We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the high points from our trip to Provence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taven Residences

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Baux de Provence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taven Residences
Save
You added Taven Residences to your Saves list
Vallon de la Fontaine, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
arrowatty
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the high points from our trip to Provence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Beautiful Inn with first-class surroundings and amenities. The hosts could not have been more gracious. Strongly recommended. You won't be disappointed! P.S. Definitely take advantage of dining at La Riboto (the chef is not available every night). Much better than dining at L'Oustau de Baumanieres, which is immediately next door. Also, about 1/4 the price of Oustau.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I picked La Riboto de Taven because of the excellent Tripadvisor reviews, and was so thankful that I found it. The hotel has the best setting and views for the Les Baux area but what makes it is Christine and Phillipe, and yes their dog, Fred. We stayed in the Farmhouse family suite with our 2 children, and loved the warmth of the hotel. Phillipe and Christine went out of their way to make our stay even more wonderful with their suggestions of places to see in Provence. Yes, the food is excellent and the best we ate in our 10 days in France. You do not want to miss dining here. They even prepared special dinners for my picky eater. Do not miss the breakfast. The croissants and brioche bread with the homemade jams are delicious.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

My wife and I, and another couple, spent four nights at La Riboto de Taven as the first stop on a 2-week vacation in France. We initially selected La Riboto for its location in the middle of Provence, enabling easy day trips to Les Baux, Saint Remy-De-Provence, Arles, Avignon and Uzes/Pont du Gard. To our delight, this became one of our favorite stops over the last 20+ years of European travel. Philippe and Christine Theme were wonderful hosts, and La Riboto de Taven exceeded our highest expectations. The history, the village, the pool and grounds, our rooms, Fred (the family dog) and the Theme’s warmth all contributed to a great experience we can’t wait to repeat.

While breakfast and/or dinner are both optional, we strongly recommend you sign up for the dinner (and breakfast) once or twice during your visit. Christine’s brother, Jean Pierre, is a wonderful chef, and the four course menu changes daily to take advantage of local markets. Eating outside in the court, after a busy day of sightseeing, is a memorable, romantic experience. Very Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: Make dinner reservations for your first night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We generally stay in five star "name" properties after doing our research thoroughly. This time, we could not choose the next door "name" property which is so famous. It is NOT what it once was. We leave it at that.
We found La Riboto through Trip Advisor and struck gold! Philippee and Christine Theme own the property and live there, as does their wonderful dog "Fred" who also greets one pleasantly each day! The setting may have been the inspiration for Dante's Inferno but for us it was more the Paradiso! The charm, the natural beauty, the extraordinary hospitality and the HIGH QUALITY of meals served personally each meal by the owners made this exceptional! In Les Baux there is no better place to stay...nothing lacking, all perfection.
Incidentally, the VALUE for this property, especially compared with its astronomically priced next door neighboor, is another reason I recommend La Riboto!

Room Tip: speak to Christine or Philippe directly or e-mail!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Lovely, family-run hotel overlooking the old village of Les Baux, one of the prettiest villages of Provence and France. Amazing views, great view, nice pool, very quiet and great owners.
The room we stayed in was nice, but not special, though the whole ambience of the place is lovely.
Much better than some of their competition!
Views to live for!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed at La Riboto de Taven for 2 nights in September and we absolutely loved our stay. We stayed in a troglodyte suite and it was the one of the most memorable travel experiences for us! (and we love to travel around the world) I think if you decide to stay here, you should pay the extra money and stay in a troglodyte suite..it is sooo worth it! The views of Les Baux are amazing, along with the friendly, courteous and helpful owners. The food was delicious and the wine was paired perfectly!!! We visited many wineries around Les Baux thanks to Christine and Philippe's suggestions and loved them all! You won't be disappointed, so just go!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

La Riboto de Taven is one of the nicest travel experiences my wife and I have enjoyed. Christina and Phillippe are fantastic hosts. We spent 6 days there and feel we have made new friends for life. In addition to their helpfulness, the site is magically beautiful, convenient as a central location for touring, and the food is outstanding. The grounds are immaculatly groomed. The pool is perfect for some relaxing after a hot day of driving. We have traveled all over the world and this is one of the most enjoyable places we have stayed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taven Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taven Residences

Address: Vallon de la Fontaine, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Les Baux de Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Les Baux de Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
La Riboto De Taven Hotel Les Baux De Provence
Taven Residences Provence, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taven Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.