We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amanwana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amanwana to your Saves list
Amanwana
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Moyo Island 84301, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moyo Island
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every day of the visit. The staff are so friendly, there is a lovely laid back feel to the place, and you really feel you're in the middle of nowhere. Great beach, snorkelling and diving. The waterfall trip was also enjoyable The restaurant service was sometimes a bit haphazard but nothing annoying. Honeycomb ice-cream was delicious. Found the tent to be well-appointed and not old or dated.

Room Tip: Beach front is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    6
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at Amanwana Moyo Island for 5 nights at the end of a 20 day tour through Bali and Indonesia.

The location of the resort is superb. From the moment you get on the sea plane you know you are going somewhere special. If remote seclusion is what you want then you will not be disappointed. However, the resort is a little let down by terribly slow service (especially at breakfast), slightly indifferent food and overall by a lack of attention to precise detail (especially in the cleaning of the tents). Don't get me wrong we had a great time here, but with all the natural advantages of its location you could not help but being a little frustrated by the fact that with a little more effort it could have been the best time. With a few minor tweaks the resort could be great but currently "resting a little on its laurels".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Unique resort in a singular - and given its remoteness - completely safe location.
Very friendly and motivated staff.
Splendid accommodation.
Abundant and fresh (own vegetable and herb garden) food.
More pastimes than we could fit in!

Great for honeymooners, families with kids (you will hardly get to see them as the staff really knows how to keep them busy and interested), stressed out couples who need to recharge their emotional batteries.

I can almost guarantee a positively memorable stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

fantastic hotel,
amazing spots for scuba diving with infinity of fishes and coral reef
Surprisingly at night we see dears running across the property
monkeys are friendly and aproach to ask for food
tents are confortable and very well decorated
Hotel manager is really friendly and kind
food is very well cooked with fresh ingredients
The walk through the island is really beautiful
Excursion to waterfalls is a must
we loved everything!

Room Tip: all rooms are good, if you have children choose one near to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful. So tranquil on all levels... We were here in honeymoon and stayed there for 3 days which was just perfect. Staff were attentive the whole time making it extremely enjoyable. Highly recommend it. Thank you everyone there.

Room Tip: We had one on the ocean with view. Great spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is my idea of "camping" -- huge, comfortable bed, a bathroom as big as my bedroom back home, a/c and wifi, coffee delivered to my porch so I can sip and watch the sun rise over the ocean a few feet in front of me. And monkeys frolicking on the tent tops. So peaceful, so remote, a true escape from wherever you've been. We stayed 3 nights but I could have happily stayed a week. Snorkling is outstanding right at the dock, and even better at the coral reef we boated to one day. For my husband's birthday, they arranged a private beach barbecue with chef and butler, a firepit and candles in the sand, the best meal we had the whole time, and a starry sky. Perfection. He was thrilled, and our friends and I will never forget Amanwana.

Room Tip: We were upgraded from jungle tent to beachfront tent because they weren't full. Both locations a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hardly could be considered camping but the tented resort of Amanwana is nonetheless a wonderful and unique experience. You are secluded on your own private island and are dotted on by the warm and friendly staff who almost feel like great friends and family. Everything was perfect from the private beach dinner to some of the most amazing diving I have ever done. This Aman is romantic and special. You are off the grid and living in paradise with a staff that truly cares about your enjoyment and happiness. I would not miss Moyo if you are in Indonesia and we felt sad leaving.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanwana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanwana

Address: Moyo Island 84301, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Moyo Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moyo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanwana 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Amanwana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanwana Hotel Moyo Island
Amanwana Hotel Sumbawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanwana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.