We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only option for sushi in Magog but very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Shop

Sushi Shop
366, rue Principale Ouest, Magog, Quebec J1X 2A9, Canada
819 843 8805
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 100 Restaurants in Magog
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only option for sushi in Magog but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Don't expect to get the top sushi restaurant but our sushi were delicately prepared and were tasteful. We like to order on the spot and avoid the already prepared one that are sitting in their fridge, so we order ours but waited for 45min. On vacation, away from our day to day, ordered a beer while waiting for it before getting back to our condo, alright with me. Quality of it was good and I would not hesitate to go back next time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“They call this Sushi?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have to say, this was one of the worst experiences for us, in a town known for its food, and warmth from people you pass on the street. The Sushi is not correctly prepared, as the people that make it are not trained. They don’t know how to cut and prepare fish for sushi. We went excited to eat what we thought was going to be delicious sushi, based on their website. We walked in and asked how we order, as we frequent Sushi Restaurants, we love our sushi. We were informed that we should just take the pre-packaged sushi in the fridge, as it was fresh, just like what they sell in the supermarkets, onl;y not as good. We did, and decided to add Miso Soup, and hand rolls, which they prepared for us. When they arrived with the soup and hand rolls, I was shocked to see how they hacked the fish. The cucumber that was supposed to look artistic, was aweful, the chunk of Salmon was soggy , the seaweed was soggy. The result was sorely lacking what should have been delicious. Service was poor, as we were made to feel like we were disturbing them from their work. In all the years I have visited, and eaten at local establishments, as my wife is local, we have never been so poorly treated. The attitude was evident, and the food was disgusting. If people are to believe this is Sushi, they will be disappointed. Let’s see how long they stay, as business in Magog is based on good food and friendly attitude, joie de vivre It's a pity that they don't have negative points, as they don't merit any.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Top Contributor
609 reviews 609 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
“Best in Magog? The only one actually”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a rather low-end sushi place but it is unfortunately the only sushi restaurant left in Magog. The one good thing is that you can call in your order and pick it up later. Nothing to write home about when it comes to sushi.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Best Sushi in Magog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This place is the best place to eat sushi in Magog. Don’t be fooled by its size, although it is small it is always bustling with people. I suggest trying some of their innovative rolls like the cyclone or the volcano. Mmm the volcano it’s my new addiction! I have always been well served here!

Warning: It may be hard to find a place to sit during lunch.

Awesome: The Volcano!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Shop also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.