We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile experience amazing setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canadian Badlands Passion Play

The Canadian Badlands Passion Play
605 17th Street SW, Drumheller, Alberta, Canada
(403) 823-2001
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$40*
and up
Canadian Badlands Passion Play Ticket
Ranked #2 of 22 things to do in Drumheller
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deep in the Canadian Badlands, a location famous for its prehistoric attractions, lies a hidden valley where the events of a not-so-distant past echo, a place where ancient Israel is reborn and you can experience, "the greatest story ever told." The 14,000 who come each July are moved to laughter and tears by the dramatic portrayal of the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worthwhile experience amazing setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Despite a very unusual delay for bad weather the 3 hour performance was well worth the wait . Very dedicated and devoted volunteers make this event possible and amazing.the setting is magnificent and the amenities unexpected

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Theatre in the Canadian Badlands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Although the group we went with was not religious, this is an amazing theatre opportunity in one of the most spectacular venues in the Canadian badlands. With over 200 volunteers, this is a great opportunity to see young actors learning their trade.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique & Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

What a wonderful way to spend an afternoon/evening. Such an incredible landscape and such an incredible experience to take part in the outdoors...Where else can you get this kind of opportunity? For me, the story of Jesus' life never gets old -- it is the story of all stories. Get ready, come, and enjoy!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An amazing performance by mostly volunteers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The acting and the running of the site is mostly done by volunteers, who do a professional job. As regular church attenders, the play has special meaning for us. Jesus is a person of history and everyone who has the opportunity to attend should do so to learn more about who he was. We were there on the afternoon of July 20, 2014. Just before the performance was due to start, we were advised that the staff were watching a storm travelling down from Three Hills. They advised us to leave the amphitheatre and take shelter in a tent while the storm passed over. We stayed dry and the performance began an hour late. Congratulations to the staff for watching the weather and taking the appropriate action.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I and our two children (ages 9 and 14) attended the play this year. It was simply amazing. Everything is so well organized it makes it very easy to relax and enjoy. All concession items were reasonably priced and the selection suited the environment.

We all enjoyed the show....our 14 daughter was impressed with the colour and majesty of the stage (huge!!!) and our 9 year old was swept away with the story and had tears running down his cheeks with Jesus' ascension.... as did my husband and I. Great and moving experience. We plan to attend again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canadian Badlands Passion Play also viewed

 

Been to The Canadian Badlands Passion Play? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canadian Badlands Passion Play, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.