We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the hype” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel AL 2000

Save Saved
You added Hotel AL 2000 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel AL 2000
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Felline, 73040 Racale, Italy (Formerly Hotel Al Duemila)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Racale
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We returned from a 11 day stay yesterday we are a family of four. We are so disapointed the hotel did not live up to our expectations or the blurb composed by Long Travel that sold it to us. Totally agree with all family McL's comments. This hotel is certainly not all inclusive it's full board with drinks, as if you attempt to get any snacks such as a toasted sandwich or chips for the kids you will be very lucky to get them. Also be aware the bar will sometimes mysteriously close in the afternoon for no reason. Whilst we were there they ran out of wine, beer and even ice cream on various occasions. One afternoon I was told there was no beer as it was chilling in the other fridge to come back in an hour. The wait for lunch and dinner was excruciating it was a normal occurance to wait an hour for your first course. Dinner was served late usually at 9pm on 3 occasions we recieved our first course around 9.55. On a positive when it came the food was good, the hotel was clean and the nearest beach was absolutely beautiful. We will return to the region but definiteIy not to this hotel & i certainly would not recommend this hotel to anyone either

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    6
    10
    7
See reviews for
24
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Agree with most of the reviews regarding the friendliness but there were too many issues to recommend this destination with long travel.
Overall we were left disappointed with our stay.
The hotel was generally clean but there are lots of little signs that not much gets sorted and was left with the overriding impression that all the 'systems!' they operate are for their convenience and not for the comfort or convenience of the guest.
Rooms are as described and very basic, on suite bathrooms fall below acceptable, toilets take 5 flushes, broken or missing fittings and I know many of the other guests had the same issues.
The big seller was the all inclusive, the breakfast consisted of a single bowl of cornflakes, a coffee and a single croissant! Gently warming yogurt not even on a tray with ice (35degrees outside). Local fruit markets had the most amazing fruit dirt cheap so why non available I don't understand.
Food in general was good quality but delivery was painfully slow and dreadfully inconsistent. Don't think we ever received side dishes with the mains and no consideration given to how many people on a table, tables of 5 were receiving the same quantities as tables of 2!
Sorry but I would definitely not recommend this hotel it just doesn't cut it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had a fantastic time, everybody was really helpful and there was plenty of food. We were collected from the airport and there was always someone available to take you to the beach or the towns nearby. The Hotel staff, especially the owner could not do enough.
Overall a really enjoyable relaxing stay and the kids loved the pool too and made some new friends. Will be going back one day :) :) :) :) :) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Honestly, the moment you arrive you are wrapped up in a great big Italian hug, which embraces you until you are dropped back off at the airport for your return.

The rooms were basic but everything was very clean. The tennis courts need some tlc. Nino and Angelo and their families were amazing, we felt that we were part of an extended family where nothing was too much trouble, we were dropped off and picked up at restaurants, the beach, Gallopoli and Lecce, which contributed to a super relaxing holiday. You are forced to respect Italian time, the meals are late by English standards - the food at the hotel was fantastic, we were served traditional local dishes, superb fish, pork, chicken, pasta and the wines were delicious too. It was wonderful to be able to say to the kids "yes you can have an icecream", they had a great time, joining forces with other children whilst the adults all read by the poolside. If you are looking for a relaxing, kind, charming destination then you can do no better than the Al Duemila hotel, the family and staff deserve to be full to capacity all year round, so please book your flights!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My daughter and I have spent a wonderfully relaxing holiday here. No car to worry about as we were collected from the airport and trips out were always easy to arrange. Everything was as we had hoped for and more - lovely pool, genuine local food, cool drinks as and when we needed them - even prosecco for that pre-dinner drink - and plenty of time and space to relax to a slower pace for a week. The added bonus was the friendly care and attention from the bi-lingual family owners of the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Nino, Angelo and all the family. A & H

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great value family hotel. Meals were authentic, italian food of the region. All of the staff were very friendly and attentive. Angelo and Nino were perfect hosts. Pool was great as were the grounds with the fig trees and apricot bushes. Tennis courts and some external areas in need of tlc. Rooms basic but very clean and aircon worked well. All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We wanted an affordable family hotel, not too big and impersonal, clean, with good food, and that's exactly what we got. For two weeks we enjoyed total relaxation, and the toughest decision to make was which dishes to choose off the varied and delicious menu. Without exception, the owners and staff worked hard to make us comfortable - nothing was too much trouble, and service was always with a smile. We also appreciated the airport pick-up and drop-off and the beach shuttle literally whenever we wanted to go. A great holiday, and we highly recommend to families. James & Emma Whale

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel AL 2000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AL 2000

Address: Felline, 73040 Racale, Italy (Formerly Hotel Al Duemila)
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Racale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Racale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AL 2000 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel AL 2000 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel AL 2000, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.