We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet dreams in Gananoque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Gananoque Inn and Spa to your Saves list
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Stone Street South | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Sweet dreams in Gananoque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

I must confess – we only stayed at the Gananoque Inn because they had the only available room in town. And we weren’t too happy about being on the third floor, with no balcony, and a view of the street. Other rooms had balconies, and we were immediately jealous as the ground floor rooms were more accessible, and much more appealing. But after a friendly check inn (fresh cookies!) we tossed our bags in the room and sat by the water – where the view was lovely. Small boats were pulling inn, as larger vessels were taking tourists out on tours. On the ground there were a series of motel-like rooms, with guests milling about happily on the lawn. Our room was small, but it had plenty of lovely touches. Plush robes, complimentary water, and high quality soaps. But best of all were the beds. Oh my God – the most comfortable beds ever. So insanely comfortable that my friend and I sat up at night and talked about how comfortable we were. In the morning we were reluctant to get up – choosing our fabulous beds over the fabulous sunny day. But we did get up, just in time for the buffet breakfast, which was fresh, plentiful, and enjoyed on their lovely patio. I would highly recommend this inn, and it’s excellent restaurant. But for maximum enjoyment – choose your room wisely – and have a great sleep.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    103
    31
    16
    2
See reviews for
42
165
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

We stayed at the Gananoque Inn over the Labour Day long weekend and had a very pleasant stay. The inn is situated on a quiet street with fantastic access to the water. We opted for the cheaper room and faced the parking lot, but there was still plenty of opportunity to enjoy the waterfront.

The hotel is quaint, clean and charming. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms were tidy, nicely decorated and clean; the bathrooms had new fixtures and the towels and bathrobes were soft and plush.

Some points:
- It is an old building with dated insulation, which meant that we could hear footsteps above us, when our neighbours were showering, and people talking out in the hallway.
- The airconditioning unit is quite loud and was difficult to leave on. It was right next to the bed, and using it also meant leaving the drapes open for all on the street to see. Granted, there wasn't much foot traffic, but we like our privacy. Without the air circulating, the room gets quite stuffy.
- We only found the hotel directory in the desk drawer on the last day and were disappointed that we hadn't looked at it sooner. The Inn provides some great activity suggestions (bike rentals, ATV tours) and offers other ideas which we would've liked to have tried (movie rental with bag of popcorn brought to room, packed lunches for day trips).

Overall, we would stay here again, but one trip to Gananoque is enough for us!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Poor air circulation
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stopped in by chance on our way from Quebec City back to Toronto. The rooms are above average with really nice bathrooms and nice white fluffy bathrobes(which we didn't use as it was 90 degrees out). They have two restaurants,one a fine dining and the other a bar lounge/restaurant. We had planned to eat in the fine dining but had an afternoon snack in the bar,at which time we saw the great selection and reasonable prices, so we had our evening meal there. Both had a good size patio overlooking the St. Lawrence River and the 1000 Islands cruise boat docks.(The cruises are well worth going on ,1 or 3 hours, I think, but we had been on them before and we had a previous appointment with a bottle of wine, so we spent the afternoon sitting on the large boat dock , watching the boats go by. The service was outstanding , friendly and courteous. The front desk fellow was amazing. I notice that they had bikes to rent if one is so inclined. We got a discount off the list price as they had a few rooms left when we called in. They had a spa there at which we tried to book massages , but they were all booked up, so I guess one should call ahead (not something that I plan to do in this lifetime as I wouldn't have stumbled on this little gem! Definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

We stayed in Gananoque Inn for two nights in August, it was booked as part of our honeymoon by our travel agents. It was just wonderful, service, food, location ( overlooking the Thousand Islands). We had stayed in five stars hotels in Toronto and Montreal and this was every bit as nice. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to go back some day! ( Ireland )

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms could be updated
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

We spent a marvelous weekend at the Gananoque Inn, a clean, comfortable, and charming place.

We stayed in the "Prime Minister's Suite," a luxurious room located in the Annex, a small two-storey building housing ten or so rooms, adjacent to the main part of the Inn. We had stayed in the Prime Minister's Suite several years earlier, and had requested this room specifically for our most recent stay as well.

Although it won't win any awards for decorating or beauty, the room was eminently comfortable and luxuriously spacious. A huge stone fireplace forms the focal point of the room. Situated on a corner, the room has windows on two sides. Trees and shrubs growing close to one exterior wall cast a lovely greenish glow into the room when sunlight shines through them. All windows are covered with plantation shutters to control light and provide privacy. I prefer to sleep in almost total darkness,
and the shutters let in a little more light than I would have liked, so some blinds or heavy curtains to augment the shutters would have been nice.

The room has a second door at one end that leads onto a shared balcony on the upper level of the Annex. A pair of Adirondack/Muskoka chairs and a small table are placed outside each room. The balcony looks onto Gananoque's waterfront area. It's pleasant to sit on the balcony and watch the tour boats and other water craft come and go. Below the balcony is a very attractive garden with a water feature.

At the other end of the room is an enormous bathroom, as large itself as some hotel rooms I have stayed in. The room has a Jacuzzi tub big enough for two, a separate shower, a double sink and vanity, and a makeup table with mirror, all separated by enough floor space to dance should you be so inclined. Plenty of huge, comfortable towels, plus two plush bathrobes, are provided.

Inside, the room has a very comfortable king-size bed, plus a plain but comfortable couch and easy chair. A small sink and bar fridge are located in one corner of the room. The TV is also situated in that corner. Although we didn't watch TV, I suspect it would have been too far away to be clearly visible from the bed (which gives you some idea of the room's scale). A single leather reclining chair placed near the TV would have served one guest comfortably, but I'm not sure how a second guest would make do.

A minor complaint about the room itself is that the walls seemed a little thin. I could easily hear people talking in the adjacent room.

Two complimentary bottles of water, and small package of cookies, were available in the room. They are very small things, and probably cost the hotel next to nothing, but the sense of generosity one receives from these small gifts is noteworthy (conversely, it makes the meagerness of hotels that charge exorbitant prices for every little amenity all the more apparent).

Speaking of cookies, two large baskets of huge, delicious, bakery-made cookies are presented at the front desk during checkin. The staff at the Gananoque Inn are friendly and warm, and give every impression of genuine concern for the guests' comfort during their stay.

The Inn is a collection of buildings and cottages. The main building dates from the mid 19th century. The interior is quaint and well maintained. The hotel has a pub and dining room, both of which have patios overlooking the waterfront area. A breakfast buffet in the dining room (eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, muffins, toast, etc.) was included in our room price (though not, apparently, with all rooms). We had a very nice lunch in the dining room as well, but made other arrangements for dinner (Kingston, about a 20 minute drive from Gananoque, has a wonderful collection of good restaurants).

The Inn's grounds are immaculate and beautifully landscaped. Groundskeepers were constantly in evidence, touching up the many flowerbeds and sweeping litter. The balcony at the back of our room had several lovely flower boxes and hanging baskets of flowers.

The Inn is well situated, being only a short walk away from Gananoque's pleasant main street and the waterfront area. Gananoque is a charming, laid-back town, and the Gananoque Inn suits the mood of the town perfectly. It is, quite simply, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Transmission of sound between rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Just returned from a 2 night stay with husband and kids ages 6-12, and would definitely recommend it to anyone touring the area. We especially loved the view of the St. Lawrence from the outside elevated deck while eating their nice included hot breakfast buffet. The staff was lovely and very attentive. The Inn is situated at the wide end of the river, so you don't see the islands from the property. Still a really pretty setting. It is just off the main drag, within walking distance to it- so we ate dinner at the pub/restaurant in the Inn one night (Jake's muskey) and then in town at a place called Maroni's the other (would recommend it).

We took a tour of the Thousand Islands on the cruise line recommended by (and I think owned by) the hotel, called the Gananoque Cruise Line or something like that. You board the boat just over a small footbridge very close to the hotel. You can even buy the tickets from the front desk of the hotel. They run either 1hr, 3hr trip which goes around Brant Castle, and the 5 hr trip which lets you get off the boat and walk around the castle. We decided on the 3 hr trip which was ok, but the kids got bored - everything got pretty repetitious after a while.

After returning home, I spoke with a friend who went recently, and said that they took a tour from Kingston (20 min away) for a 1 or 3 hour ride and were let off the boat to tour the castle. Said it was beautiful. So I was a little disappointed about our tour. I would recommend checking this out before buying the tickets and possibly driving to a different boat company (there are many, this one is just the most convenient) so you can see inside the castle without spending 5 hrs on the boat.

Had a good massage at the "Spa" - Not amazing, but relaxing nonetheless. A nice treat.

We went kyaking - rented them from the hotel pretty cheaply, and enjoyed being on the water, but you need to be careful of the boat tours passing by (waves).

All in all, a nice time was spent there, and we especially liked the scenery of the river.

  • Liked — View of River from outside deck of restaurant.
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

my bf & i stay there for the may long wknd...we got the room by the water...2 queen beds...& also the ATV package with 2 dinners & 2 breakfast...

we find the room to be very clean, staff was extremely friendly & informative of what there is to do in surrounding area...such as horse-back riding, casino etc...

we wanted to take advantage of their spa, with a side-by-side massage however, they only had one RMT there, & she bearly works on the wknd...but the receptionist was very help suggesting other treatments from the spa...with the time restriction, we did not manage to use their spa at all...

both dinners we ate at muskie jake...it's your normal pub food...when we checked the dinning room, it was serving the similar meals...we were actually very happy w/ our meals & waitresses...breakfast the 1st morning was good...however, 2nd morning we went late & there was nothing left, the staff didn't even want to serve us...

lunch we ate in town, subway...there are also 2 lcbo close by, so you can buy wine drink in your room, since they provide wine glasses...we also walked across the bridge to check a movie in their very small theatre...

ATV: it was fun but i think we could have had more excitement in smaller group...orginally it was for my bf & i, plus another couple from the inn...however, the guy (from the other couple) didn't operate the atv correctly & crashed into a tree...luckily he suffered minor cuts & bruises...thus, they packed up & left, thus leaving us to join another group...we drove very slowly to avoid another accident w/ their atv's :( In general, the host & hostress of the ATV was very nice...

we may not stay in this inn again, as we enjoy more outdoor activities, such as swimming & they do NOT have a pool...however, we might go back to gannanoque for an ATV day trip...

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Address: 550 Stone Street South | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gananoque Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.