We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Inn @ Great Ouseburn - CLOSED

The Crown Inn @ Great Ouseburn
Main Street | York, Great Ouseburn YO26 9RF, England
+44 1423 330013
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had Sunday lunch today . Wonderful friendly service. Excellent food beautifully presented. I had pate and roast beef beautifully cooked . Will be back and telling everyone about it many thanks

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely food reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time in the last few weeks (sorry crown inn I think we may have been the noisy family group in the conservatory).

Lovely food, well presented and very tasty. Also nothing is as it seams ie fish fingers on the kids menu are home made with cod and battered, lovely. So don't be put off by "pie and chips" this will be the nicest pie and chips ever!

The early bird menu is good, with big portions, the Sunday lunch menu is also well presented hot and tasty.

The drinks price is not too bad and are regular pub prices, thus allowing a combination of pub priced drinks with restaurant price (and standard) of food.

A place to watch in the future, I think you'll always need to book soon.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited the crown on Sunday for lunch after hearing the pub was now under new ownership, I must say it was one of the best meals I have had in a pub/restaurant in a long time! The sirloin of beef was perfect and cooked to perfection nice and pink and my wife had the roast pork which was nice and moist!

The pub looks really good with its fresh decoration, friendly and helpful staff! Will definitely return and try the tempting a la carte menu!

I would defiantly recommend the Crown

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We called in on the of chance we could be squeezed in for a meal, expecting it to be busy for sunday lunch time there was plenty of empty tables and we were placed in the conservatory, which was very noisy and we struggled to chat due to 2 noisy family groups which appeared to be shouting over each other once they left it was lovely and quiet and we were able to chat.

The food, sunday roast I had was of a small portion 2slices of meat, half a yorkshire pudding 3 very small roasties and a small portion of veg which was 4 tiny carrots 1 small piece of broccoli and 1 of cauliflower thick strong gravy all for just under £13 not worth the price at all, my husband had the fish and chips which was huge and he enjoyed it, the batter was well cooked and crispy. I cant recall the price

Would we return? well possibly to sample the early bird menu but if its got large groups in, no.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrownInnGO, Manager at The Crown Inn @ Great Ouseburn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that your recent visit was unsatisfactory. Unfortunately we are a family friendly establishment and there is nothing we can do to keep small children from playing, and families from enjoying themselves. We have four different dining rooms available and customers can choose to sit in any of these rooms.

We consider our food to be very good value for money, customers are always asked by the waiting staff if there is anything else that they can get for them, such as more vegetables or roast potatoes.

We hope that you will return and give our excellent Early Bird Menu a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKSHIRE
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“What's happened?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Used to go here regularly a few years ago and it was always heaving on Sundays, struggled to get in, but worth it as food and staff were very good, didn't realise it had recently been taken over- didn't recognise the place, it was ok looking but empty on a sunday lunch time?? wish we hadn't booked so we could have walked out- we were in the conservatory area where there was a couple of families with small children, the room made their voices carry immensely- hardly relaxing!
We considered the food overpriced as there was hardly any meat or gravy, the veg were very noticeably microwaved and the Yorkshire pud could be bounced off the wall! VERY disappointing - won't be returning

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCrownInnGO, Manager at The Crown Inn @ Great Ouseburn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that your recent visit was unsatisfactory. Unfortunately we are a family friendly establishment and there is nothing we can do to keep small children from playing, and families from enjoying themselves. We have four different dining rooms available and customers can choose to sit in any of these rooms.

We consider our food to be very good value for money, customers are always asked by the waiting staff if there is anything else that they can get for them, such as more gravy. We can assure you that our vegetables are certainly not microwaved and are cooked freshly each day.

We hope that you will return to sample one of our other menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn @ Great Ouseburn also viewed

 
Colton, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Inn @ Great Ouseburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.