We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hostess and Spectacular Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Prince Noir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Baux de Provence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Prince Noir
Save
You added Le Prince Noir to your Saves list
rue de Lorme | Cite Haute, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sumner, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hostess and Spectacular Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have stayed at Le Prince Noir two times now in the last few years.

Our latest trip to Les Baux was spectacular as we expected, even though there rolling thunderstorms that we felt certain would split the earth in two. The rain was torrential and our room did end up leaking in the middle of the night, but our hostess, Ute, more than made up for it the next day by moving us to her large suite and spoiling us in a extra ways. She said they were going to undergo extensive repair on the roof over that section, so you shouldn't worry about that happening again.

The B&B is located at the very top-most part of the city and the views of the valley are stunning. We felt as if we had stepped back in time. At night the cobbled alley ways and streets were vacant and lit up nicely for a great walk around the tiny town.

The breakfast was plentiful and well prepared. There were a variety of fresh pastries, french-pressed coffee, jam and marmalade, fresh yogurt and fruit.

We got a parking voucher to use so we could take our car in and out each day and only pay the last time you leave.

We loved Les Baux and would go back again.

Room Tip: book early as there are limited number of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
103
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I stayed for 8 nights at the Prince Noir. We used this B & B as a base to visit other places in Provence. The experience of staying in Les Baux was truly unique. The owners are really helpful and friendly people. The view of the village, the nearby hills and valley from the breakfast balcony was breathtaking. The village of Les Baux is extremely busy (with tourists) during the day from around 10am to 7pm. Cars are only allowed into the village after 7pm so you may need to park in the car park and walk to the Black Prince during the day. A car is essential if you intend to visit the surrounding areas such as the Camargue and the Luberon and nearby towns.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

If you'd like a magnificent view at the top of the most adorable medieval city in Provence, stay at La Prince Noir. I stayed here for 2 nights with 3 friends . We booked 2 suites and were equally impressed with both, although the one at the top had the killer view and it's own private terrace, as well as a kitchen.
The hosts were extremely helpful, the rooms were well appointed and the breakfasts were great.
We went sightseeing during the day, and were able to miss the huge crowds that descend upon Les Baux. In the evening this town becomes magical after everyone leaves and you have the whole place to yourself.

Room Tip: Stay at the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed at Prince Noir for 2 nights and loved it! It was a great experience. Our suite was very comfortable for our family of 4 - the kids loved having their own room complete with balcony! The breakfasts were outstanding - we had the best croissants there!!! It was a great base to explore the surrounding areas. Great restaurants close by. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights for my honeymoon and it is a great base for exploring the area. My husband and I stayed in le Bijou and it's fun for people watching and sometimes people are watching you if they happen to go to the right cave when exploring the chateau. We went to dinner at nearby Riboto de Taven (suggestion from Ute) and Oustau de Baumaniere and let me tell you, it is pretty fun to walk up the cobblestones to the B&B at night. It's so quiet and surreal and you might happen to run into a local, friendly dog. When we left, we got some great tips from Benoit on where to explore next. We also were in need of an adapter and Ute happened to have one because another guest left it there and they let us keep it! It was very generous and we really appreciated it.

Additionally, the shower room was awesome. It was really neat to see the views as you bathed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

With so many choices for accommodation in Provence it was difficult to decide where to stay, until I saw Le Prince Noir on Tripadvisor. I just knew that I had to stay here and this choice was proved to be one of the best I have made for our three week holiday in Provence!

We loved the town of Le Baux de Provence, although some find it too touristy. It is a such a beautiful place and the setting is magnificent and so also the location and setting of Le Prince Noir right underneath the castle at the very top of this hilltop town. This establishment is unique (we stayed in the Le Bijou suite) and it is worth it to spend the extra money to stay here. Ute and Benoit are excellent hosts. We arrived during a cold spell and were pleasantly surprised to find a cosy, well heated and well equipped room. Our breakfast on the first (very cold)morning, was served right inside our own little kitchen by Ute herself. Weather permitting, the other breakfast were enjoyed on the terrace with the best views of the town underneath, as well as the castle. We had fresh juice , coffee, pastries, fruit, cheese and yogurt every morning. The kitchen is small but equipped with basic cutlery etc to prepare small lunches etc as well as a kettle to make your own coffee or tea.

We spent four nights here and had enough time to get to know the town as well as the surrounding towns like St Remy de Provence. Ute always gave us tips and good advice for day trips etc and late in the afternoons when we came back, the tourist buses have left, and the town was quiet again.

We didn't want to leave and the only mistake was that this was our first stop on a three week journey, every other place after Prince Noir just seemed too ordinary!

I would highly recommend this charming B&B without hesitation. It is well appointed, cosy and romantic. The only downside probably is that it is quite difficult to get there because of the many stairs and it is also a steep walk, so with suitcases it is a bit of a challenge. It is possible though to bring your car in quite close to the entrance when you arrive to unload all of your luggage if you prefer, before taking it back to the car park just outside of the town. Even if I have to crawl up there in future, I would still do it, it is that special!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

This B&B provides a unique experience to stay in a medieval village which could be a film set. The accommodation is comfortable and appropriately decorated and furnished. The hosts, Ute and Benoit are charming and made our stay very relaxing. The village is busy in the day but quiet in the evening with reasonably priced restaurants within easy walking distance and more expensive ones outside of the village.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Prince Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Prince Noir

Address: rue de Lorme | Cite Haute, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Les Baux de Provence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Les Baux de Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Baux de Provence is one of the most fascinating areas in all of Provence and it is a very special place to stay in this guest house (especially when the crowds have all disappeared and you and the few permanent residents have Les Baux to yourselves)... Nestled in the heart of Les Baux in Provence is this delightful tiny inn with just three rooms... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Prince Noir Hotel Les Baux De Provence
Le Prince Noir Provence, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Prince Noir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.