We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Tyrrell Museum

Royal Tyrrell Museum
Midland Provincial Park | P.O. Box 7500, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y0, Canada
403-823-7707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 attractions in Drumheller
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums, Science Museums, Specialty Museums
Activities: Dig (archeology)
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Since 1985, the Royal Tyrrell Museum has presented the fascinating evolution of dinosaurs through it's collection of dozens of skeletons and hundreds of fossils.
Calgary,Alberta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Awesome Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you never been, its a must. $11 is the admission, very cheap for what you will see. Many different dinos to see, quite a few things for kids as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    87
    13
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wait til after supper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Tyrrell Museum is a treasure and not to be missed. During the summer it is very, very busy and it can be difficult to get time on the interactive displays. I would recommend that families spend the day at several of the other attractions around Drumheller, have an early supper then go to the museum around 5 pm. It basically empties out at that time and traffic is very light for the evening.

Your kids can get lots of time on the games and it's very relaxing.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dinosaurs....Down memory laneD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Dinosaurs have been both myth and reality which is so nicely depicted in this world class museum which I believe is the first of its kind.Here you can trace the history,the types the habitat of various types of dinisaurs.Incidently one of the variwty is named after Alberta as it was found here.Here the team at the museum is not only involved in educating but doing lot of earth digging to find more of these extict species.A nice gift shop and resturant makes the trip more enjoying.
Queen Elizabeth II gave a handsome grant to built it and consented to give the title "Royal" to it.Do visit it on a trip to Alberta and the Mountains.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Too Much Alberta, Too Little Dinosaurs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my fourth visit to the museum, but my first in 14 years. The place is starting to show its age. The displays are stunning, but they do feel like walking through 3-D representations of 1990s and early 2000s computer graphics...it won't be long before the look needs to be radically redone. This is a children's museum, not one for adults. If you go with that in mind, you'll be happy enough. However, it is pitched for Alberta residents, which was off-putting, because I consider the artifacts reconstructed and preserved here to belong to a global heritage, and one that goes beyond the human species as well. There were just too many pitches for Alberta, complete with a tectonics display that completely eliminated British Columbia's geology from the world map, not to mention the continual claim that these dinosaurs, which lived in an ancient sea and its shores, were "Alberta" dinosaurs, although Alberta, or humans, even, did not exist back then. That aside, why could the path to the lookout not have been open in the winter? Some of us would rather get outside of the programmed content and clear our minds. All in all, wonderful bones, content only for children, very little science, dated displays, and friendly staff. Make sure you go with your kids. It's fantastic. Why it should be only or kids, beats me.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best $11 I spent in a long time! Go see the Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Drove from Lethbridge to Drumheller to see the Royal Tyrell Museum. It was well worth the drive as I had not been to the museum since I was about 16 years old, about 20 years ago. $11 for adult admission. The museum is top quality, laid out well and has good flow along with educated and helpful staff. This place is for all ages. It was nice since I went in January 2013 as not too many visitors were there and could take my time to see and read everything without having the feeling of being rushed.

There is a cafeteria if you want a snack or you forgot your lunch and a great gift shop as well. I would recommend this place for all ages young and old. When you pay for admission I believe you can get a remote and a translator device for many language for an extra $4 per person. My tour was a self guided one, but did stop and talk to staff along the way and asked questions. Not sure if the have guided tours during big groups or peak tourism season. You would have to check their web site for details.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Tyrrell Museum also viewed

 

Been to Royal Tyrrell Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Tyrrell Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Royal Tyrrell Museum to your Saves list