We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanwana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amanwana to your Saves list
Amanwana
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Moyo Island 84301, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moyo Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic time at this resort. Tent - well room with a canvas roof was very spacious and well laid out - with excellent views of the sunset and the bay. The food in the restaurant had a decent selection to choose from each night and the quality was excellent. The bar / restaurant was also a great place to unwind after a day of watersports and diving - and to watch the native wildlife. Wild deer were seen coming down to say hello and get some fresh apple and lots of monkeys could also be seen along with monitor lizards etc.,
We completed our practical PADI open water dive course under the excellent instruction of Steve Stride - the diving was excellent and we saw thousands of fish in crystal clear water.
I would also like to mention the staff - and they were brilliant - very attentive but not too intrusive.
If you are looking for a relaxing 6 star experience - i would highly rate the Amanwana resort.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    8
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
54
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I love staying in luxury tents. This remote luxury tented camp on Moyo island, Indonesia is one of my favorite places in the world. You take a short 45 min- 1 hr. sea plane flight from Bali over the island of Lombok and the volcano and land on the sea pulling up to the dock at Amanwana. What a way to arrive. (sea plane flights don't operate every day)
The restaurant was excellent with a wonderful chef, the fresh delicious menu changed daily, there is also a small bar overlooking the beach, great sunsets! Activities include hiking trails, mountain bikes, kayaking, sailing, snorkeling, scuba diving with a dive master on property. I was able to get my advance open water dive certification while there. Excellent diving or snorkeling right off the beach. The pool was backed by a rock wall and right on the sea. I love the casual nature setting in a luxury property. The property has day trips by boat and jeep to the local village it shares the island with and also visit the waterfalls with a hike.

There is also some wildlife there…watch out for the monkeys! :)

Room Tip: There are beach tents or jungle tents. The jungle tents are facing the sea on the other side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Amanwana is nature meet a great view. The located is in the middle of jungle, so you don't be worry if you will find some monkey, snake, big ants, and some small insects. If you lucky, every night beside on the restaurant, the deers will came to you looking some grass.
In the Amanwana, you will find the two kind room, ocean tent and jungle tent. Jungle tent is the best one, because you can directly feels the beach also the sunset.
The activity you can find in Amanwana are diving, snorkeling, kayaking, trekking, and other beach activity. One of the most popular in Amanwana is the waterfall. The waterfall caled Matajitu waterfall and located in Labuanaji village, you can took 15minutes go there with a small boat. It was a great waterfall, and the water is clearly and cool.
The staffs are very welcome, and nice. They use sarong for the uniform, and it is nice.
Every morning the chef made nasi goreng ayam for my breakfast, and I like it very much.

Room Tip: Stay at ocean tent for the best sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We come in Pulau Moyo since 2005 and every august we come back in the nicest resort in Indonesia. If you want to stay in touch with a great nature, wonderful people, have great diving/snorkelling and fishing this is the place for you.
Obviously you can find monkeys, deers, insects or small snakes, but after all you are in the middle of a jungle, so do not care for some ants .... just use some spray on them.
The resort and the food is improving year after year and GM Livio is making a great work for the refurbishment of tents, beach and garden.
The resort has a great house reef and if you want to have a private beach all for yourself you can go to a wonderful beach drop off with a 10 minutes boat ride.
If you like to trek there is a nice ridge walk of 45 minutes or a longer 3 hours bat cave with interesting small pythons inside.
A good experience is to have a massage in the Spa in front of the sea, where at sunset large groups of monkeys aggregate.
Even during high season you do not feel the resort very crowdy as there are so many activities to do.
It's a real paradise for the adults and the young ones !

Silvia & Fabrizio

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have now stayed at most of the original Aman resorts including all the ones in Bali. I have even skied at Amangani which I rate as one of the best ski hotels in the world (read my report). When I was in Northern India, I visit the Aman for tiger viewing and it was unique too, like most Amans.

However, this Aman is a touch disappointing. Here is my rating in bullet point form so you don't waste time and make the right decision to spend your hard-earned savings:

a) Accommodation: tents are spacious for tents. But they are dated and need refurbishment/replacement. Canopies are worn and interiors are dated. What is worst is that there were all varieties of insects especially large ants that enjoyed sharing our bed at night.. if you detest creepy crawlies, this isn't your type of resort!

b) Food: good but nothing special. The chef tried his best to cover all tastes and was v nice. But nothing that stuck out and booze was the typical high prices.

c) Recreation: I know there is an Aman boat you can enjoy but apart from that, there's really not much to do here. There is a small beach and pool area (where you can have nice lunches) but apart from that, that's it! Having said that, some people like doing nada so if that's you, then enjoy the solitude and peace...

d) Service: this was good as for all Aman resorts. Staff try their hardest to keep things clean though this is naturally a challenge in this jungle outpost!

Overall, this was a pretty unimpressive resort. It's quaint but should be part of a longer trip where you can also stay at one of the fantastic Amans in Bali. Also, don't come in winter time when it's cloudy every day and is constantly raining. That will make this location pointless..

Personally, I prefer Amanpulo in the Philippines which is spectacular and truly benefits from it's secluded location. Go check that out as well as the alternatives in Bali..

Room Tip: If you really must come to stay here, then try to get a tent right by the beach..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

What a great boat! If you’re contemplating a luxurious cruise in an exotic locale, you can’t go wrong booking. The staff and accommodations are superb, the water is flat (I get seasick, so this is a blessing), and the diving, especially on the last day (if coming from Moyo) is unbelievably fantastic! You can dive as little or as much as you want. I dove non-stop and I took/passed the advanced diver course (courses are offered on the boat).

Attached are some pictures to help cast the flavor. I was on the Komodo itinerary. I saw one dragon, but it was at the village kitchen, not in the wild. Visiting Komodo Island is the equivalent of a visit to the villagers' botanical garden followed by a 100 meter dash through their knick knack dragon shopping gauntlet. If you specifically choose this itinerary to see dragons, prepare to be disappointed. If you choose this itinerary because you want to experience great diving, a great manta ray snorkel experience, and the potential to see dragons, come on board!

Thanks Gaz, the staff, Aman, and my friends for a great (and really fun) experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I was travelling with my son in late 2012, love the setting and the beach front tent room is unique setting. It's really a great experience to Visit Moyo Island, Choice of menu for Lunch or Dinner could be extend. otherwise Perfect.

Room Tip: Beach Front Tent room is recommeded
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanwana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanwana

Address: Moyo Island 84301, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Moyo Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moyo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanwana 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Amanwana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanwana Hotel Moyo Island
Amanwana Hotel Sumbawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanwana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.