We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunningly excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrieres de Lumieres

Carrieres de Lumieres
Route de Maillane, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France
+33 (0)4 90 54 47 37
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of Alpilles, the monumental “Carrières de Lumières” host extraordinary multimedia shows which are unique in the world. Spectators are totally immersed in the images projected onto all the surfaces of the rock. The ground is completely covered, too, and becomes a vast carpet of images.The site has reopened its doors with the show “Gauguin - Van Gogh, painters of colour”, created by Gianfranco Iannuzzi with Renato Gatto and Massimiliano Siccardi.
Merano, Italy
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“stunningly excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

this experience, we had here, screams for any superlative that comes to mind, and yet it is so simple and maybe that is what makes it so breathtakingly beautiful. so simple, a wast empty space, beautiful pictures, an awesome projection system and the right music to accompany the experience, done! if you only see one exhibition or gallery while you are in the south of france, go to see this. it will open you soul, bring a wast smile in your face and open your eyes to sheer beauty. i will never ever forget this. i went here with my parents and husband, we were all taken by storm. i knew what to expect, or so i thought, but still i was overwhelmed. my mother though did not know what was coming and her tears just kept steaming down her face from the moment she entered. trust me, go and see! i do not use superlatives like i did in this review lightly. i just hope i can come back to this magical place...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    848
    129
    24
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Top attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

absolutely the best thing to do in Les Beaux de Provence! it comes as a total suprise when you enter the show cave (yes, it is is a big cave of 7000m2), the all white big walls lighten up with paintings of Renoir, Chagall, Monet and many more! plus, the painting are moving and you feel like you are actually in the painting yourself! very different experience. i hope we see more of these shows elsewhere. a must see!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
145 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Incredible Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Monet, Renoir Chagall--a Mediterranean art display projected on a quarries huge walls, pillars and floor. At the heart of the Alpiles the Carrieres de Lumieres host extraordinary multimedia shows which are unique. Accompanied by classical music one walks through the quarries and takes in an incredible experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I did not expect this!!! We were on a day trip and this was one of the stops.....this is really spectacular and you do not need to be an art expert to enjoy.............make it a visit if you are in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“All-senses experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Carved inside the mountain, this huge cave-like space, with ceiling as high as 30 or 60 FT, and large columns all around, famous paintings of artists from the Provence region are animated on the walls, floor and everywhere around you. Music is played in the background, and objects from the paintings are moving all around you - spectacular just to walk there, you feel like you are part of the art itself.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrieres de Lumieres also viewed

Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Carrieres de Lumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrieres de Lumieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.