We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gus's Steak & Pizza House

Gus's Steak & Pizza House
703 First St W, Brooks, Alberta T1R 0N3, Canada
(403) 362-3002
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 38 Restaurants in Brooks
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Alberta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We ate here as a large group. As expected with the number of diners we had, drink and meal service was slow. Unfortunately, two kids meals were missed, which was very disappointing as they were the reason for the stop (hockey team meal).

Food was ok.

One of the supervisors came over to help with our group, she was wonderful. Efficient, pleasant and got the meal back on the rails.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Family meal out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After a busy day at Buffalo Jump followed by a drive to Brooks, we ate here because it was the closest place to our hotel. It wasn't very busy, but the food took quite a long while to arrive. We had 2 pizzas to share between 4 of us because it was buy 1 get 1 free. Thank goodness it was - these pizzas were really expensive! However, they were also very filling and we were able to take out the leftovers which we enjoyed the following day as a picnic lunch. The staff were friendly and polite but we wouldn't rush back here, as there was little atmosphere, prices were high (on pizzas) and the service was slow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We went to Gus's after a day of digging for dinosaur bones in Dinosaur Park and were tired and hungry. There were not too many people in the restaurant and we initially wondered what the quality would be like. The waitress was very pleasant and helpful, and as the portions appeared quite large we had individual salads but shared a steak, large baked potato and mushrooms. There was more than enough to eat. They cut the steak in half before broiling it and was perfect. They even had Alexander Keith's on tap. We could not get over the bill...it was one of the most inexpensive meals we have had for a long time. Terrific value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Typical Italian and pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Food is average, salad is plain, pizza is very cheesy. Staff is friendly. Large lounge and restaurant. Lots of choices on menu but specials are always the same.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Not here
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Yuck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Ordered Hawaiian Pizza, Veal Venice and children's lasagna. Everything was drowned in salt, sauce and/or cheese. It was gross. The wait staff was very pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus's Steak & Pizza House also viewed

 

Been to Gus's Steak & Pizza House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gus's Steak & Pizza House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.