We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Athabasca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Athabasca to your Saves list
Super 8 Athabasca
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4820 Woodheights Rd, Athabasca, Alberta T9S1V4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Athabasca
Mossbank
2 reviews
“Will not return”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We will NEVER return to this hotel. Super 8 has an expected standard of customer service but this location needs to be flagged. My work dictates that I spend at least 75 nights per year in hotels and I have never been treated so rudely or had such unacceptable customer service. We had a 2 night stay in Athabasca as we attended a family funeral. Our room was not cleaned during our stay. We returned to our room after being away from noon until 11 PM and found that the room had not been made up. I could accept that oversight but not the rudeness when I called the desk. I did express my dissatisfaction again upon checkout but there was no offer to make amends for the rude experience. The room comfort and amenities were just fine but rude customer service and poor PR trumped all the good. I have never written a poor review but this had to be said.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Super 8 Athabasca, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Super 8 Athabasca Management and staff want to say Thank you for your review. We appreciate all the feedback we receive. This way we can better ourselves in great Customer Service. Thank you for staying with us.
We understand the customer’s frustration when they found the room not cleaned as they expected. We already knew it before this comment, for the customer already issued it before the check out. Also, we already investigated it with our housekeeping staff & records and figured out they couldn’t cleaned the room because DND sign was on the door. Our front desk staff also confirmed it as well. Basically, on DND sign, there’s not much thing we can do.
However, we are still sorry for the imperfect customer service. We will do our best more, to meet the customer’s inquiry and questions, until the customer feels comfortable and understood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    37
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
25
13
2
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights, the rooms were very clean, great customer service and a breakfast bar, made my own waffle . The Internet in the room was working, we used the free laptop that came with it. TV in the room and movies to watch for free. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Super 8 Athabasca, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night July 20 as we decided Athabasca was about half way between Grande Prairie and Fort McMurray. The hotel is on the east side of Athabasca up the hill outside of the main city centre. Our room was very large - the only negative was that the air conditioning unit was very loud. It was very warm outside and the room was very warm as well so we felt the need to run the A/C in order to get some sleep.

There was a bit of a mix-up on our reservation but it was quickly and efficiently corrected.

The breakfast room offered a very good complimentary breakfast. A&W is located right next door but we didn't eat there.

We were surprised that the laptop was in our room - however we couldn't get the internet working to check our email. Maybe an outage that day.

All in all, a good stay at the Super 8.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Super 8 Athabasca, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your detail information and comment. We appreciate the feedback we received from you. With your comment, we can better ourselves in great Customer Service for your next stay. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Athabasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Athabasca

Address: 4820 Woodheights Rd, Athabasca, Alberta T9S1V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Athabasca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Athabasca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Athabasca 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Athabasca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Athabasca
Athabasca Super 8
Athabasca Super Eight
Super 8 Athabasca Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Athabasca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.