We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Small Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mas de l'Oulivie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mas de l'Oulivie to your Saves list
Mas de l'Oulivie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Les Arcoules | D27 direction Fontvieille, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delightful Small Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is on a splendid site in Les Baux only five minutes from the Chateau des Baux. The rooms ate very tasteful with period furniture and most comfortable beds. The bathroom is well equipped. The only peculiarity is the separation of the toilet from the rest of the fixtures though this not presented much of a problem. Lunch at the restaurant was average as was breakfast. Service was first rate.

Room Tip: We liked our room is the newest section upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masdeloulivie, Responsable commercial at Mas de l'Oulivie, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you for having taken time to express your satisfaction about the location, the decoration and the service. Unfortunately, you don't explain why your satisfaction about breakfast and lunch was not entire. We are always open to suggestions to improve our day-to-day operations and improve the quality of our service.
The entire team looks forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kindest regards,

Isabelle Achard - Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    41
    12
    0
    3
See reviews for
29
80
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Indeed, what's not to like? Location? A few minutes from Les Beaux, easy drives to Aix, Arles, Gordes, Roussillon. The staff, polite, enthusiastic, helpful. Our 235€ room was quite pleasant, nice bathroom, but our friend's 340€ (room #11) was special, complete with a huge canopied bed and a bathroom that would comfort an Oligarch. Breakfast not included, but worth the extra expense. Large, secure parking. Nice pool, a bonus. First time in Provence or returning, a wonderful option.

Room Tip: As I said, room #11 is special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masdeloulivie, Assistante de direction at Mas de l'Oulivie, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for having taken time to express your satisfaction. We really pay attention to the comfort of our rooms and we are so happy to read that you spent a pleasant first stay in Provence.
You are right to mention that our location is ideal for visiting Alpilles, Luberon and Camargue.
Hope to welcome you again in a near future.

With our kindest regards,

Alexandrine Bard
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were very excited when arriving at this hotel. It is a lovely property in an especially beautiful area of Provence. The rooms were nice and very clean and well appointed. There is free wi fi throughout.
Here are a couple of things that kept me from giving this hotel a higher rating - they have a restaurant, but do not serve dinner. This can be very inconvenient to travellers. Breakfast is served each morning for €16, or you may order a la carte. I believe that they serve lunch, but we did not eat there. The bar is open 24 hours, but they serve nothing but olives! We had wine and would love to have had cheese or some snacks, but there was absolutely nothing. For this caliber of hotel, we found this very disappointing. One evening, we were directed to a nearby hotel for dinner. When we arrived, we were told that we could not be served since we were not staying there. So. We had to drive to a nearby town and find a restaurant.
Having said this, the staff was nice, but we felt at least snacks should be an option in the evening. They had a waiter on staff at all times. I have to say that this was a bit of a turn off.

Room Tip: I saw 3 rooms and all were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masdeloulivie, Responsable commercial at Mas de l'Oulivie, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you for your feedback which helps us to constantly improve the quality of our service to our clients. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and the service of our staff. As regards your restaurant comments, we always inform our clients at the time of their reservation that we do not serve diner in the evening. As the hotel is located in the countryside, we always propose to our clients to make bookings in the closest restaurants (next villages at 2 km and 3 km). Taxi service is also available from the hotel. We are sorry that you did not ask for a restaurant booking during your stay to avoid the inconvenience you experienced.
Yours sincerely,
Isabelle Achard - Commercial Manager


Isabelle Achard
Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Emilion
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent two nights in this lovely little hotel. The pool looked amazing but unfortunately the weather was not warm enough for us to make use of it. The location is ideal - nicely secluded and quiet but close to Les Baux, Fontveille and Maussane les Alpilles.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masdeloulivie, Responsable commercial at Mas de l'Oulivie, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your kind comments about le Mas de l'Oulivié, we do indeed are the perfect location to visit the different villages of les Alpilles and the hotel is only 3 minutes from the medieval castle of Les Baux de Provence.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Isabelle Achard
Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemnitz, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed for a night only, and asked to see rooms first. Just as well, as the first room was not up to the overall style of the place. We then had a very nice and spacious room ( number 11, first floor) which was just perfect. Very friendly staff, secure parking, nice fresh breakfast. A bit expensive, but there again, the Provence is not cheap.

Room Tip: Room 11 : Four poster bed, spacious and a very large bathroom, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masdeloulivie, Responsable commercial at Mas de l'Oulivie, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind comments about le Mas de l'Oulivié. We are delighted that you did appreciate the room upgrade and thus made your stay much more enjoyable.

With our kindest regards,

Alexandrine Bard

Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in late November, just before the hotel's annual shutdown. I recommend this property unequivocally: exceptional location, outstanding service, and five star amenities. I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in the despite the brisk fall weather. Being the low season, attractions and restaurants had reduced hours but prices were lower and the hotel was an exceptional value.

The staff demonstrates genuine hospitality rather than the robotic gestures all too common in "luxury" hotels. I was traveling without a vehicle and Reception arranged numerous taxis and restaurant reservations on my behalf. I left some clothing in the closet that was promptly mailed to my address in the US. Special thanks to Séverina, Isabelle, and Claire for their unwavering helpfulness.

Room was spacious and filled with amenities, including calissions d'Aix candies on the pillow. A terrace opened to a set of olive trees outside. Internet was reliable but not particularly fast.

Breakfast is available as a set menu or à la carte. There are a wide variety of options, from fresh pastries to eggs and fruit. While the food was excellent, I would have preferred a buffet. I would also have appreciated the option to purchase a packed lunch for hiking.

The walk to Les Baux takes about 15 minutes, first along a highway then on a footpath. Hiking maps are sold at the tourist office in Les Baux. Trails lead to Saint-Rémy (about 3.5 hours), Mausanne, and to the Grande-Randonnée.

A rental car makes travel in this area more convenient but it is possible to reach the hotel through a combination of train, public busses, and taxis. From the Arles train station, bus 29 runs year-round to Maussane Les Alpilles where you can eat at the highly recommended restaurant La Fleur de Thym. From Mausanne, a taxi to the hotel costs less than €20. In peak season, a bus runs from Arles to Les Baux, although it does not stop directly at the hotel. See the Cartreize website for bus schedules. One caution: the road past the hotel is not lit at night, which makes walking on the shoulder dangerous. A taxi to Arles costs about €50 depending on the time of day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masdeloulivie, Directrice commerciale at Mas de l'Oulivie, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a long and lovely review for us on TripAdvisor.
We will make sure that your compliments are passed on to our reception staff Severina and Claire although they are now on holidays!
All our best wishes for the New Year and it will be a pleasure to welcome you again in Provence.

Isabelle Achard
Commercial Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at this small hotel earlier this year. The rooms (and especially the bathrooms) are lovely and situated on beautiful grounds in a pretty landscape. The pool is original and esthetic too. Overall, we were pleased with our stay but the hotel is quite expensive compared to other hotels and luxury B&Bs we stayed at during this vacation. The breakfast is quite basic and is charged in addition, which should not be necessary in a place like this. Also, when we asked for recommendations for a simple but good restaurant they could (or would?) only come up with high-end restaurants that were not suitable for a small bite. We found some places on our own that were delightful, but their help upfront would have been appreciated. They are also listed as vegetarian-friendly but they could not offer any advice on that whatsoever. Overall, therefore, we thought that they are more pretentious than a truly high caliber, service-oriented hotel should be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masdeloulivie, Assistante de Direction at Mas de l'Oulivie, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
First of all thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you liked the rooms and that overall you were pleased with your stay at Mas de l’Oulivié.
You state that breakfast should be included. Many of our clients enjoy the fact that we do not include breakfast as we offer a large range of choices from a very copious continental to a list of "à la carte" choices to cover every taste.
This is also the first time we have had a complaint about a lack of advice from reception. Our team is always glad to give advice on where to eat and you also had at your disposal in your room a detailed list with restaurants (all tested by Management) serving menus from 19 Euros a head, which we are sure you agree, is very good value for money. We also have menus at your disposal at reception so you can check out vegetarian options.
To resume, the two negative points that you list came as quite a surprise to us. As you may have read in the other comments, our staff is one of our strongest points, client point out that not only are they friendly but that they also go out of their way to help and give guests as much advice on where to eat, where to go and what to do as possible.

Kindest regards

Charlotte Tarry
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mas de l'Oulivie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de l'Oulivie

Address: Les Arcoules | D27 direction Fontvieille, 13520 Les Baux de Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Les Baux de Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Les Baux de Provence
#1 Luxury Hotel in Les Baux de Provence
#1 Green Hotel in Les Baux de Provence
#2 Family Hotel in Les Baux de Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mas de l'Oulivie 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of an olive grove and at the foot of the steep rocky hills of les Baux de Provence, le Mas de l'Oulivie is a charming hotel with Provencal style inside and outside. The landscape swimming pool with rocks springs out the landscape like an oasis. Privileged atmosphere for Provence lovers and restaurant opened for lunch only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mas de l'Oulivie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas De l`Oulivie Hotel Les Baux De Provence
Mas De L'Oulivie Provence, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mas de l'Oulivie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.