We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we went” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reptile World

Reptile World
3 Avenue East, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y4, Canada
(403) 823-8623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 16 Attractions in Drumheller
Type: Museums, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So glad we went”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Sure the building could do with a bit of work but my god, for $8.50, what a place. My wife and I had gone to Drumheller to visit the Tyrell Museum which was good but I insisted on going to Reptile World for the simple reason that I had never held a snake. So imagine my delight when as soon as we entered we were faced with an employee holding Brittany (19 year old Boa) right at the tills who offered to let us hold her even before we had paid.

With that experience out of the way it was onto the enclosures which housed quite the variety of reptiles. Some beautifully coloured frogs, dazzling snakes and even a 600lb alligator called Fred. Even got to see one of the snakes feeding which was cool. Unlike most Zoo's I have been to, many of the reptiles seemed happy to move around so we found ourselves revisiting various enclosures to see who had moved where etc. By the time I had looked at my watch we had spent nearly 2 hours there which had only felt like 30 minutes. This attraction was great for us as a couple but we also saw many families there with kids very excited/nervous to hold Brittany and learn about the other wonderful creatures that call Reptile World home. Having visited quite a few attractions in Drumheller that day this was by far my favourite and I've already told all my friends who plan on going to Drumheller or those just passing through not to miss out on this place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    32
    19
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lots of Critters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Lots of different reptiles to look at and learn about. They have a snake called Brittany that they let you hold on to. She is amazing. I just love holding that snake. She is the highlight of my visits here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The Hidden Surprise of Drumheller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everyone goes to Drumheller to see the dinosaurs but there is so much more and Reptile World in one of them. The building itself is nothing special and a little on the older side but their reptile collection and their knowledge is amazining. Both the adults and the kids were wowed by what we saw and learned. Getting to hold a snake was lots of fun too. Good value for the price.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Plenty of reptiles to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My first thought when I walked into Reptile world was "wow this place looks run down". Apparently they had just changed locations in order to have larger spaces for their reptiles. Once we started walking around and looking into the enclosures you forget about everything else besides the fascinating reptiles. For 8 dollars you get to see loads of different kinds of reptiles/snakes. It was definitely worth the money and something I would recommend doing. They even will bring out a snake for you to pet and even to hold if it is the right snake. A great hour of interesting fun.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing collection!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wonderful collection of a wide variety of scary and exotic critters. Glass was difficult to see through on some of the habitats

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reptile World also viewed

 

Been to Reptile World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reptile World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.