We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   392 Centre Street, Box 1810, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Drumheller
Sasketoon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“bed bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I'm normally not this critical, but this place worked on my nerves. Checked in @ 5.30pm , room not ready! booked 2 days in advance. Came in the room, it looked like a secondhand pawn shop inside, carpets stained and dirty, lights don't work. flies in the bath tub. and then the big shocker, this place was so dirty, that i had to inspect the bed, pealed off the cheats whitch were not cleaned,and yes bed bugs, I found 6 of them and I was not wearing my glasses!, I wanted to leave and demanded my money back. I was told by a person that hardly speaks English, that that was not there policy. So I slept on the floor. Avoid this place like the pest!!!!!!

Room Tip: were ever you go ,It can not be as bad as this
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am appaled to read this review. It appears that you are mistaken about the place you stayed.

1. We never had bed bugs in our motel.
2. We are proactive in taking precautionary measures by having bed-bugs covers on all of our mattresses and box springs.
3. All the rooms are always ready by 3.00.
4. I don't know whom you spoke to at the motel - Either me or my wife work at the front desk. And we both can challenge you on English speaking - It is way better than yours. Our housekeepers also speak better English than yours.
5. We have no knowledge of you staying with us, can you prove it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    35
    16
    10
    22
See reviews for
56
28
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nice room and such a friendly welcome from Mona the owner and her family! They let us have our 2 dogs in our room on their own bed - which was great! Nothing was to much trouble and nice breakfast too! This hotel is located in a great spot - easy to walk to the tourist info, huge t-rex, spray park and aquaplex in Drumheller. Only a 5-10 min drive to the Royal Tyrell Museum too! Would recommend! THANk YOU Mona!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Econo Lodge as all other hotels in Drumheller were fully booked. The hotel is very old and the rooms are very dated. They offered basic accommodations with an in-room fridge but for Drumheller, they were pretty standard as far as accommodations go. The breakfast buffet was basic and the "pastries" were served directly from their plastic Costco containers. Aside from the older property, the service was friendly and the rooms tidy. It wouldn't be my first choice as accommodation but given the nature of Drumheller in the summer, it was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. You review describes our property accurately. We serve from Costco containers to preseve freshness as lot of our guests do not come for breakfast. And I hate wasting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I booked a "suite" at this hotel to find out that they don't actually have suites just a room with a fridge. I said this was not acceptable and they charged me one night for not canceling 24 hrs ahead. The hotel is very dirty in a scummy part of downtown. I would recommend staying away from any Econolodges...very poor customer focus.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Our suite configuration descriptors are provided and approved by Choice Hotels. We have three suites. Two are "One Room" suites - and one "One Bed Room Suite".

"One room suite" contains One queen bed and one sofabed separated by a partial room divider.

One bed Room Suite has - One separate bed room with 2 queen beds, one full kitchen, one sofa bed and one futon in the living room.

The above is clearly described in our listing.

We provided you an upgrade of 2 queen beds which you accepted and then later on decided not to stay. We always try to accomodate our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This Lodge, Inn and Suites is, as one reviewer noted, really a motel and would not be our first choice ever. It was a place out of the rain. Rooms are small and dispite a fairly recent upgrade, are dated. The room was decently clean but offered little else in terms of its location to any amenities in town. Not having any hot water for a shower did nothing to enhance my stay. The only thing this place has going for it is the manager who was very engaging, friendly and helpful making numerous phonecalls for dinner and entertainment arrangements. Taxis were readily available )never more than a 5 minute wait) and relatively cheap at this time of year - maybe a different story mid-summer. We definately had the overflow camping here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. I wish you had called me about your hot water issue. I remember you telling me at the time of checkout. As a courtesy I gave you and your friend both a 10% off. Yes our motel is old, and we cannot make it new, but we have put in lots of money to upgrade the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I had originally booked 2 nights at this motel and called a couple days prior to cancel the 2nd night. The lady I spoke with confirmed it was cancelled however upon my arrival I was told I needed to call booking.com to make the cancellation.
1st impression of this motel was terrible, it's old; run down and the lobby furniture appears to be from the 80s, however if it was clean I probably woiuldn't mind but it wasn't. The lobby had a very unclean smell and the fact that they had a sign up advertising that they were "bed bug free" was a bit concerning.
The stairs leading to the 2nd floor rooms were dark and unstable and not properly lit almost causing my mother to fall. The room itself seemed tidy/clean until pulling back the covers revealing dirt or something under the sheets. The chain lock on the door was busted off so we were not able to lock that.
The motel offers a free continental breakfast in the morning, we found that their was little choice. There was no fresh fruit, no hard boiled eggs and the area itself was just untidy.
I would not stay at this location ever again....in fact this is not the first bad experiance I've had at an econo lodge and in the future will never stay at another econo lodge again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear guest,

When you make reservations through third party websites, any changes to your reservations are required to be done through them, not through the hotel. Next time please check with the booking agency what their policies are, rather than blaming us and then trying to find faults in the motel to satisfy your anger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here on a family outing to the Tyrrell dinosaur museum and area. Do not be put off by the location, which is typical of an older downtown property. We arrived on our motorcycles and were very well received and hosted. The rooms are clean, tidy and in good order. On a very hot day, our a/c easily kept pace with the cremating heat outside. The breakfast next morning exceeded all of our expectations, with a fine variety of food, served up in a clean and homey setting. We would recommend this property to anyone in the Drumheller area and would definitely return again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs section which was a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Econolodge, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. Hope more travellers are like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller

Address: 392 Centre Street, Box 1810, Drumheller, Alberta T0J 0Y0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Drumheller
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Drumheller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites® hotel is a short five minute walk to downtown restaurants and shops, and provides convenient access to nearby attractions such as the Homestead Antique Museum, Royal Tyrrell Museum, the Drumheller Stampede Grounds and Reptile World Zoo.All guestrooms of this Drumheller hotel feature new microwaves, refrigerators,flat screen tv's with cable. Newly renovated bathrooms with new tubs, dual flush toilets and new tiles.Drumheller is located in the heart of the Canadian Badlands in Southern Alberta, and the Drumheller Valley offers hotel guests a wide variety of recreational activities amidst spectacular scenery. Located along the banks of the Red Deer River, Drumheller boasts a number of beaches, including nearby New Castle Beach.Premium amenities at this Econo Lodge hotel include:Free continental breakfast with upgrades such as oatmeal, apples, pastries, yogurt and 4 types of cereals;Free in-room wireless high-speed Internet access;Free local calls;Limited pet friendly rooms;All non-smoking rooms Ample on-site parking and free overflow parking on streets day and night.This building is part of the rich history of Drumheller. The current owners have spent close to $3m on renovations in the last 7 years they have owned it. Happy and satisfied guests is our motto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Drumheller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.