We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous transformation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punchinello's Restaurant

Punchinello's Restaurant
Cnr William Nicol Drive & Montecasino Boulevard, Fourways 2055, South Africa
+27 (0)11 367 4367
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 restaurants in Fourways
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Punchinello’s Restaurant offers Venetian cuisine and a variety of wonderful dishes using the flavours of the Mediterranean as the inspiration with an emphasis on freshness of ingredients and simplicity in the recipe preparation and presentation.
Johannesburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous transformation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I am pleased to say that the Sunday buffet lunch is a real treat.
With a change of management has come excellent service and a superb Sunday lunch. Excellent selection of starters (got to try salmon and grapefruit starter) lots of fresh salads too. Main course boasts a good, tasty variety. The usual roasts but also casseroles and much more . Tantalising desserts also part of the deal.
Happy to say the pizza bread served was DELICIOUS! ( last year we were served raw pizza bread )
Needless to say the restaurant was full ( unlike last yrs empty restaurant)...of course it would be.....with great food, fabulous service and good value. Well done to Punchinellos management and staff !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    10
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“So dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just returned from a most dissapointing lunch. My husband and I both ordered a pasta....it was OK ...certainly nothing to write home about. (Have had much tastier at Cio Baby or Maestros...and at half the price!) Mine was a seafood pasta with prawn balls....prawn balls did I say....well I don't know about the PRAWN in the ball....more like dry dough balls.
While waiting for our meal, our waiter apologised for the bread been late....eventually the bread did arrive...immediately smelt the strong smell of yeast...the bread was not cooked ! We asked to please cook it some more....hearing mutters from the chef about the oven.....the "cooked" bread never arrived.
We were at Punchinellos from about 13:30...by 14:00 a cleaning lady in her plastic apron with her green plastic bucket and her detergent spray bottle was busy cleaning wine bottles and counters....
The saving grace was a very polite and apologetic waiter. If I remember correctly , his name is Boniface . Although it is an exhibition kitchen and the chefs are in sight of the diners....no attempt was made to engage with us re the meal or the raw dough bread.
I broke a cardinal rule of mine...never eat at an empty restaurant....!! There is a reason why it is empty!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Seemed to have improved since our last trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a really bad experience with the food here during our visit in July - heavy handed with the salt , and I suspect that I had bad food poisoning as I suffered badly after breakfast before boarding the plane home for the 11 hour flight.
However, I must say that the food had improved considerably though we had only room service and breakfasts. Still no variation, day in and day out for breakfast - only lamb sausages alternated with beef sausages on different days. However, the fish cakes seemed homemade, and the smoked salmon was great with flapjacks and creme fraiche.
Reasonable for hotel food

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What an evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Good company and some of the best food served in South Africa. A tribute to the Chef of the Millennium by two great Chefs

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“OK, yet over-priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Over-priced for what it is. Nothing too special. All-in-all average.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punchinello's Restaurant also viewed

 
Fourways, Gauteng
Fourways, Gauteng
 

Been to Punchinello's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punchinello's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.