We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Chantecler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Chantecler to your Saves list
Hotel Le Chantecler
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1474 Chemin Chantecler | Autoroute 15 nord, exit 67, Sainte-Adele, Quebec J8B 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Sainte-Adele
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Time...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

we booked this hotel for two couples with Children and we had a fantastic week-end. The staff was helpfull, the scenery is amazing and the whole family enjoyed the beach. We were able to fish, pedalboat, and just relax while the kids enjoyed the lifuguarded lake.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    52
    78
    73
    59
See reviews for
95
114
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I liked it here, extremely relaxing, peaceful and a great place to unwind. The room was fine, no complaints, very economical. Food was good in the main restaurant, however, wished there was more of a choice for the Saturday night, the buffet was $33...however, there is a little town nearby with restaurants. The bed was firm and I didn't hear anything from the other rooms. Enjoyed swimming and paddle boating. Great getaway and would do it again. Only complaint was they had no fireworks on Canada Day..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belsab, Executive assistant to management at Hotel Le Chantecler, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Lonlac,

We highly appreciate your kind comments and are really glad to know that you plan to return to the Chantecler. It will be an honour for us to welcome you back!

Best regards
Sabrina Belkacem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Beautiful location, and could be something really special. Unfortunately there doesn't seem much desire to make it so.

- Dated decor. Old TV in the room (ok, you don't go there for TV, but when your 2 year old naps in the afternoon, it's useful to have a decent TV).
- rusty water fountain in the gym
- cracked tiles in the bathroom
- difficult to find vending machines (we had one for chocolate on our floor. The floor above had one for soft drinks, but no water. Ended up paying $3 for a bottled water at the bar, then got stared down by the bar staff because I was reluctant to leave a tip!)
- poor menu. For the amount of kids there, it's amazing they have no kids menu
- I used the bathrooms in the lobby at about 3pm, and there were a couple of empty beer bottles left next to the hand basin. When I used it again at 8:30pm, they were still there.
- and, the bar staff. Very poor service and attitude. They look as if they're serving some kind of jail term. Very unwelcoming.


.... all this leaves you a little disappointed.

Finally, we had a coupon for the breakfast buffet, and thank heavens we did, because I would feel seriously duped if I had to pay for the runny scrambled eggs, burnt french toast, and undercooked bacon. I LOVE breakfast food like this, and I left mine.

With some care, this could be a great place. Unfortunately care doesn't seem apparent. Luckily, we had a hot weekend, and our young son had a blast on the small beach.

My advice - don't expect to be overly welcomed. Enjoy the beach. Eat somewhere else. And don't stay here if you have any mobility problems. There are a bunch of stairs or a steep hill from the car park to the hotel entrance, and it's a real trek up and down to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belsab, Executive assistant to management at Hotel Le Chantecler, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear Fobba,

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed. This kind of situations do not reflect our standards of lodging, please accept our sincere apologies.
We will investigate on the matter.

Kind regards
Sabrina Belkacem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Only stayed here one night, and honestly it worked for us(2 adults, 2 children aged 8 & 12) as we went sking the whole day. When we got back we used most of the facilities and made the best of them; the hot tub(indoor), kids went for a swim(indoor pool) and then back to our room for a shower before heading out for supper. Got back, went to the bar to watch the Habs kick some Boston Bruins butt while the kids had fun next door in the game room.

Our room was in the 'Hotel' section of the Chantecler. Room was small, 2 twin beds with hardly any space in front or between the beds, small tv and a dresser - but room was clean. Bathroom very basic, with original toilet, tub, sink - water pressure & hot water were good and bathroom was clean despite its aged look. Breakfast was disappointing for a full american breakfast buffet, they had pretty much everything but the QUALITY just wasn't there.

The indoor pool area is very dated and chlorine prescence is very high, we did notice the lifeguard doing his water quality test which is always a good thing :) The hot tub itself seems new with space for maybe 8 adults and is located a few steps up from the pool. The gym, they took one of the two raquetball courts and filled with good(but old) workout equipment, must have been at least 8 different machines in there - hate to repeat myself but again looks very dated. The gaming area has a few video games, pool table, foozball and an air hockey table...but no TV so you have to go back to your lovely room or next door to the bar to catch the game.

Bottom line, you get what you pay for. You can't expect to pay under $200 for a family of 4 (including breakfast for 4 and 4 ski lift tickets) and have a 5 star experience. This hotel is rated as a 4 star hotel but is truly a 3 star. It has LOTS of potentail but needs an EXTREME make over, from the lobby, to the rooms, the gym & pool area to the restaurant. Would I go back.....for the same price...yeah.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belsab, Executive assistant to management at Hotel Le Chantecler, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Dear jvalente_ca,

We are glad to know that you would stay in our hotel again. We thank you for all the positive points you brought up and we apologise for the inconveniences. All your comments have been noted for a follow up.

Kindest regards
Sabrina Belkacem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I have paid 60$ per night for 4 days. At this price, difficult to complain for an hotel that has a swimming pool, a full service restaurant, a nice localization in the mountain BUT...
The bathroom needed some renovation with black silicone around the bath,
The pool area had a lot of missing tiles, black silicone, brown spots...
The cinema for the children was on a 27" tv...
The 4 stars restaurant "Tri monti" was rougly a 1-2 star. Only perfect to serve food for a 50th anniversary party...
For 60$, great value, for 125$, forget about it !
(sorry, I'm French)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway. Although the location is quaint and the surroundings were beautiful, our room had no curtains to draw closed. As a result we were awoken at 7 am with piercing sunlight (not the sleeping in we had looked forward to). We ordered room service and the french onion soup was okay but the nachos were inedible. The chips were so salty we wondered if the chef had ever tried them himself. Yuck. Aside from that it was an average stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Hubert (Longueuil), Quebec
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I went for St-Valentin for one night Feb 12, 2011 and we really thought it was suppose to be a special time for St-Valentin's. It sure sounded promising on the Internet ... Vin Mousseaux et cadeau surprise à la chambre (What a joke!!!!). Two pieces of chocalate and no Vin Mousseaux in the room, I even looked in the small fridge and nothing..... The menu for supper seemed very good but don't get fooled they seem to cook their food even the meat in advance and they don't even bother asking you how you want your filet mignon cooked! You certaintly don't get what you pay for!!! We ordered the Filet Mignon and Crevette which means you only get "ONE" Crevette, not two or three just ONE. Also the Vin Mousseaux is not "à la chambre" but one small glass before supper.

We thought we were going to have a "Pièce de Théatre" during dinner but finally it was two people singning Opera which was quite boring..... and they could not even sing well. The Dining area looked promising on the Internet but in fact it feels like we were in a large cafeteria.

All in all, this place is a total rip off ...... I will never never go back there and get ripped of $400.00 for one night of pure hell again!!!!!

I definetely don't recommend this place unless of course you don't care spending your money and getting ripped off.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Chantecler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Chantecler

Address: 1474 Chemin Chantecler | Autoroute 15 nord, exit 67, Sainte-Adele, Quebec J8B 1A2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sainte-Adele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Sainte-Adele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Chantecler 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Chantecler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chantecler Hotel
Le Chantecler Sainte Adele
Hotel Le Chantecler Sainte-Adele, Quebec, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Chantecler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.