We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Au Manoir de la rue Merry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Au Manoir de la rue Merry to your Saves list
Au Manoir de la rue Merry
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   92 Merry Sud, Magog, Quebec J1X 3L3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Magog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We knew nothing of Magog until we started planning a trip from Boston to Quebec City/Baie St. Paul. Magog seemed to be a good halfway point between Boston and Baie St. Paul, so I found Au Manoir de la rue Merry on Booking.com. It had great reviews, and the price was reasonable! We left Boston, expecting to make it to Magog by dinnertime. Unfortunately, we were in stop and go traffic out of Boston, which doubled our travel time. We didn't arrive until after 9pm, but we called ahead to let the owners know we'd be late. One of the owners met us upon arrival and was friendly, and spoke mostly French. My 7 years of French in American public schools didn't serve me well, but we managed to figure out where we could get a late night dinner. Hungry after the long drive, we found a restaurant nearby within walking distance, and commented on how much we love the fact that Canadians always serve mayonnaise or some kind of aioli with their fries...but I digress. Our room was fitted with its own tiny bathroom and shower, had wine glasses for our bottle of wine we brought back from the restaurant, and chocolates. The rooms were cozy and the beds comfortable. They also have a pool. Breakfast was out of this world, with a variety of fruits and berries, strong coffee, juice, and egg souffle. We took some time in the morning to walk around Magog, which was a charming, beautiful area on Lake Memphremagog. Magog and Au Manoir was such a pleasant surprise and a perfect place from which to launch to our next destination on our 1 year wedding anniversary trip: Quebec City and Baie St. Paul!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
110
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location downtown Magog within walkable distance to main street and its shops and restaurants. Rooms are charming and comfortable. Wonderful breakfast with lots of exotic fruits. Would definitely return and send friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very clean ~1900 house with appropriate legacy decoration. Very nice and accommodating owners (Benjamin and Caroline), with their adorable little girl Zoé. Perfect breakfast as for quality, diversity and quantity. What more can you ask for ?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Benjamin greeted us warmly on our arrival and showed us to our charming, spotless room. He filled us in on local attractions and gave what turned out to be excellent recommendations for restaurants within walking distance. Our room was quiet and comfortable. In the morning his charming wife, Caroline, served us the most beautiful breakfast we have ever had—and it tasted as good as it looked. We weren’t hungry again until mid-afternoon. Each of the three breakfasts we had at the Manoir was as good as or better than the one before. Magnifique! All of the shops we needed were within a ten-minute walk. We also enjoyed a very pleasant marshland walk on the outskirts of town. Driving around the quaint little villages nearby, we were enchanted by the rolling, forested farmlands, the fromagerie that supplied our breakfast cheese, the orchards where we picked apples, and the Abbey of St. Benoit (which features Gregorian chanting and homemade cheese and chocolate). The young couple has only been running this B & B for a few months, but it’s hard to imagine how they could improve the ambiance. We can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were at Benjamin and Caroline' s B+B for a week this August for the Canada Games. It was wonderful! Fantastic breakfast each morning; rooms spotless at the end of each day and conveniently located to nearby restaurants and shopping. The region is very interesting with Orford national park and tons of cycling and hiking trails nearby. The pool was waiting for us on hot days to cool off before the evenings activities. I imagine the Fall period would be spectacular. We also took the Orford express train for a special day out with a gourmet meal and rail tour of the region. We would highly recommend Au Manoir Merry!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manoir_Merry, Propriétaire at Au Manoir de la rue Merry, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
It was a pleasure for us. Thanks for the encouragement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Benjamin and Caroline have owned this B and B for about seven months. They have a spotless, beautiful inn located about a five minute walk from downtown so convenient yet quiet. We stayed twice in two different rooms and loved them both. Breakfasts are generous and beautifully presented. The pool and backyard is also nice. They are a young couple trying so hard and very eager to do a nice job. Benjamin even drove us to the bus. Stay here if they have availability. We had a blast in Magog.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noyan, Que
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and we were completely blown away. It was like staying in a Hilton but in the format of a B&B right in the middle of Magog. The rooms were exceptionally immaculate and super comfortable. The Hosts Benjamin and Caroline were beyond amazing, the nicest people we've ever meet in B&B. And the breakfast? OMG Its a gourmet experience in itself, truly out of this world. I thought they had celeb chef cooking for them but no they do it themselves!!!

We are definitely going back this winter for skiing and have already booked our return to this lovely little treasure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Au Manoir de la rue Merry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Manoir de la rue Merry

Address: 92 Merry Sud, Magog, Quebec J1X 3L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Magog
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Magog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Au Manoir de la rue Merry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Agricotour's 2005 Provincial Excellence-Achievement Award. Also included in the 2007 Art of Living in Quebec's annual guide of best choices under distinctive lodging the Manoir de la rue Merry and its thoughtful hosts welcome you into a warm quiet ancestral house that is furnished accordingly. You will be surprised by our magnificent environment surrounded by scenery of mountains and lakes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Au Manoir de la rue Merry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Manoir De La Rue Merry Magog, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Manoir de la rue Merry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.