We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Blend of Hospitality, Ambience, and Gastric Delights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison de Ville - bed & bistro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison de Ville - bed & bistro
Save
You added La Maison de Ville - bed & bistro to your Saves list
353 rue St-Patrice Ouest, Magog, Quebec J1X 1W7 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Magog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superior Blend of Hospitality, Ambience, and Gastric Delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

A warm and welcoming host. Bring your own wine to accompany a four-course dinner highlighting foods from local farms and producers. The B&B was very receptive to accommodating potential guest allergies and food preferences. Dinner alone, at $25 per person, in the charming bistro next to a roaring fire is reason enough to visit the Eastern Townships again this winter. Breakfast was another multi-course affair of generous proportions. Our room was clean, beautifully decorated, and the rooms have individual climate controls. I would have preferred incandescent light bulbs to the compact flourescent bulbs. Staying at this B&B made our one-night turn-around trip to pick up our new puppy in a nearby township a memorable holiday. The only place I will stay upon returning for more exploration o the Eastern Townships.

Room Tip: Terrific old tub in "La Troisieme" Bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
37
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The weather could have been better but discovering this nice B&B was great. We had a wonderful dinner on arrival and very tasty breakfast the next morning. Hosts make you feel welcome. Their home is very clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Nice place to stay for the weekend. We had the blue room which was small but practical. Comfy bed-clean and small shower room. Perfect for our needs. Used local artisan soap-which was a nice touch. We visited the place afterwards as we so impressed and brought some home to remind us of the trip. Breakfast was interesting mix of flavours and far from the ordinary. A lot of thought had gone into its preparation and presentation. Anything negative...There was a crack in one of the panes of glass in the room and also in the sink in the bedroom but everything else was well above average and tbh that did not bother us in any way.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Very cute but small room without even a tiny table to write on and only one chair; extremely small bathroom and shower; strange breakfasts with the same kind of eggs every morning; excellent dinner on the premises but a bit too expensive (50 $ can.) and MUCH TOO LATE; room clim a bit noisy but at least masks street noises (why open a B& B on such a busy street) and finally, for the rather high price, there is NO daily room change of towels nor bed being done

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We would like to recommend this very good B&B in Magog, where we spent a night. We received a very warm welcome from the owner. The room was clean and very nicely decorated (so were the other ones we peaked in..), and the breakfast was absolutely delicious - easily qualifiable as gourmet. Overall an excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We stayed at Maison Du Ville for two nights which we booked before we left. As we arrived Martin showed us around the entire house was beautifully decorated and our room was no exception.

On our first evening we just looked around Magog and went out for dinner. At breakfast the following morning we met Simon who was preparing breakfast.
It was absolutely incredible on both mornings, with perfect presentation and a delicious mixture of ingredients making fabulously tasting breakfasts. In fact they have since inspired us to be more creative when it comes to our morning meals!

Both Simon and Martin we extremely friendly and hospitable at all times and they even went as far a booking a restaurant for our final night there at a recommended fondue restaurant, Fondissimo. After request further information on a local vineyard that we wanted to visit, Simon advised us that there was in fact a wine festival going on in the town that afternoon and instead we should go there. We had a brilliant afternoon tasting wines from all over Canada.

All in all we had an amazing stay at La Maison Du Ville and it is no wonder that it is the top B&B in Magog. If we are ever back in the area, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

We visited the Estrie region over the long weekend in September and had a great time. We especially enjoyed staying at la Maison de Ville! Martin and Simon are such friendly and accommodating hosts and made us feel very welcome. The interior designer, Martin, did a terrific job with the decor. Very modern, chic, and warm at the same time.
And the food by chef Simon! It was even better than we had imagined after reading all the reviews and seeing the photos on their website. The quality rivaled high-end restaurants in NY, for a fraction of the price, and with such personal and attentive (and yet unobtrusive) service.
We had to leave very early in the morning and fully expected to just have some packed bread or something to take with us. But instead, they offered to get up early and cooked a wonderful warm breakfast for us!
We had an absolutely fantastic time, and will definitely stay at the Maison again when we return to the region (hopefully soon).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison de Ville - bed & bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Ville - bed & bistro

Address: 353 rue St-Patrice Ouest, Magog, Quebec J1X 1W7 , Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Magog
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Magog
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Magog, La Maison de Ville bed & bistro is a charming B&B. Gourmet-breakfast and dinner are swerved in the exclusive bistro! Bring your wine formula! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Maison De Ville - Bed & Bistro Magog, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison de Ville - bed & bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.