We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Gananoque Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Stone Street South, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Week Getaway
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Gananoque
Tweed On
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here Oct 27 and 28th, our yearly staycation in Gananoque.
We stayed in the the Caverly cottage, a short walk from the main inn. Beautiful large suites could have been a little cleaner though. Breakfast which was included was ok. What really stood out was our meal in The Watermark restaurant...absolutely superb! Lamb and rissoto cooked perfectly. Great front desk staff as always.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your positive review! Our apologies for any construction dust you may have encountered. As you will have noticed the town is replacing sewer lines in the road just outside Caverly Cottage. We dust daily and can't wait for the project to be finished!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    88
    24
    15
    2
See reviews for
35
142
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Gananoque is a lovely little town and the Gananoque Inn is right on the waterfront, so for location it is ideal. We took a waterfront room which has a front door to the garden and waterfront, and a back door directly onto the car-park. The bed was king size and very comfortable - the room also had space for armchairs and a table. The bathroom was fine and the water pressure strong enough for a good shower. Overall we were satisfied with the room.

The restaurant where we had dinner the first evening and three breakfasts is located in the main building and has a good view over the waterways. The service for all meals was very slow (even when there few other customers) and functional - only one lady attempted to be friendly. The food at dinner was just ok but expensive for what we had - we decided to eat elsewhere on the other nights. The food at breakfast was better.

The staff at reception were the complete opposite of the restaurant staff - smiling, friendly and helpful. The lady gave us great advice on touring around on the days we were there and this advice was 'spot on'.

Overall we felt that this hotel was somewhat over-rated and not value-for-money. I have rated it as "very good" because it is certainly above 'average' and there is no "good" rating.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the waterways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are always striving to do better in every area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My partner and I stayed here Oct 14th and 15th, our first time spending any significant time in Gananoque. The inn's location is gorgeous and it's very well established. It has been there a long time but the additions are so tasteful and the maintenance is first class so that it feels warm without feeling "old". We really appreciated the front desk staff and restaurant staff that we came in contact with, every one of them pleasant and helpful.
The one room service meal we had was very promptly delivered and enjoyable.
Having found this place, it's the only place in Gananoque we'd consider coming back to. All I can say to them is a big thank-you for making a special two days even more special!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your positive feed back. Your review means a great deal to our hard working staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe Claire, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Inn is quite old and charming. Special care has been taken to maintain beautiful antique furniture along with modern conveniences. Our bed and pillows were of very high quality as was the beautiful bathroom. The surroundings are lovely and picturesque. The staff, with no exception, were polite, helpful and professional; they really made our stay so enjoyable! After reading other reviews on here, one must remember that this is an old inn,not the Trump Towers, and that some people will find anything to complain about. My husband and I LOVED our stay and will definitely return !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are always delighted to hear when guests have appreciated both the historic nature of The Gananoque Inn and Spa and our more current amenities. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you're searching for an old-fashioned inn in the Thousand Islands, look no further.
Location is perfect, right by the water and a short walk from the main road through Gananoque (King Street). Beautiful views are to be captured at the back of the hotel.

This was the second visit for my wife and I, but the first time we stayed in the main inn. It was the perfect setting for a low-key weekend getaway.

We stayed in a 2 different rooms as they could not accommodate us in the same room for 3 nights over Thanksgiving weekend.
The first room had two double beds on the second floor (206). Had we been more than 2 adults, this would probably feel a little cramped. Otherwise, the decor was charming, bed was great and everything was clean. The bathroom amenities are excellent and the towels are superior to what you normally find at a similarly-priced hotel.
The second was a queen room on the third floor (306), which was probably the same size, but felt more spacious due the lack of another bed. This one had a flat screen TV whereas the previous room had a CRT. Otherwise, same comfy bed and bathroom amenities.
***NOTE: If you have difficulty with stairs, I would avoid the main inn as there are no elevators to the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors. Waterfront rooms are ground-floor only.

Switching rooms was not even a problem. We left our luggage in the room while we did some afternoon sightseeing. Upon our return, picked up keys to the new room and our luggage was waiting for us.

I thought breakfast was more than suitable for the number of guests at the inn.
Everyone we encountered from the front desk, housekeeping and restaurant was very courteous and friendly.
The price we paid for the room was comparable to the Holiday Inn Express down the road, and at the Inn, you get a lot more character, and better location.

My wife and I will gladly return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your positive review! We are happy that our capable team was able to make your stay with us special. Your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This inn was a lovely place to stay in a Gananoque, The room was very comfortable and clean (it was the last room left on a Saturday afternoon ... lucky us!). Our visit was on a windy day in October so we could not take advantage of the nicely groomed grounds and the outdoor terrace. The service in the restaurant was a bit slow (only 1 waitress for the whole section), however, we only went for drinks late in the afternoon so it wasn't an issue for us. The buffet breakfast included in the price of our room was wonderful with an excellent selection of food, lots of variety and homemade goodies. Great service that morning. The registration desk personnel was so helpful and patient in answering our many questions. It was an easy walk into the village for some shopping, just minutes from the entry to the boat tours, and a nice walk along the waterfront park. We were very happy with our stay and would recommend this inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the waterfront side; some rooms on the 2nd floor overlook the roof of the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We very much appreciate that you took time to post your review. We hope you will return to Gananoque in the future to enjoy even more of what our small town has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A charming 19th century but updated inn in a beautiful town in southern Ontario. The surroundings are gracious, the service attentive, the food wonderful and the inn itself is a perfect example of comfort. We could not have chosen a better place to stay. If possible I would return every few months just to be treated so well. One of the nicest places we have encountered in our travels.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms with fireplaces on the third floor best - spacious and nice and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! We are delighted that you and your family found us during your travels and appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts. This means a great deal to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Address: 550 Stone Street South, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies what was originally the Gananoque Carriage Works. Today the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gananoque Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.