We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food, beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of la cabro d'or

la cabro d'or
13520 Les Baux de Provence, France
+33 4 90543321
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
la cabro d'or is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent service, gorgeous setting overlooking a lovely garden with a pond, delicious food. Highly recommend the experience, especially walking around the property afterwards which includes a lovely pool, goat pens, and an organic garden.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    37
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paradou, France
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Every time an excellent meal and the garden as a bonus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We go once or twice a year to La Cabro d'or and we are always the most satisfied. This time we went for lunch and went on the menu that offers entrée, fish and meat, cheese and desert for 78€. Of course this is a price but the quality and the pleasure you get are worth it.
Everything we had can be recommended but I confess I am fond of the sugar iced eggplant with pepper ice cream as a desert, and this must be tested.
The service is just perfect.
Summertime allows to enjoy the terrace looking at the garden and the pond, in a quiet and relaxant atmosphère, far away from the noise, the crowd, and not too sophisticated.
The 1 star Michelin perfectly rewards this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal spoiled by smoking environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I chose to come to Cabro D'Or over the other 2 Star Michelin restaurant in the same family Bauminiere as it appeared to be the more relaxed option and we werent disappointed.
We chose the menu degustation and embarked on what turned out to be a 3 and 1/2 hour gastronomic adventure (seriously do not eat lunch if you decide to do this). The portions on each course were surprisingly large and everything was as you would expect immaculately presented with a taste to match.
The highlights on the meal were the Sea Bass and Saddle of Lamb. The cheeseboard was excellent and deserts very refreshing.
Service again was as you would expect excellent and attentive.
One spoiling factor to us was the fact that smoking was allowed and we had tables both side that were indeed smoking, so try at the very least to get somewhere that this is mimimalized. For the life of me i cant understand why Michelin Star restaurants allow this (government rules accepting) and it seems crazy that you come for a gastronomic treat are presented with a wonderful balance of flavours and the ruin it with a blast of nicotine !
Overall very worthwhile visit and despite price i think its value for money

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellence in Provence Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

La Cabro D'or is the 1 star Michelin sister hotel and restaurant to the two star L'Oustau de Baumaniere set below the historic perched village of Baux de Provence. There is nowhere in the village itself to eat well and this is just 5 minutes drive away.

We have previously stayed at the Hotel a few years ago before buying a house nearby. We enjoyed the hotel and restaurant and within the past year have on the recommendation of friends in the area visited on a couple of occasions for a weekday lunch with their set midday menu with wine included. It is still not cheap at lunchtime but very good value for a 1 Michelin restaurant and is in a divine peaceful setting on the raised terrace overlooking the lovely gardens and small lake/pond.

You have a limited choice of wine and courses. As you would expect the food is beautifully put together with sublime flavours and immaculate presentation. The service is perfect where you are not aware of the waiters but they seem instantly aware of your need for help almost before you realise yourself. Service is 6 star as is the food.

A place to relax for long languorous lunch and afternoon or if you have deeper pockets visit for a special evening meal. The garden setting is wonderful for dining or staying at the hotel itself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worthy of its Michelin 1 Star and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a lovely delicious meal at Cabro, it was really impressive.
It was their 3 course pre- fix tasting menu that changes daily. Everything was beautifully presented, executed and flavored. The next evening we went to Michelin 3 Star Oustad across the way. Afterwards my wife and I both agreed that Cabro was a better experience all around for half the price.
Based on the continued strong reviews since our visit yrs ago, I would try Cabro first.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la cabro d'or also viewed

Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to la cabro d'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage la cabro d'or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.