We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heartwood Inn and Spa

Save Saved
You added Heartwood Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heartwood Inn and Spa
320 North Railway Avenue E., Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y4, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Drumheller
Calgary
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Had the pleasure of staying here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hosts running this place were extremely accommodating and helpful in recommending places to eat (they suggested an awesome Greek place). The room was clean and comfortable for 2 people and was very cozy. Didn't have a chance to see the other rooms but imagine they would be very nice as well. Ate breakfast outside in the garden so can not comment on food quality.
Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thanks for your review. Many people have been drawn into our garden this year on the rare warm mornings. We'll have to make sure you haveZekes french toast breakfast next visit.
Best regards,
Patrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    35
    13
    8
    1
See reviews for
32
103
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

If you have pets. This is where you want to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Yes! We love pets, especially dogs. We are thrilled to have 5 of our 11 rooms pet friendly. Hardwood floors that can be steam cleaned after our four legged friends depart. We only charge a flat $25 cleaning fee no matter if you stay for 1 or 3 days. Much cheaper than a kennel. We welcome flea free, vaccinated healthy pets. We've had a rabbit, parakeet, many many cats and dogs - please call ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We were travelling in Alberta with our 14 our old nephew and his best friend. We were able to book the cottage for one night, although it is normally available only for two nights. It was great to stretch out a bit, to be able to barbecue a meal and to eat outside. The cottage was well equipped and nicely decorated. A couple would find it a nice private get-away. Due to time constraints, we were not able to use the spa services. Patrice and Zeke were wonderful hosts. Zeke put a lot of effort into helping us book a place in Brooks, AB, which helped us greatly. When we were there the breakfast was limited to muffins and coffee, which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Hi, thanks for your review of the Heartwood. Yes, the Chancel makes a great family getaway with the 3 beds but also appeals to couples for that special romantic weekend. Zeke must have been on a rare morning off so now you have a reason to come back - his famous french toast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Inn and the staff are wonderful at the Heartwood Inn, Zeke makes the most amazing french toast for breakfast. The cottage which we rented for 2 nights was just beautiful, thoroughly enjoyed staying.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Glad you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to leave this nice review, this is our BEST form of advertising.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

My fiance and I stayed there on August 6, just for a one-night get away and we were greeted by Zeke upon our late arrival, who showed us around, chatted with us about the Inn, the area, his renowned french toast breakfast (which was absolutely outstanding!), and he invited us for a Sunday night dinner we would have stayed for had we not had to get back to Calgary on Sunday afternoon. The room was wonderful, the area was quiet, the jacuzzi tub was exactly what we needed, and we had a fantastic sleep & stay.
Zeke, I know you're reading this and I want to thank you so much for your incredible hospitality, YOU made our stay feel like home, and you make a KILLER french toast!!! We both really appreciated everything. Looking forward to our next stay with you! All the best - and keep it up!

Room Tip: Pinewood Room - beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your gracious review. I must say I couldn't run this Inn without Zeke, his love of this Inn, the Badlands and our way of life is obvious when he is playing tour guide for our guests. He truly LOVES what he does - including his breakfasts! You missed a great Sunday feast of Prime Rib - next one is Thanksgiving Sunday. Hope you'll come back for a longer stay next time. Rosebud dinner Theatre is a great excuse to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

When you find yourself in Drumheller the Heartwood is the only place to be. Zeke and Patrice are the perfect hosts in this charming inn. I found a great combination of solitude and companionship among my fellow guests. If you are lucky enough to stay on a Sunday be sure to reserve a place at the dining table.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. You were one of the first to join us for what I hope is a long lasting tradition here at the Heartwood. Zeke is cooking a hearty feast on the Sunday of long weekends, so I guess the next one is Thanksgiving. Our website will have information. So far our guests seem to have enjoyed the camaraderie, fine wines and stimulating conversation of these dinner parties. Hope to see you again soon.
best regards, Patrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Best stay in the dessert!

The environment was like a home away from home - Victorian style. The decor is kind of a mix between Victorian and a high class Ranch.

Extremely clean and very well taken care of.

Gardens are gorgeous, great place to sit and relax (complete with a couple dinosaurs)

Breakfast in the morning is delicious, complete with homemade biscuits.

Very fortunate to have found this place and will definately recommend it to everyone i know and it will be the only place i stay at when back in Drumheller!

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pzwolfDrumheller, Owner at Heartwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
We sure appreciate reviews from business travellers. We are a popular stop for people coming from or going to Saskatchewan. For business travellers we offer corporate/government rates that are very competitive, free WiFi and that complimentary coffee to start the day. Glad you found the hotel quiet and comfortable and I hope you took some time to enjoy Drumheller. Hope you'll be thru for another visit soon.
Patrice Wolf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heartwood Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartwood Inn and Spa

Address: 320 North Railway Avenue E., Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Drumheller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Heartwood Inn and Spa, Drumheller, the heart of the Canadian Badlands; home to the Royal Tyrrell - the finest dinosaur/fossil museum in Canada. Our rooms (some kid and pet-friendly) are luxuriously appointed and all have private en-suite bathrooms. For a romantic getaway imagine double-sized jetted tub, bubble bath, fireplace, chocolates and champagne. The Heartwood has two guest houses for families or groups: the Chancel with three beds, full kitchen, big back yard and bathroom with jetted tub. Our completely equipped Vacation Bungalow (located just across the street from the hotel), has a large yard, off-street parking, firepit and barbeque. Make the Heartwood Inn and Spa your choice for those special occasions - small weddings, anniversary parties, corporate retreats, family reunions, Spa Getaways and more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Heartwood Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartwood Inn And Spa Drumheller, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartwood Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.