We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Prince Noir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Baux de Provence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Prince Noir
Save
You added Le Prince Noir to your Saves list
rue de Lorme | Cite Haute, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Magical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Staying at Le Prince Noir was even better than we had imagined! We stayed 3 nights. Our hosts, Benoit and Ute, were fabulous, warm and friendly. The place (we stayed in the highest room -apartment really) was so MAGICAL - built right into the rock with a terrace that overlooked the valley and just to the left of the castle (beautiful and worth touring!) The little mountain town of Les Baux is so charming and it is not difficult to get up to Le Prince Noir at all - even the eldest in our group had no problem.
So clean and comfortable - even when Le Mistral began to blow one night, we felt safe and warm and had a great night sleep. Breakfast was terrific, fresh and delicious with excellent coffee!
A couple of days we left Les Baux after breakfast and came back at the end of the day. It was so special to come back to Le Prince Noir.
Honestly, I would really like to go back and stay there again. The very best part of our 3-week trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
103
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cibolo, Texas, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our host & hostess were friendly and helpful, giving us tips on where to go and what to see. Breakfast was a breathtaking experience. Watching the sun come up over the rocky cliffs was the best way imaginable to wake up. My friend and I could not get over the bath room. We both want to duplicate it in our homes. Don't miss Les Baux de Provence and make sure you stay at Le Prince Noir it made our trip perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

One of the highlights to our trip to the South of France, Le Prince Noir is unique, beautiful, and unforgettable. Near the top of the small medieval town, it had magical view of the countryside and the castle above and at night, very quiet and atmospheric views from our bedroom and private balcony. It is built onto the wall of the mountain, just under the castle ruins which was so fun . Our hosts were helpful, the bed was very comfortable, the top floor suite spacious, and the bountiful breakfast of pastries, bread, and fresh fruit was delicious. It was windy when we were there for 3 days. Parking was just a 10minute walk up through the town. We could not ask for anything more. A warning to travelers to the south of France - we were there but a week and our credit card number got stolen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We loved the location of this b&b, at the top of the village. The room was full of character, and built into the side of the mountain with great views. The village is teeming with hundreds of tourists through the day, but by dusk you have the place to yourselves again. Tourists see you coming in and out of the gate and think you must be paying top dollar to stay here. We were so happy to have found this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place is absolutely wonderful , hosts are great , breakfast and view - it just cant get any better ! We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the terrace with this stunning view while having a glass of wine and some cheese . Thanks to Ute and Benoit we can still close our eyes and have this unforgettable experience in our imagination .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

It is a very nice place to stay, scenery is very good, breakfast place is excellent.
It is my most memorable villa I have ever stayed. I enjoyed the days I stayed there.
Mr. Benoit is very very nice, I will definitely stay in this villa when I come to South France again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It was wonderfull! Ancient castle, mountains, breakfest in the sky. Ute ane Benoit are very friendly and realy care about clients! It was our best day within our french trip!

With love from Russia!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Prince Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Prince Noir

Address: rue de Lorme | Cite Haute, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Les Baux de Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Les Baux de Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Baux de Provence is one of the most fascinating areas in all of Provence and it is a very special place to stay in this guest house (especially when the crowds have all disappeared and you and the few permanent residents have Les Baux to yourselves)... Nestled in the heart of Les Baux in Provence is this delightful tiny inn with just three rooms... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Prince Noir Hotel Les Baux De Provence
Le Prince Noir Provence, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Prince Noir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.