We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fun museum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Tyrrell Museum

Royal Tyrrell Museum
Midland Provincial Park | P.O. Box 7500, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y0, Canada
403-823-7707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Drumheller
Type: Natural History Museums, Science Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Dig (archeology)
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1985, the Royal Tyrrell Museum has presented the fascinating evolution of dinosaurs through it's collection of dozens of skeletons and hundreds of fossils.
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent fun museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This museum is an absolute gem! The displays are exquisitely laid out and presented with such love and care. You can easily spend a whole day and not see everything. Very reasonable at $11.00 and the gift shop is great too. This is a place for all ages to enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    118
    20
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A must see in Drumheller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a must see attraction if you are interested in the history, science and landscape of the Badlands area. Takes hours of your time to stroll through all of the interesting exhibits. Kids will love it for the dinosaurs! We went around dinner time as it is open late in the summer season...less crowded.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stunning museum, a must-see - but bring sandwiches or a picnic in order to avoid possibly the worst museum cafeteria in North Am”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

The Royall Tyrell Museum is the most stunning museum. Its exhibits, curating and interpretive experience are world-class.

The cafeteria, however, would disgrace a US public school. Nothing appears to be made on the premises. Everything is bought in and if it can be deep-fried, so much the better.

It's a fat kid's fantasy restaurant - sugar, chips, fries, muffins, processed meats, jelly, pop. Today the only fresh fruit in the building consisted of three Granny Smith apples in a bowl. Today's soup - soup, the most profitable line in a restaurant, and the easiest to make - was minestrone, but clearly tinned and quite disgusting.

The worst museum cafeteria I have visited. Ever. Anywhere. For the love of all that's holy, take sandwiches or eat in Drumheller - don't inflict Royal Tyrell Museum food on yourself or your family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Such a neat place to visit! We came during Alberta Arts Week, and it was free to get into the museum. We'll visit again in 2013!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“fantastic museum - beautiful displays with just the right amount of information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We drove from Banff to see this museum on our last day in Canada. We were not disappointed, we found the museum really well thought out with fantastic displays. The museum guided you through the ages and gave just the right amount of detail on the dinosaurs.

We visited on cultural day so no entrance fee - I think it is usually $12 per adult, well worth this amount. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Tyrrell Museum also viewed

 
Drumheller, Alberta
 

Been to Royal Tyrrell Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Tyrrell Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.