We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our idea of a North American Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 King St East, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H2 CA, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Our idea of a North American Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

That is what I've always imagined an American Motel looked. I travel with my parents and my brother's family. My parents and me had a big room and beds.big bathroom and it was clean, so my brother's, but the room smelt awfully bad, so we asked to the reception to change it, and they did it straight away without problems. For Mia (my brother's dog) was great to have some parts around with grass.
The location was very convenient to do the "Thousand Islands cruise"
The breakfast was basic, but fine. They prepare by demand warm waffles.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    21
    15
    14
See reviews for
30
45
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The guest services at this accommodations was absolutely aweful. Even blamed the lack of preperation and failure to communicate between house keeping staff on me, the guest. The management proved no assistance/compensation for the multiple inconveniences. The Howard Johnson is an excellent company that is being poorly protrayed by this family owned and operated business.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We booked this motel via Hotwire after receiving a great rate ($75/night). The room is average to lower end and the bathroom is nothing special. The complimentary breakfast is also pretty lame. However it does host a decent outdoor pool which was great to use on a warm sunny day.

Overall if you're just looking for somewhere to sleep in Gananoque, the Ho-Jo was worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I just needed a few hours to sleep in the morning while I got some rest from working overnight. I was given a room and went and opened the door and it was a used room. The bed was not clean or made up. I went back to the front desk and they gave me a clean room right away. The new place was nice and clean. I thought it had a bit of a smoke smell. I was alowed to stay an hour past the check out time without a charge which was nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnprior, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We chose this hotel after our truck broke down on a Sunday night and the recovery truck we called towed us to his garage in Gananoque. This was the closest hotel within walking distance from the garage. We weren't expecting much after the day we had, so thought we would treat ourselves to the jacuzzi suite. Wow, what a time warp upon entering the room (see photos). The room was clean enough, although we had to walk across the parking lot, up two flights of narrow stairs, outside onto a balcony and then finally entered the room. Climbing the stairs there was a terrible smell, so it was a relief to walk outside on the balcony to our room. Needless to say, not a very accessible room for those with difficulty walking (and lugging a suitcase). The bed seemed clean and was comfy. I was unable to access the internet, even after calling the front desk for the password (I travel many weeks out of the year for business so am very familiar with various methods hotels use to access the internet). The toilet was not securely fastened to the floor, so you got some rocking motion! There was mold in the grout in between the tiles in the bathroom. There was a nice flat screen TV on the wall, however it did not swivel or adjust for different viewing angles, so unless you were sitting on the bed, you couldn't really see the TV. Happened to look down by one of the chairs and discovered the remainders of someone's party...not sure how long they had been there! We were overcharged ($149 yikes!) for the time of year, and did not have access to the pool (closed) or offered any breakfast. We saw one other car in the parking lot that night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is the third time over the last 4 years I've stayed here, always in October in off-price season.

I've left a positive review before and gladly repeat it. The motel is a resurrected motor inn where you park in front of your door. The rooms are very clean, including the carpet and especially the bathroom. The TV is a large flat screen on the wall. The beds are firm and comfortable.

I have seen the negative reviews and don't understand them. I suspect they are from competitors. I can honestly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

A friend and I were traveling across canada on vacation. We chose the Hotel from a list we seen online. We were not disappointed with anything about the place, it was clean and had easy access to the main roads. we stayed 2 nights and the price was a good value! I would reccomend this hotel to anyone! Our only downfall and it had nothing to do with the hotel was, we wanted to do a boat ride of the thousand islands but we came to late in the year. The canandian side shuts down rides after labor day. We travelled back into the US and took Uncle Sams tour of the islands, which was wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque

Address: 550 King St East, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H2 CA, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Gananoque
Gananoque Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.