We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy for our tummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Greek Restaurant

Athens Greek Restaurant
71 Bridge Street North, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y0, Canada
+1 403-823-3225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Drumheller
Cuisines: Greek, Kosher, Mediterranean, Vegetarian, Halal
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy for our tummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The food was amazingly authentic Greek yum! Service was good even though they were horribly busy. It's great to see a family work so well together.
Normally when eating Greek I ask for extra lemon. Nope! Did not need it. Everything was perfectly seasoned. The ribs were to die for and so was the lemon/wine shrimp.
We'd for sure go back next time we visit Drumheller. The pricing for the entrees was what one would expect for a wonderful dinner =).

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    28
    16
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very good food, way overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The service was friendly, but a bit rushed. The food was excellent, well prepared and flavorful. But the portion size for the amount charged was kind of absurd. My wife ordered a Seafood Platter, for $28, that although quite tasty, was smaller than an appertizer. An entree should have more than 2 mussels, a few cockles and a couple of shrimp. My moussaka was excellent, along with an excellent Greek salad and potatoes was much more reasonable at $10.95. We shared a calamari appertizer as well, that was perfectly cooked and full of flavor. The bread with basalmic dressing was great. We would definitely return, but skip the overpriced seafood.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, FAST service, and beautiful waitress!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were seated immediately and within a minute had a huge of tasty lemon water on the table. The gorgeous waitress promptly took our orders (2 adults and a pre teen), and brought us our drinks after listing off their huge selection of beer for my boyfriend (he asked what they had for beer). The waitress was very polite and apologized that the iced tea wouldn't be very cold because she would be making it for us (not fountain or canned) and asked if that was okay.

Within another minute or two we had our bruschetta appetizer served. It was delicious! When our Greek salads and my daughters meatballs came (within a minute or two), they looked great and tasted amazing! Everything was so fresh and yummy! Both the younger waitress and the other woman (her mother?) were exceptionally polite and made sure we were well taken care of and happy with everything.

Waitress made us feel very welcome and made sure to serve my daughter first, but our food came out 30 seconds later. After we were done, we were given "potato cookies" that were chewy and delicious as well as gluten free!

All and all, probably one of the best restaurants I've ever been too! The waitress was absolutely stunning and you will find it hard not to stare (don't take your boyfriend or husband here if you are the jelous type! Lol) Great food, great location (right across from hotel), and fast friendly service! Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A Mediterranean Island in the Badlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We arrived at 6 pm to find but one car in the parking lot after finding other local restaurants packed and went in. Much of the restaurant was reserved so we sat on the screened porch which fortunately was comfortable on not the warmest spring even.

Chicken souvlaki, spanikopita, greek salads, a complimentary homemade desert and a carafe of pinot grigio, in all a delicious meal in the limited restaurant landscape of Drumheller.

When we were leaving, the inside restaurant was packed and so it would appear to be the go to dining establishment for the fashionable hour crowd and this would suggest a reservation is essential, particularly if dining inside is paramount.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agassiz, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The food was absolutely delicious! I had a fire-grilled steak, one of the best I've ever had at a reasonable price. They have a very friendly atmosphere, and before you leave, you feel like you're part of the family.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Greek Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Athens Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Greek Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.