We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glen House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glen House Resort to your Saves list
Glen House Resort
#409 1000 Island Parkway | RR1, Lansdowne, Gananoque, Ontario K0E 1LO, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Syracuse
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced and dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Although the setting is beautiful, the room was very dated. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom spartan but clean. The sliding glass door did not lock. Once the front desk was aware of it, they fixed it but the broken screen door to allow us to keep the sliding glass door open, was not repairable on our visit.There are many amenities both at the hotel and near it. At over $ 200 US, this seemed overpriced to us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    52
    23
    26
    17
See reviews for
39
45
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Lovely spot on the St. Lawrence with a delicious Sunday brunch (approx. $15 pp for full breakfast buffet) Our waitress, Monika, was one of the best waitresses we had the pleasure to meet. Totally recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed a the resort this past week for a work event at the golf course across the street. Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful with any questions or requests that I had. I stayed in room 118. The room itself is quite large with two double size beds, a mini bar fridge, a walkout to the pool, a nice size tv. The bed was comfortable. I found that the room to be quite and I wasn't able to hear my neighbors. I knew the people on both sides of me so it was not surprising that I couldn't hear any of them as they tend to be quite. The overall appearance of the room was average. The bathrroom requires a bit of attention as there was a light burned out and the door couldn't open all of the way due to the location of the vanity. If you are a larger person you may find this a bit difficult to navigate. It apeears that the tub was recently updated with a surround and was in good condition. The water pressure (a big issue for me) was average and the water was hot (another issue for me). I did find that the shower head may require some cleaning as the spray was not straight. This is usually the sign of hard water and the need for some CLR.

I had a few drinks in the bar and breakfast the following morning. Both times the staff were friendly and provided good service. The breakfast was made to order and was quick and tasty.

Overall the location of the resort being directly across from a golf tournament that I attended for work is why the group I was travelling with stayed here. I am a priority club member and would likely drive into Kingston if I were in the area for another reason.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Glen house and participated in the flagsticks shoot out this weekend. The golfing was excellent. No question about it, a great course and a great time. We had a banquet dinner and stayed at the Glen house. The rooms were quaint and clean and the beds were comfy, we had a great night sleep. The food was nice, I had the salmon and my boyfriend had the chicken, both were average to good. Service was friendly! My only complaint about the weekend was the pools. Both indoor and outdoor didn't seem to be filtering properly and the water was merky and grey. I decided to pass which was disappointing since it was hot and we walked alot that day, I was looking forward to a refreshing dunk! We did however use the hot tub, it was nice and relaxing. Overall, a very nice time. I'm going back next year...hope the pool is fixed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My review is a bit late, we went last September (2011). Found the place online, thought it looked very nice and romantic. I called to book a romance package (quite pricey, but we thought we'd give it a try...) but at the time of the booking, there were no "deluxe" room left, so the women agreed to lower the price slightly. The package was to include a special 5 course Menu and champagne and chocolate in room. When we arrived, they told us a deluxe room became available... Well, if THAT was a deluxe room, I dread seeing a regular one! The rooms are in dire need of renovation! Musty smell, dirty carpets, the bed's mattress was probably older than my grandmother, with a huge dent in the middle....We were on a ground level and the view we had was the back of an underground pool about 10 feet from our patio door. There was a wedding party walking around the area and they were all looking into our room! How romantic! Lets shut the curtains at 3 p.m., so much for the view! The bathroom floor was so crooked, felt pretty strange to sit on the toilet! (sorry for the graphics here....). The tub was brown and rusty. Oh, and the so called champagne/chocolate was some cheap sparkling wine with a bag of Werthers Original! But what made us ticked was the staff's attitude when we went to inquire about the Menu. The Chef was extremely arrogant and told my husband that there wouldn't be a special Menu tonight, as opposed to what was promised as part of the package. Getting a little annoyed, I went to the front desk to ask what was going to be the Menu and what our money was paying for... as everything just kept changing on us, and yet we had to pay the full price! The Chef happened to be there she just sighed and she rudely cut me off to say "fine, there will be a special menu"!!!! Hummm.... Are you kidding me? We are paying this huge amount of money and you're just trying to rob us! (or you're too lazy to make a special menu perhaps....) Anyway, we just took off. The one positive thing was that the women at the front desk didn't put up a fight and agreed to credit the room with no charge. She understood our frustration. Too bad cause its a nice location... Just needs work and an attitude check on the women Chef there. YIKES! No way to treat paying clients!

Room Tip: Get an upper level, view on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, GA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We had a very nice large room with a big, comfy bed, a small balcony overlooking the cove and a gas log fireplace. The last was a very nice touch.

The staff at the lodge was very pleasant and helpful. The meals were nice.

It was a pleasant stay, but we think that the price was higher than was warranted.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

First the good, the location is on the St Lawrence River and is lovely. THe Smugglers COve golf course ( run by Glen HOuse) is remarkable. However the "Chalets" are so bad and beyond ugly. The furnishings have seen their better days many, many years ago. They seem to be furnished with castoff items. I have to say tho, that the bedding was comfortable. BUt the couches and chairs were musty and damp feeling when you sat on them. They need to throw everything out and start fresh.My husband said he would golf there again in a heartbeat, but would not stay in the chalets for a second time........

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen House Resort

Address: #409 1000 Island Parkway | RR1, Lansdowne, Gananoque, Ontario K0E 1LO, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glen House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen House Hotel Gananoque
Glen Hotel Ontario
Glen Resort Ontario
Glen House Resort Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.