We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn to dive with Mark at Amanwana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanwana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amanwana to your Saves list
Amanwana
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Moyo Island 84301, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moyo Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Learn to dive with Mark at Amanwana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Despite the disappointment of not being able to take the float plane, our journey to Amanwana was a great experience. Having taken the small plane to Sumbawa, we were greeted at the airport by a lovely lady dressed in white, welcoming us and putting us on the shuttle bus to the harbour where we were welcomed onboard by the delightful 'Firman' with the words "Welcome to the jungle". On arrival at Moyo, we were looked after perfectly. We spent the most relaxing 3 days there, very romantic and extremely natural but with all the 5 star luxuries - beautiful tent, great food, service, Wildan was ever present and attentive to all our needs. The trip to 'Honeymoon Beach" was perfectly executed - just the 2 of us on a Robinson Crusoe island - heavenly! For me, the ultimate experience here was the diving - for someone who had nearly drowned at a very young age and who could not even get her face wet in the shower for 36 years, Mark the dive Master at Amanwana, managed in 2 days to enable me to overcome my fear of water and I completed a 'Discover Scuba Diving' course with him, diving to 9 metres for 43 minutes - truly amazing!!!! Thank you

Room Tip: Take an ocean tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    8
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
54
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
basel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

we had to book 2 nights at Amanwana to get on Amanikan. the 1st day we found totaly unmotivated personal at Amanwana and Service far beyond Amanresorts level which only changed upon the Arrival of the GM the 2nd day. therefore all our rating is for Amanikan only.
It's a beautiful ship, it has an amazing Crew and Manager. Food, Service and diving is one of the best you can find at sea. it has it's price but totaly worth it. despite the size of the ship you will always have your privacy. the Crew will find the best spots to dive or relax. Realy nothing they can do better and i hope for all future guest they can keep this very high Standard. Thank you to
the Crew and cruisemanager for this exceptional and memorable cruise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Bali
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a wonderful romantic time at Moyo resort. The resort is set in a beautiful location and you feel in touch with nature. Staff were very friendly, polite and willing to help in any way they could. All of the trips we did were very memorable - diving, waterfall, sunset cruise, dinner followed by a movie on the beach etc. The food was also excellent.
Amanwana Resort a great hidden gem in Indonesia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Amanwana was truly a magical experience and was one of our favorite Aman resorts. We went with our friends who had never before visited an Aman and they, too, were thrilled with their stay.

The tents offer every possible amenity including straw hats and bag and flip-flops and hit the perfect balance between luxury and practicality. The beds, pillows and linens were amazing, and the bathroom area ticked all the boxes.

The service went far beyond expectations in every way and our tents were serviced in one form or another at least four times a day! If you reserve an ocean tent (and I would definitely recommend you do) and like to be far away from the activity, request tent 22.

One of the highlights of our stay was the food --- breakfasts were amazing and, while we were usually too full for lunch, we did nibble one day and it was also terrific. Dinners were creative and delicious ---the only slip up was the fish one night. Wine and drinks are quite pricey but considering where you are, perhaps understandable.

Our floatplane trip in and out of Amanwana worked like a charm and added to the adventure and fun.

The staff was perfect --- kind, caring, and eager to help in any and every way possible.

Our massages and facials were fantastic, snorkeling was fun, and the dive class was instructive and gave our party a chance to try scuba diving. There are lots of other activities to be had, some are included in the rate, and some are not.

Amanjiwo in Java was also a fun experience. What made it so special was the staff ---especially General Manager Mark Swinton. What a team he has assembled.

The suites are large and beyond elegant. The private patios are huge and we wish we had booked a pool suite.

There were a couple of downsides to Amanjiwo, but they were relatively insignificant and didn’t greatly affect our stay.

We loved Borobudur, which is where Amanjiwo is located---especially the art, the people and the sights.

What helped make the whole Aman experience easy, worry free, and totally enjoyable before we even got there was our Aman agent, Sachin Coomaraswamy, whose patience, professionalism, knowledge and understanding were exceptional and for that we were very grateful.

As always, Aman did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Tent 22. Because the tents are a bit close together, this tent only has a neighbor on one side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We loved the diving and the dive shop at the Amanwana. In fact, the entire staff was wonderful. My wife had been injured and she was given alot of TLC by the Aman nurse. Tented rooms were luxurious. Nothing but good things to say. PT

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Ct
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We love staying in Aman hotels. We were very excited to be going to Moyo Island. Our entire vacation was planned around the "float plane" schedule. The day before the hotel called to say there was no float plane (either way)
Hotel was not well maintained. Trekking paths not cleared. Many parts of resort were closed (no trip to waterfall). Our package included 2 dives, but even though the hotel was only at 50% capacity, they could only accomodate one dive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went there for a couple days to enjoy the ocean and that is exactly what we got!
Although small and nothing much on the island, they have excellent things to do... you can go hiking to the waterfalls, snorkling is beautiful (you can get to see so many things it's amazing... my 4 year old son learn to snorkle while there because he was so intrigued by the underwater creatures), fishing, feeding the fishes and offcourse, go on Amanikan.

There is a boarding fee per person which includes all your food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) because keep in mind that you are in a secluded place and there's no other restaurant except the one in the hotel. The french toast with moyo honey is amazing... and don't forget to taste the honey comb ice cream (I can still taste it now while writing this).

The service, like most Aman, is impeccable. The staff at the dock was really nice.... he taught my nanny to swim!! They were accommodating... every time my son wanted to feed the fishes around the dock, they would run and get the food for the fishes. They clean all your snorkling gears and store them for you so that when you are ready for another round, they're all clean and ready to use.

The waterfall was also an amazing experience. It's clean and a fun drive in an old safari car where it will drop you off so that you don't have to hike the whole way.

Getting there is a bit of a hassle but after getting there, you might not want to leave --until you get bored that is because really, there's only so much quietness you can absorb.

Room Tip: Get rooms closer to the main lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanwana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanwana

Address: Moyo Island 84301, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Moyo Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moyo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanwana 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Amanwana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanwana Hotel Moyo Island
Amanwana Hotel Sumbawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanwana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.