We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for Relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Auberge du Grand Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Auberge du Grand Lac to your Saves list
Hotel Auberge du Grand Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40, Merry Street South, Magog, Quebec J1X 3L1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Magog
Brossard, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good place for Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Last weekend, came to Magog with my family for relaxation and I found this hotel was perfect for that. First of all, its location is very suitable for family like us. A park by the lake is just in front of the hotel with many seats and tables for seniors taking a rest, people can fish on the deck, and kids enjoy their play ground. Good western breakfast and having delicious Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner. Chatted with the hotel staff, they can provide some suggestions on the food and good places to go.
There a very clean McDonald and a boat club just in front of the hotel and many other restaurants nearby.
Five minutes driving, we reached The Cherry River Marsh, the most important wetland. It is also a site that is growing in popularity as a place to walk and to appreciate the beauties of nature. After September 16th, some leave tuning to brown, yellow, and red. We reached there around 11:00AM, no single mosquito was found. We had a bad experience of driving by a bunch of mosquitoes in a national park.
It is not very luxury hotels, but it is reasonable and worthy to go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
16
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Good location - friendly staff especially Nathalie at reception- but rooms do not have windows that open-although it is on a main intersection and can be noisy- there are several hotels that face the lac directly or are in a quieter location-

Room Tip: Do not get the room facing Mc Donald-although the other side faces the parking it is much sunnier an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriola Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Just finished a bicycle tour through the Eastern Townships, this hotel worked perfectly for our group, staff was friendly and very accommodating, great location by the lake, perfect location to explore the region by bicycle, stayed two nights but next time we'll stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe Claire, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

The Auberge du Grand Lac offered me the best few nights of my life. I've never been able to sleep with more peace and tranquility in my entire life; not to mention those who worked there were incredibly friendly and made sure every one of my needs were met with speed and efficiency. There wasn't a single worry in my mind and whenever I get the chance to go back I'm taking it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stayed Sep/25, 2010. The breakfast is good and the staff is nice, but one thing happened and that scared us.
At 4:00am in the morning, somebody knocked the door of my room. I saw there two men in the hall way through the hole, one standing and the other one lying on the floor. Obviously, they were drunk. A man kept knocking the door and the other one were shouting. They speak Franch and I can speak English only. So I was not able to let him know he was doing something wrong. I had to call the front desk for help to stop this. The drunk man lying on the floor until 5:00am. This made my wife and my daughter scared and we could not sleep again since then. Horrible night !. Although the front desk staff said sorry to us after we complained this when checking out, it's not worth stay a night at cost $178 + tax with very pooooooor sleep quality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stayed 2 nights during the New Year holidays. We are satisfied of this excellent location: Every thing including Magog's famous shopping street is just a couple of minutes away. The room was big and clean. The staff were warm and friendly. The breakfast was delicious. Great experience!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTREAL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Came to Magog for a week of relaxation and I found this hotel was perfect for that. First of all, its location is very suitable for seniors like us. The park is just in front of the hotel. We enjoyed the breakfast and the small chats we had with the hotel staff. For sure, it is not very luxurous hotel, but for us, the value is reasonable and worthy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Auberge du Grand Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auberge du Grand Lac

Address: 40, Merry Street South, Magog, Quebec J1X 3L1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Magog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Magog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Auberge du Grand Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended Hotel....Begin your journey into the Eastern Townships at hotel Auberge du Grand Lac. Fashioned in the style of a European hotel, it is positioned at the hub of the Eastern Townships in the charming town of Magog. Guests benefit from its unique downtown location steps from the beach of Lake Memphremagog, marinas and from the main street where sophisticated boutiques and restaurants abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Auberge du Grand Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Grand Lac Hotel Magog
Auberge Hotel Magog
Hotel Auberge Du Grand Lac Magog, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Auberge du Grand Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.