We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horseblock Point Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gananoque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horseblock Point Cottages
Save
You added Horseblock Point Cottages to your Saves list
355 1000 Islands Parkway, Gananoque, Ontario K7G1K8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great way to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were interested in taking a tour of the 1000 Islands but found the hotels in the area rather pricey. We wanted a room by the water and happened to come across the horseblock point website. Thought we would give it a try since the price was right...and it exceeded our expectations. We booked cottage #1, which overlooked the lake. The cottage has a deck that is by the water- a great place to have dinner and a glass of wine. The calm peaceful atmosphere was just what the doctor ordered. There is a bar b q near the cottage that is available for use and a small kitchenette in the cottage., so we didn't have to worry about eating out. We went a few years ago so I'm not sure if there are any changes, but we were told to bring drinking water because the water that was piped into the cottages was not filtered. It was perfectly fine to bathe in. There is no a/c but there were fans that cooled us down. Steve and Jayne (our hosts ) were very kind and helpful. We enjoyed everything about this getaway, including the 1000 Islands boat tour. Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Horseblock Point Cottages, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
We no longer pump our water out of the St Lawrence River. In 2011 we drilled a new well and replaced all the water lines. Other changes include wifi internet in some cottages (expanding to all soon), kayak rentals and a brand new cottage (#5).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Watford, Ontario
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We were looking for a simple retreat after dropping our daughter off at University and found The Horseblock Point cottages on the internet while loking for accompodations in the the 1000 Islands area. Most of the area hotels were already booked so we inquired about the cottages and put a down payment on it about 2 weeks before our retreat.

Not knowing what to expect, we arrived just before dark on Sunday. We met Andrew, our host, in the laneway and he showed us to our humble little cottage (we rented cottage #6). Andrew showed us around a bit and left us on our own.

Although we did not stay too much at the cottages, what we saw there was fantastic. The view of the water from the cottages reminded us of God's ability to create beauty. We sat on the rocks for a bit and took it all in. Unfortuanatley, our plan was to tour the Islands and area so the cottages was a simple place to lay our heads and recharge. We were gone for most of the three days sight seeing.

The cottages are well kept, clean and affordable. Andrew allowed us to look inside of some of the other cottages before we left and shared some of his visions for the property. we highly recommend Horseblock Point Cottages. We plan to return some time just to relax at the cottages.

Joe and Cathy

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Great quiet getaway. Cottage nicely decorated, cozy with a breath taking view. Sit on your front porch and watch a spectacular sun set each night. The host Jayne and Steve are very friendly and more than accommodating. Steve runs a fishing charter. My husband was interested in going fishing but my two girls and I only wanted a tour of the 1000 Islands. Steve took my husband out fishing early one morning and returned later that after noon and took us all out for a private tour. We spent the afternoon site seeing even stopping for snacks and a swim at one of the many private coves.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville on
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Great place quiet and very peaceful. Will stay again, close to several attractions. It was great to sit on the deck and just enjoy the view and listen to the waves. Our cottage(#1) was very romantic, and had the best view of the water.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horseblock Point Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseblock Point Cottages

Address: 355 1000 Islands Parkway, Gananoque, Ontario K7G1K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 8 cottages ranging in size and uniqueness. You will find that we offer a unique combination of a cozy and quaint setting while providing cottages that subtly allow you to enjoy modern comforts. We have a boat launch ramp as well as covered and uncovered slips available. Private, guided fishing tours or scenic tours are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horseblock Point Cottages Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseblock Point Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.