We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewater Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gananoque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonewater Manor Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Stonewater Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
490 Stone Street, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent one night at the Stonewater B&B in "The Loft". Lovely & spacious, Beautiful view of the water. Breakfast in the adjoining pub was a refreshing change. Visited the Pub in the evening for fantastic entertainment. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Loft is a unique spot - large and airy. Like your own apartment! We were only there one night th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewater, Owner at Stonewater Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments...we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We need to get you down here in the area in the summer to show you just how special our area is!
We hope to see you again soon.
Jeff and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guelph,ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I just came back from a long weekend away with friends at what I thought would be your 'average' inn. My assumptions started being challenged as soon as we stepped into the house. It felt as though we had just stepped into a friend's home - a very beautiful, warm, elegant yet relaxed house. Jeff was there to greet us and immediately, his easy manner started our weekend of relaxation. We checked in and Jeff asked what make our car was - we had parked on the street. We later found out that, in the winter, street parking is ticketed overnight, but our hosts didn't mention that until the day we left, asking if we had a ticket that day, because they usually go out early in the morning and take all the tickets off their guests cars and pay for them themselves - obviously without their patron's knowledge. This detail alone makes Jeff and Sue hosts extraordinaire, but it is just a continuation of their attention to every detail to make their guests' stay enjoyable.
Every morning we had breakfast in the veranda part of the attached pub, beside the toasty fireplace. I'm not sure if that was because their dinning room table had just come back from repair and was still drying, or if that is usual, but the cuisine was superb. Way beyond anything we have ever had in a b&b breakfast experience. We had Seafood Benedict (to die for!), crepes with apple and brie, cranberry white chocolate scone french toast, beer batter waffles and bacon and eggs with homemade hashbrowns and bean medley (not your ordinary beans!). Every thing was fresh, homemade and superior quality. My friend has gluten sensitivity and the chef came and spoke to her about it. He was very knowledgeable about the issue and very accommodating. A very talented chef indeed. Oh, and I can't forget to mention the dinner! As someone has said before, the meatloaf is out of this world! My husband, who does not like meatloaf, looooved this one. Honestly, I would love to have this meatloaf again - with the onion rings, best I've ever tasted. They were having a Mardi Gras themed weekend and Gumbo, Blackened catfish and Jambalaya were on the menu. I can't say enough good things about the cuisine. It does change every few months, but the meatloaf is always on the menu. :)
The rooms were well appointed and quiet - which I was concerned would be an issue, with the Mardi Gras 'party' in the adjoining pub. But we had to strain to hear any music from our room. It must have stopped fairly early or been very quiet, because when we went to be around 11pm we didn't hear anything. The bed was large and very comfortable. The Weber suite has a large bathroom, small kitchen with microwave, bar fridge and sink, good sized living room and fair sized bedroom. It was a great deal. Our friends rented the loft room and were very pleased with the size of the 'apartment' and especially the view of the river and sunset from the large window seat.
All four of us agreed that we would love to come again. We are planning a visit this summer when we can take advantage of the river boat tours. So many things went together to make this a truly superior experience for all of us, not the least of which was the attentive service given by Jeff and Sue. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewater, Owner at Stonewater Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are very fortunate that we have many great visitors to the Stonewater Manor B&B and sometimes a weekend stands out as being a little more special that others....your stay with us was one of those weekends. We very much enjoyed having you stay with us and enjoyed our conversations even more.We hope you will come down to Gananoque again soon and visit us.
Best wishes
Jeff and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was my husband and I, and my parent's 2nd visit to the Stonewater Manor. We cannot speak highly enough about our stay or Jeff and Sue!!! We felt so at home and were really blessed by their kindness to us! Their home and the rooms we stayed in are absolutely beautiful and the breakfast are superb (we had veggie and cheese omelets, french toast, pancakes, eggs and bacon, fruit... so tasty and filling). We also ate dinner most nights at the pub. It is so cozy, with great food!!! My birthday was in December and we were celebrating while there. When Jeff and Sue found out, they surprised me with a birthday cake- so unbelievably thoughtful! We all wholeheartedly recommend both the B & B and Pub! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewater, Owner at Stonewater Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you so much for all your kind words....it was such a pleasure having you and your family stay with us ! We look forward to seeing you again when you get home from Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engstingen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spend 3 day in the nice and lovely B&B. Our room (we had one like a Appartement with 2 sleeping-rooms) was huge enough and looks very well. The beds was good and we slept well, we like to write about the towels, they was a kind of towels we never had before (included big Hotels and 5-star-resort), they was so huge, fleecy and cuddly . Sue and Jeff was very friendly and helpful. They made fresh breakfast with fresh fruits (for our healthy). We had some choices of breakfast and we choose them all - and everyone tastes and looks well.
Every evening we ate in the pub. The staff was friendly and helpful. The menu-card offers many different meals and every meal we had, was great and fine. Achim, Brigitte and Tamara from Germany, Oct. 2012.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

When my husband and I arrived at Stone Manor, Jeff and Sue greeted us like old friends opening up their home to us. The B and B was wonderful, cozy, and warm. Our loft bedroom had a fantastic few of the water and breakfast was wonderful. The best eggs benedict and french toast! The Irish Pub next door had great food and entertainment (the meatloaf is to die for and the feta and watermelon salad was delicious!). The staff was very friendly and attentive and made you feel right at home. The weekend was too short and we can't wait to go back again and enjoy some of the best hospitality we've ever experienced.

Room Tip: We looked at them all but loved the loft, huge room with a separate seating area, king size bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The wife and I stayed there for 3 days at the end of September. The Inn is beautiful and Jeff and Sue made us feel like we were old friends come to visit. Breakfasts were fantastic! Depending on the day there was fruit, eggs, cereals, potatoes, french toast, and pancakes. Very tasty and the perfect way to start the day. Lunches and dinners in the attached Pub were also delicious with a fun crowd and very entertaining musicians playing on Friday and Saturday nights. The "Loft" we stayed in was very large with a huge, comfortable bed and a beautiful view of the river. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay en route from New Jersey to Ottawa, Canada. We looked on a map and and found the town of Gananoque. Researching a place to stay led me to the Stonewater Manor B&B. I was attracted to the fact that it was by the water and within walking distance of just about anything you might want to do in town. As luck would have it, there was a vacancy on the night we needed lodging. This stay exceeded all of my expectations. When you walk into the B&B, the first thing you see is a sign that says "Welcome to our home"....and welcome is exactly how you feel. I cannot say enough about Jeff and Sue and their hospitality. They are friendly, helpful and clearly invested in your stay being enjoyable. The room was cozy and comfortable. Sitting on the porch overlooking the water and eating a delicious breakfast was a wonderful way to start a day. We did have dinner in the pub and the food was great. At Jeff's suggestion, we tried the watermelon salad which was quite refreshing! The Irish meatloaf and steak were very good. Afterwards we enjoyed the entertainment in the pub while chatting with other guests who were there. It was a very enjoyable evening and one of the highlights of our entire trip. Thank you Jeff and Sue - we are so delighted that we met you and had the opportunity to spend time at the Stonewater Manor. I will highly recommend your B&B to anyone we know who is travelling that way. And hopefully our paths will cross again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewater Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewater Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 490 Stone Street, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated across the street from the river, with a great view from our pub's deck of the cruise boats and inner harbour. We are a two minute walk from the playhouse, the boat lines, the beach and kayak rentals. We have two queen size rooms, both with their own bathrooms, and two King size rooms.One is a large size Loft suite complete with two person soaker tub, shower, kitchenette and an amazing view of the river.The other is a small apartment with it's own living room with pull out couch,limited kitchen,bath and bedroom that can be made up with two single beds or a king size bed. Both of the king size rooms have an excellent river view. We have our own Gastro pub with full meals and live entertainment Thurs,Fri and Sat nights. We are open year round...summer season rates apply from the Memorial Day weekend (May) to the Thanksgiving weekend (Canadian Oct.). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stonewater Manor Bed And Breakfast Gananoque, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewater Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.