We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Rose Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Rose Inn to your Saves list
Victoria Rose Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   279 King St. West, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2G7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights here very recently and had such a relaxing and wonderful time. The owner and staff were friendly, helpful and very attentive. It is quiet and gorgeous inside and I couldn't have imagined choosing a better place for a getaway. When one local business owner asked where we were staying, she literally gasped with joy when we told her saying 'It really is the best place to stay around here. Everyone loves it" If you are heading to the area, you can't go wrong with the Victoria Rose Inn. We'll be going back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    26
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
80
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at this Inn and had the greatest experience. It is exceptionally clean and everyone is very friendly. Soon as we got there we felt relaxed; it has a very cozy feel from drinking wine in the gazebo to having afternoon tea on the back patio. We have stayed at a lot of Inns and this has been one of our favourites. I also must mention that we had dinner at the Athlone across the street and the food and service was outstanding. In my opinion anyone who has complaints about this Inn is being far to picky and probably wouldn't be happy anywhere. I would highly recommend; it was the perfect weekend get away for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Great facility. Great service. Great location. Triple play!
Breakfast was imaginative. Rooms newly redone and very generous. Fine concierge service booked us dinner, golf and theatre reservations. Most come back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

This is the fourth time we've been back. We come always for two nights so we can spend a full day enjoying Gananoque and nearby Kingston.

The inn is beautiful, pristine, and very well run (they've had the same manager for 23 years), and Gananoque is a hidden gem with a couple of very good restaurants (including the Athlone, across the street from the Victoria Rose), and some wonderful shops of local artists' and artisans' wares.

Rates are comparable to hotels inthe area, but with so much more ambiance and delightful service. We will keep coming back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Lovely plenty of atmosphere in a great location. Many aspects were very well done, but some things were annoying. Travellers are used to paying the same price for accommodation on subsequent nights and not having the linen and towels changed to "conserve water", but it's annoying when you pay top dollar and they don't renew the toiletries for the second night. It means that you can't wash your hair on the second day. They didn't even take the used bottles away. It was annoying to then find an envelope in the room asking for a gratuity. The room was well decorated, but little things were annoying. No bedside lamps, only one bedside table.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our family consists of two adults, two older teenagers, and a twenty year old. We took four bedrooms, one on the first floor, two on second, and one on third. All rooms were beautiful. My wife and I stayed in the room called "Grand" and I highly recommend this.

Breakfasts featured fresh foods from local sources, and the menu cycled over three days (we were there five).

The town offers biking, running/hiking trails, boat tours of the Thousand Islands, and the staff of the inn were very helpful in making these arrangements as well as dinner reservations.

Room Tip: Ask for the "Grand"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in Gananoque at the Victoria Rose Inn. My first time at an Inn and it was quite a nice experience. The staff was great. They provided excellent service and were very friendly and easy to talk to. Our room was big and bright and very comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent - fritatta, toast and fruit the first morning and freshly made waffles with whipped cream, syrop and fresh fruit the second morning. We ate on the veranda overlooking the gardens. It was very beautiful.

Thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Rose Inn

Address: 279 King St. West, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2G7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique hotel accommodations feature 12 exquisite air-conditioned rooms and lodging, and provide bed and breakfast. Each room includes a private ensuite bathroom and unique décor – some offering whirlpool bathtubs and working fireplaces for the perfect getaway vacation or romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Rose Inn Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Rose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.