We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful hiking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horsethief Canyon

Horsethief Canyon
Highway 838 | 13408 129 Ave., Drumheller, Alberta T5l 3K4, Canada
780 200 1053
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 things to do in Drumheller
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Alberta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 hours hiking this canyon only to discover when looking at it from the west side that we'd only covered about 10%. We noticed multiple fossils, lot's of trees and even a few dinosaur bones. There were even unfortunate bones from deer, coyote and cow. It is well worth taking the time to explore this canyon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    56
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great place for a rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This canyon is about 14 km farther down N. Dino Trail from Royal Tyrell Museum and well worth the visit. Beautiful. We climbed around it a bit and had a nice outing here. Many dino bones/fossils have been found here in the past. Very easy to find and quite breath-taking.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“If you are able bodied Horsethief is a nice hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went for a very nice hike in Horsethief Canyon, our group included 7 people of whom five were able to go down the trail into the canyon. Into the canyon went a 5 year old, 13 year old, their parents & I. Once into the canyon, there are very few people, making the hike very peaceful. My five year old nephew was thrilled to explore all the nooks & crannies hopping over small washouts, climbing up and charging down the hillsides. Just remember that what goes down into the canyon must come back up, save enough energy for the somewhat steep climb out! Well worth the effort.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, QC
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Nice stop along the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice viewpoint when touring the Badlands but don't expect to spend more then 15-30 minutes here as there is much going on except then admiring the view and taking pictures.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A very interesting view and worth the loop drive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The area around Drumheller can only be described as weird and this is a good example. Driving into the city you are travelling thru flat prairie and then you drop into a hole like someone has dropped a bomb and that is the town of Drumheller.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horsethief Canyon also viewed

Drumheller, Alberta
 

Been to Horsethief Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horsethief Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.