The room definitely needs an update, the carpet and bedding are old. Stayed here only for the points. The breakfast area is quite pathetic, no room to sit with a very limited choice. It is a high price for what you get. The only good thing was you get free $ to try their casino which made us go out and try it since we are not casino people. Gananoque is a very picturesque little town but I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We came up from home and stayed a night in Watertown on our way to the Thousand Islands. We wanted to go the casino there. We got a great room with a look out on the pool. We then stayed two extra nights. The pool was so nice and so relaxing. We could not have asked for a better stay. We even won a few bucks at the casino. I will go back to this inn the next time I am back in Canada

Room Tip: Go for the rooms by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Likely a motel converted, some time ago, to a Comfort Inn. Our queen room was not too big, not too small, very clean. Hotel has a wooden deck with chairs along back of all ground floor rooms. Nice pool also with new lounge chairs. Breakfast similar to most other Comfort Inns except there are no waffles. Also, there is no eating area, so you must bring it back to your room. We ate on the deck just outside our room. Management should find another location for staff to smoke as we had to scurry through the short hallway they use between the two buildings a few times during our two-night stay.

Room Tip: Room 115 is the only room in the back and surely most quiet of them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Used choice points for a free room while fishing the 1000 islands by myself. I just wanted a clean place to sleep. The first room I was given had moths fluttering around inside, and reddish ants walking by the window and furniture. The lady at the front desk was very friendly, and probably the reason I am not giving only 1 star. She changed me to an upstairs room. That room was clean. The air conditioning however put out no cold air. I switched it to every possible setting, just blew warm air. It was a very hot summer day, and so it made sleep very unpleasant in a very hot room. In summary, the first room had way too many creatures already in the room, the second room as really hot, the front desk was friendly, and I would have been furious had I paid for a room at that comfort inn. Had I been with my wife nd kids I wouldn't have stayed. I found this to be well below what I expect from comfort inns, which is at least clean safe places to sleep although not fancy. Also, I have stayed at all 3 adjacent hotels...the holiday inn express behind, best western next to, and ramada across the street, and all 3 are clearly nicer. Sorry to write this, it is a rare poor review from me. I hope they do better in the future.

Room Tip: The provincial across the street has a nice restaurant that is like a 1000 islands museum. Great bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gananoque

Address: 785 King St. E., Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn 1000 Islands)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gananoque 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn 1000 Islands Hotel Gananoque
Comfort Inn Gananoque
Gananoque Comfort Inn
Travelodge Gananoque Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Gananoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.