We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Last Chance Saloon

Last Chance Saloon
555 Jewell Street, Drumheller, Alberta AB T0J 2V0, Canada
(403) 823-9189
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 39 restaurants in Drumheller
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Drumheller, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Back in time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It is a wonderful place. We always take our visitors to the saloon. It is one of a kind. Good food and a wonderful envirnment.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    21
    20
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Last Chance Saloon is situated somewhat away from the main roads and you really have to drive some extra kilometers to get there. But it is well worth the effort. We arrived there mid-afternoon and got a friendly welcome. Lunch was honest saloon food. What makes the place so special is the museum-like interior: an all-together of different stuff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“First Timer for Wings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for a night and was ravenous when we arrived. We were the only people eating, but they kept the kitchen open adn the hostess ran us through the list of specials - all home made. My boyfriend, never experiences Albertan wings before, ordered a dozen and was silent for several minutes while he started peeling his way through. That's a sign they are pretty good! I'm a veggie so got a baked potatoe with cheese. And it was real cheese, not the plastic stuff!!!

Food was hearty, tasty and reasonably priced, but it's not the food that would get me back again. It's teh decor - it's like sitting in a museum to the badlands. It's a feast for the eyes - antique gun holsters, stuffed animals, old advertisement posters, interesting little knick-knacks. It is worth a visit, even if you're not hungry.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fiendly and atmospheric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We heard about this place in the UK. We visited in September, flew out early morning from London to Calgary, got to Drumheller late afternoon, snoozed for an hour or so then headed out to see the Hoodoos and visit the saloon.

We were lucky as the Saturday night we arrived there was a band playing, Sweet Potato from Calgary. The band was great, the staff and other customers were very friendly. Our only regret was that we were so knackered from the transatlantic flight that we didn't last 'til closing time.

Can't fault the beer, it was cold and wet and served in 2-pint jars :-)

The food, buffalo burgers etc. was very good pub grub as was the apple pie. Are people really expecting Michelin-starred fine dining from this kind of place?

We were only in Drumheller 3 days but felt so at ease in the Last Chance Saloon we went back another 2 times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Insulted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I went here with my girlfriend after an awesome day in Drumheller. As a military guy I am used to basic and thought the place had a good feel. Everything was going well until my girlfriend had the nerve to ask them not to put tomato on her burger and if we could have condiments. At this point the land lady who was working treated us like we were rude and unreasonable, making insulting comments under her breath every time she passed the table.
I was so angered by this womans attitude we had to leave before we had finished our food, our bill payment coming with a sarcastic smile from said woman from the other side of the bar.
I would never give these people a cent of my money again and make sure I tell anyone I know heading that way to steer clear.
Nice place, ok food, if you don't mind being treated like scum by a glorified waitress.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Last Chance Saloon also viewed

 
Drumheller, Alberta
 

Been to Last Chance Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Last Chance Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.