We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and quiet place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Rose Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Rose Inn to your Saves list
Victoria Rose Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   279 King St. West, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2G7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Carleton Place, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in Gananoque at the Victoria Rose Inn. My first time at an Inn and it was quite a nice experience. The staff was great. They provided excellent service and were very friendly and easy to talk to. Our room was big and bright and very comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent - fritatta, toast and fruit the first morning and freshly made waffles with whipped cream, syrop and fresh fruit the second morning. We ate on the veranda overlooking the gardens. It was very beautiful.

Thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    26
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
80
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I were invited to a surprise party for one of our friends to celebrate his 55th birthday. We met at the Victoria Rose Inn in Gananoque to stay and take him out for dinner. This was our first time at the Inn. We have done a lot of traveling for my business and it was a nice change from the regular hotels. I believe there are 12 rooms in the Inn and each one has its own name. We stayed on the first floor in the Westview room. The room had a Kingsize bed and lovely decor. It had a nice ensuite bathroom with everything you could need. The room was clean and bright with 4 large windows letting in the sunlight. It also had two sitting chairs and a nice table to sit and chat, have some wine or read a book. You had free wireless internet service in the room.
The inn itself is an older looking mansion which is amazing to the eye with the gardens and the grounds being so well kept.
When we entered the front door, we felt like we had just arrived at a friends house with a nice warm greeting from the staff. We were given a tour of the common areas. The main floor had two living rooms with comfortable furniture that you could see yourself curling up into and chat with friends or just sit and relax. In the corner we were shown a closet which contained different packages of tea and coffees which were available at anytime you wanted to have one. We were shown the veranda in the back of the house which you could see the view of the back gardens and the patio with tables and chairs which you could use as well.
We were then taken to our room and unpacked and relaxed and waited for the time to meet with the other friends to surprise our Birthday Boy.
It was a good surprise because he had no idea that we were there and was very shocked to see the 6 of us there. We all headed out for dinner.
We got back late that evening, I mean early that morning and off to our rooms we went.
The inn serves breakfast from 8-9:30 on the terrace and we arrived about 8:50 and was greated again by more friendly staff. There was a table full of cereal, muffins, yogurt, and banana bread to die for. Coffee, teas, juices were being served by the staff and the the server brought us our breakfast of the day, which was a frittata and toast which was awsome.
We were sad to have to check out and go home. I could probably go on and on to talk about this place. It was a great experience from the time that we arrived till we left. We will definately be going there again.
I cannot say

Room Tip: We were in the westview which was nice but some of the rooms have fireplaces and a whirlpool that ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for two nights. And it was so relaxing! The interieur of rooms fits perfect to the style of the house. We stayed at the "applewood" - very quiet and lot of space. We took the breakfast in the garden - quiet and peaceful! you feel like your at home. Very relaxing!
The harbour an the "citycenter" is in walking distance. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The architectural is a striking Queen Anne Gothic, the grounds expansive and quiet, the reception elegant and warm, the staff attentive to every request, the large common rooms and charming bedrooms beautifully furnished, with high ceilings and lovely trimwork, the baths modern, the linens impeccable. Breakfast in the gallery and on the large terrace was carefully arranged with a buffet of homemade breads (banana bread, blueberry muffins etc), yogurts, fresh fruit (blueberry, strawberry, melon, peach), and cereals, complimented with generous and fastidious table service of fresh orange juice, hot fritatta and salad, and good coffee.
We were thrilled (as were our fellow guests), first and foremost with the quality of the Inn, but also with its location: a 15 minute walk to the stunning harbour and Gananoque Boat Lines to memorable Boldt Castle, a 25 minute walk to Canada's most extraordinary Riverside theatre, the 1000 Islands Playhouse, and only just across the street from exquisite dining at The Athlone.
Having toured and stayed in many other locations in the area, we will now make the Victoria Rose our base: 25 minutes to Kingston, 40 minutes to Westport (stop at Kilborn's for truly fab shopping in Newboro!), 65 minures to Perth and the very best Italian dining outside of Italy at Bistro 54 (no reservations, but so worth the wait !!!).

Room Tip: The least expensive room is on the main floor but it's gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Breakfast was excellent, all local bio food. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, quiet and nicely decorated with antiques. No TV in rooms but that's what we were running away from! The gardens are very nice and so are the common areas. We will surely go back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is an extraordinary inn in every respect: a stunningly refurbished Victorian house with modernized, elegant rooms. Owner Susanne Richter is a maniacal stickler for details, including foraging for the freshest, local-sourced food for breakfast either on the screened veranda or on the patio. The gardens front and back are beautiful and restful. Everything about it speaks gracious, old world, unhurried hospitality. It's very hard to find this kind and level of quality outside a major city. But here it is in a lovely small town on the St. Lawrence River in the heart of the 1000 Islands. If you're in the area, THIS IS THE PLACE!

Room Tip: I prefer either of the two newly opened rooms facing the rear gardens. If you have trouble with sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Exquisite Victoriana Facade, and for honeymooners probably great but when you have been married for several decades would have really appreciated a TV (especially as we had been looking forward to the closing ceremony of the Olympics in London our home city!) There was a communial lounge where maybe we could have found some other guests but still no TV! Our room was several flights of stairs and no lift. Although not quite in our dotage we would have appreciated a little help with luggage but no help available. Room was pleasant but a little sparce and not much space in the bathroom. We went out for a nice meal in Ganonoque and returned to read in our room. Sadly throughout the night there was a lot of noise and we were disturbed so we arrived at breakfast very tired. We were told that as there were only two of us we could not eat breakfast outside (the available tables were set for 4) and we were placed in a thin corridor off the Conservatory. The breakfast was adequate but the staff were very slow and we have to be honest if you start telling us that we cannot sit at an empty table with no reserved sign on it then we don't like you! And guess what? We don't like your breakfast. This may seem unfair but we do object to being pushed around......particularly first thing in the morning with disturbed sleep! So this place gets an 'average' and it should be grateful because if it was not for the building and its grounds it would be a 'poor'.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Rose Inn

Address: 279 King St. West, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2G7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique hotel accommodations feature 12 exquisite air-conditioned rooms and lodging, and provide bed and breakfast. Each room includes a private ensuite bathroom and unique décor – some offering whirlpool bathtubs and working fireplaces for the perfect getaway vacation or romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Rose Inn Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Rose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.