We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windblown on the Hill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau des Baux de Provence

Chateau des Baux de Provence
13520 Les Baux de Provence, France
+33 (0)4 90 54 55 56
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$117*
and up
Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With a view over Provence to the Mediterranean, the Château des Baux is one of the most beautiful sites in France. It is also a unique place marked by a turbulent past of more than ten centuries: from the Counts of Les Baux (who claimed to be descended from King Balthazar) to the Château’s destruction in 1483 by Richelieu after the wars of religion.This medieval stronghold contains both a castle and a village.
Virginia, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Windblown on the Hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A great day exploring the Chateau de Baux, sometimes buffeted by a Mistral, but realizing that spring is one of the best times to experience the hilltop aerie. We avoid it in summer due to the blistering heat, and it would be really cold in the winter - spring and fall are perfect!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    323
    61
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Views from the top of Provence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Rented homes outside of Les Baux twice and look forward to the next. The town is a fairly typical medieval town(if thats possible). Nice and a little touristy. Parking can be a challenge depending on the season and number of tour buses.The location and geography is however spectacular. The views from the Chateau and ramparts is amazing. The contrast of green olive orchards and vineyards with the white craggy stone of Les Alpilles is stunning. It feels like you can see forever. Highly recommend spending a couple of hours in Les Baux.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great view from the top of the chateau!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I definitely recommend this place for everyone visiting the small village. The village itself is so pretty to see and the chateau even makes it a more interesting place to visit. there is a big candle/cookies shop in the entrance and you can buy delicious jam, biscuits, lokum from the shop. better park your car outside of the village (there are limited places on the entrance of the village and cars are not allowed in the village). be prepared to have comfy shoes when you visit this site. it is uphill.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
322 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Incredible views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Les Baux de Provence is a great town to visit with its cobblestone streets, shops and restaurants and its awesome views of the rock formations surrounding the town. At the top of the main street sits the historic Chateaux with the best views of the surrounding area and with its knights of armor.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went early to avoid the crowds others had complained about. And although we did find cheap and nearby parking, the castle and town were not that crowded. We found the shops to be charming and INEXPENSIVE, we purchased gifts for half the price of the same we saw in Aix en Provence and Marseille.

The town was charming and the castle an amazing advetures. There are regularily scheduled activities that the kids (okay and adults) love.

There are many choices for restaurants, our only dissappointment wad that we didn't search for a better place for our lunch.

Bring a coat or sweatshirt, it was very chilly up there, even on a sunny day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau des Baux de Provence also viewed

Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Chateau des Baux de Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau des Baux de Provence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.