We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away, Thieves are Employed Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 King St East, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H2 CA, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Pickering, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay Away, Thieves are Employed Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

At a recent stay, we left our umbrella in our room and didn't realize it until after checking out.
A few hours later we returned to pick it up. The same front desk rep we had dealt with during our entire stay contacted one of the two person room cleaning team who confirmed they had indeed found our umbrella. Problem is she gave it to her associate to 'put away'.

The front desk rep then contacted the second cleaning associate and then returned to inform us that 'no umbrella ever existed.'

This experience has little to do with the loss of a $50 - $70 Umbrella but has everything to do with lying and thievery. We realise every HoJo location is independently owned and that HQ has little control over such matters but they clearly need to establish standards in this regard.

This single experience will prohibit us from ever using any HoJo property again in future.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    24
    17
    14
See reviews for
31
45
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was a bit worried about what to expect at this hotel given the ultra reasonable room rates, but there is no need to worry! The room was great - clean and spacious with comfortable beds. The washroom was spotless and appeared to be recently renovated. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was very good.

I recommend the Howard Johnson's if you are looking for good value for dollars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the motel - away from the main street through town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

When we booked the HJ Inn, we didn't expect much about it, since this hotel is a 2-stars hotel. We have been in 2-stars in the past (Super 8 Danbury, Super 8 Milford) so we kinda knew what 2-stars were about.

Overall, we were satisfied with this hotel. Although it is a "get to your room from outside" (with which type we had a bad experience), the room was alright. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The only negative point is the air conditioning, which took a bit long to refresh the room.

I believe everyone could find something they like in the free breakfast (yogourt, cereals, bread, apples, muffins, juice, coffee, tea, and even waffles you make yourself).

The hotel is well located, with 2 grocery stores nearby and a few restaurants around.

If I would return to Gananoque, I would not mind staying at the HJ Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

That is what I've always imagined an American Motel looked. I travel with my parents and my brother's family. My parents and me had a big room and beds.big bathroom and it was clean, so my brother's, but the room smelt awfully bad, so we asked to the reception to change it, and they did it straight away without problems. For Mia (my brother's dog) was great to have some parts around with grass.
The location was very convenient to do the "Thousand Islands cruise"
The breakfast was basic, but fine. They prepare by demand warm waffles.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The guest services at this accommodations was absolutely aweful. Even blamed the lack of preperation and failure to communicate between house keeping staff on me, the guest. The management proved no assistance/compensation for the multiple inconveniences. The Howard Johnson is an excellent company that is being poorly protrayed by this family owned and operated business.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We booked this motel via Hotwire after receiving a great rate ($75/night). The room is average to lower end and the bathroom is nothing special. The complimentary breakfast is also pretty lame. However it does host a decent outdoor pool which was great to use on a warm sunny day.

Overall if you're just looking for somewhere to sleep in Gananoque, the Ho-Jo was worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I just needed a few hours to sleep in the morning while I got some rest from working overnight. I was given a room and went and opened the door and it was a used room. The bed was not clean or made up. I went back to the front desk and they gave me a clean room right away. The new place was nice and clean. I thought it had a bit of a smoke smell. I was alowed to stay an hour past the check out time without a charge which was nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque

Address: 550 King St East, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H2 CA, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Gananoque
Gananoque Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.