We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newcastle Country Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Drumheller
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newcastle Country Inn
Save
You added Newcastle Country Inn to your Saves list
1130 Newcastle Trail, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Drumheller
Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

After spending two days tent camping in the rain prior to the recent Alberta flooding, we were so relieved to find the Newcastle Country Inn. It was a much nicer alternative to the over-priced chain hotels in town. Judith and Clarence were so generous and accommodating during our visit. It really felt like we were guests in their home. They also gave us very helpful advice about avoiding road closures due to the flooding, so we were able to reach our destinations. After a relaxing visit for two days, we were ready to face sleeping in a tent once again!

Room Tip: They are located on a quiet residential street, so all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    20
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
38
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

All the excellent reviews are correct! It is a Wonderful Inn with Fabulous hosts to take care of you. We were at the Inn a year ago and it is was just as relaxing and enjoyable as our first stay.
Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The Newcastle Inn proved to be hidden gem in a tourist hotspot. Friendly owners, comfortable rooms, nice atmosphere and a highly enjoyable experience. A wonderful place to stay in a unique town. Oh, and don't confuse it with that other hotel just down the street.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This past weekend I returned home to Drumheller to visit family and spent 3 nights at the Newcastle Country Inn. The owners Judith and Clarence have made this Inn a gem of a place to stay. What struck me the most is how clean they keep it and how accommodating they are to their guests. The room was comfortable and the bed was very cozy (matttress and linens). Although I spent most of the day out and about, it was nice to be able to return to the room where I felt very relaxed and was able to kick back and watch TV on a 32" screen from my bed. In the morning it was steps down the hallway to a nice bright kitchen area where a fresh pot of coffee was on and I was able to enjoy a light breakfast of yogart, fruit and toast before heading out for the day. In my eyes this was the perfect place to stay and I highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Our group of 3 adults and 3 children spent two wonderful days in Drumheller and stayed at the Newcastle Country Inn. The accommodations were very clean (like brand new) and comfortable and there were many yummy options for the self-serve breakfast. The owners were very friendly and helpful and looked after us like family. It was a nice alternative to motel and hotel rooms and reasonably priced. If we go back to Drumheller we would definitely stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virden, Mb.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

There is nothing really wrong except its classification as a "bargain".Our room was also very small,with small amenities;tv etc. but at a much higher price than paid for complete mountain view suites with resort amenities:,gym, pool,hot tub during the same trip.We also stayed at other comparable Tripadvisor "bargains" at half the price,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while touring the area, it’s nice affordable option to the larger chain hotels.

Our room was small, just large enough for the bed, a dresser (small fridge on the dresser), TV and small dinette table with 2 chairs. But it was all we needed. The room was extremely clean and very well maintained. The bed was quite comfortable. There weren't too many other guests so we found it pretty quiet.

The wifi worked great for us, better than some of the bigger hotels we stayed in.

The included breakfast was pretty standard continental fare but was enough to keep us going for the morning. Nice cheery little kitchen set up with a few tables & chairs. Nice deck just outside the back door near our room where we enjoyed our lunch one day.

Judith & Clarence are quite friendly hosts. Judith pointed out some attractions we may not have known about otherwise and some restaurants as well.

It’s a bit of a distance from the centre of town but that makes for a nice quiet stay. Just a note, only one grocery store in town and it's crazy expensive so if you are travelling on a budget you might want to pick up what you need in a larger town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newcastle Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Country Inn

Address: 1130 Newcastle Trail, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Drumheller
#3 Romantic Hotel in Drumheller
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Country Inn Drumheller
Newcastle Country Hotel
Drumheller Country Inn
Newcastle Country Inn Drumheller, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newcastle Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.