We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel AL 2000

Save Saved
You added Hotel AL 2000 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel AL 2000
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Felline, 73040 Racale, Italy (Formerly Hotel Al Duemila)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Racale
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Better than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Having read some mixed reviews we didn't know what to expect but had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

The hotel is isolated and if you are travelling without a car you are reliant on the owners to ferry you around which they do without any fuss. The nearest place is about a 15-20 minute walk along a goat track but it is worth going to for a meal (and if you need a supermarket).

There is a very large reception area which is comfortable if you need to come in out of the heat. The bar is in the same area so you dont have to go too far!

We had an extremely large triple room with a fair-sized bathroom (plumbing was rather ineffienct but that was our only misgiving). Dont expect to be able to get any English channels on the tv but you dont really go on holiday to watch television. We had the added bonus of a fridge in our room but not all rooms had one. There are two floors and our room was on the second floor - no lift and so if you have mobility problems the stairs may be an issue.

The owners were happy to cater for our vegetarian diets. The food was good and plentiful. Breakfast however was a little on the boring side- again not a big issue.

The owners and all the staff are very welcoming and helpful and there is a very relaxed atmosphere in the hotel.

The swimming pool is large - some of the sunbeds could be replaced though - but often we had sole use of the pool. Pool towels are not provided so do take your own.

There was no evening entertainment at all. So if you need to be entertained this wont be the hotel for you but if you like peace and quiet it will suit.

We would return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    6
    10
    7
See reviews for
24
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

The night before our departure we decided to read reviews of this hotel . We were surprised at some of the poor reviews as we were using Page and Moy, a very reputable tour operator. We decided to keep an open mind although we were a little apprehensive.
We were delighted to find as follows.
We had a largish room with a corresponding bathroom and a more than adequate shower. The bed was comfortable, the furnishings simple, as Page and Moy had stated, and the air conditioning just about coped despite temperatures in excess of 40 degrees C.
On arrival we were given a welcome drink and some very tasty snacks even though we were soon to have dinner. The staff were very friendly and efficient, and remained so throughout our stay. The food was very good, unpretentious and typically Italian.
The public rooms were lovely and spotless. The pool and gardens were excellent.
Our tour party was sufficiently impressed with the stay to have had a collection for the staff to thank them for their friendly and efficient service.
We are totally puzzled by some opinions previously expressed..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

It was with some trepidation that I went to this hotel as the comments I had seen on this site were overall not very complimentary, I was pleasantly surprised. The room we had was basic rather than luxurious but very clean, towels were of a generous size and changed regularly. We had a large balcony with table and chairs and a very useful clothes horse. There was a large swimming pool, garden and tennis courts outside. Food was excellent and much too plentiful!! with lots of choice. The staff were friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. So if you are looking for the height of luxury this is not the place for you but if you want to be well looked after in a family run hotel I would recommend it.
Italy lover, Essex

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

The only saving grace for this hotel was the swimming pool.
The food was just about edible and the location was extremely isolated.
Nothing to do in the venings and nowhere to go!!
Was TV in room but did not work.

Was surprised Page & Moy chose such a hotel as their choice of hotels is usually pretty
good.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Lovely, friendly staff but accommodation and food of a very low standard.
Very supprised at Page and Moy's choice .

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

First the good points, the pool area was nice and the gardens were well kept, a couple of the staff were very friendly and spoke good English. That's the end of the good points.

The hotel has a strange layout with a very large reception and nothing else (except two large function rooms). The hotel stands on its own, about 1km from the nearest village which always seemed to be closed. There was very little to do in the evenings as the hotel was too isolated. There was a very busy and noisy road nearby, and one of the evenings there was a firework display nearby at 12.30am, so a good nights sleep is a problem - take earplugs.

The food on the whole was very poor, except for the first night when a Page and Moy director was present. The drinks were hit and miss but were always reduced measures, a 40cl beer was approx 30cl as it was never poured correctly, they need to improve their weights and measures!

The guest rooms were accessed through an annex on the reception room. This was a two storey block, most rooms seemed to be adequate some with small balconies. The TV had no English channels, and there was no coffee making facilities, however some rooms had a fridge.

I wouldn't recommend the hotel, too basic, too remote and poor food.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from shropshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

The location of the hotel isn't ideal for guests without their own transport wanting a change of scenery in the evening: the highlight is the walk to the nearest village, returning triumphant if mosquito bites have been avoided.
Beware any single traveller who chooses to pay a £215 supplement to Page & Moy (£230 next year) for a "twin room for sole use"........my room was small, hot and humid, (albeit witha double bed) and much smaller than those occupied by couples. The insult added to the injurious cost was the fact that the old air conditioning unit was not only ineffective, but so noisy it prevented sleep: carrying out the hotel owner's instruction to "turn it to low" to reduce noise resulted in a room resembling a sauna. My four night stay left me with sleep deprivation and mosquito bites from leaving the windows open!
The gardens are pleasant and well kept, as is the pool. It was not made clear to our group that the owner's family also use the pool. The teenagers and young children were not a problem, and in fact it was good to hear laughter and watch children playing in the water...but it would be polite to have been told in advance.
Bar prices were very reasonable, and evening meals are OK, but nothing special: the vegetable selection is indeed considerable and the pasta portions are large, but the quantity does not really make up for the average quality of the food, the disappointing desserts and the lack of ambience overall. Waiters and waitresses always tried their best to give good service and at breakfast the teapots of very hot tea were appreciated (as opposed to the luke warm water and a tea bag offered in some other hotels in Italy).
Not a hotel I'd be prepared to return to I'm afraid: it was a relief to move to Vieste for the last 5 nights where I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel AL 2000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AL 2000

Address: Felline, 73040 Racale, Italy (Formerly Hotel Al Duemila)
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Racale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Racale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AL 2000 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel AL 2000 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel AL 2000, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.